Energy
middle half126 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 134 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 126–156 kcal
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 321 calories for 1 cup (255 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 255 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 255 g
321calories
Chili with macaroni
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 321 calories for 1 cup at 255 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 126 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 22.9 g protein, 7.1 g fiber, and 793 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chili with meat and beans, representing 79.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706483: “Chili with macaroni.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706483, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 191.3 g | 241 kcal | 17.2 g | 5.4 g | 595 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 255 g | 321 kcal | 22.9 g | 7.1 g | 793 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 318.8 g | 402 kcal | 28.7 g | 8.9 g | 991 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 197 exact records in the Meat mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706483’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half126 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half311 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706483’s 255 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber7.1 g
≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron5 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium793 mg
≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.4 g
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chili with macaroni,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706377 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 191.3–318.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 241 kcal and 402 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 12 g more carbohydrate than “Chili with meat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chili with meat and beans supplies 79.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Chili with macaroni” fits. Inspect FDC 2706377 when the exact wording “Chili with meat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChili with macaroni | 255 g321 kcal | 126 kcal | 9 g | 3.7 g | 2.8 g | 311 mg |
| Chili with meat | 255 g354 kcal | 139 kcal | 13.3 g | 8.2 g | 0.5 g | 357 mg |
| Chili with meat and beans | 255 g301 kcal | 118 kcal | 9.8 g | 4.3 g | 3 g | 340 mg |
| Chili with meat, canned | 255 g270 kcal | 106 kcal | 8.5 g | 3.4 g | 3.2 g | 357 mg |
| Pork with chili and tomatoes | 177 g168 kcal | 95 kcal | 11.6 g | 4 g | 0.9 g | 118 mg |
| Chili with meat, from restaurant | 255 g408 kcal | 160 kcal | 12 g | 9.4 g | 1.9 g | 413 mg |
| Beef and macaroni with cheese sauce | 307 g421 kcal | 137 kcal | 9.1 g | 5.4 g | 0.5 g | 394 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706483: its source amount is 255 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706483, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
321 kcal
255 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706483, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
793.1 mg≈ 35% Daily ValueDietary fiber
7.1 g≈ 26% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706483’s 255 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706483 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 22.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706483 at 255 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 255 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 321 kcal 126 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 22.9 g 9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 36.7 g 14.4 g | 13% 5% |
| Total fat | 9.3 g 3.7 g | 12% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 7.1 g 2.8 g | 26% 10% |
| Sugars | 3.3 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 793.1 mg 311 mg | 34% 14% |
| Saturated fat | 3.4 g 1.3 g | 17% 7% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.8 g 1.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 45.9 mg 18 mg | 15% 6% |
| Potassium | 601.8 mg 236 mg | 13% 5% |
| Calcium | 45.9 mg 18 mg | 4% 1% |
| Iron | 4.5 mg 1.8 mg | 25% 10% |
| Magnesium | 58.7 mg 23 mg | 14% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 12.8 mg 5 mg | 14% 6% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 23 µg 9 µg | 3% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 182.6 g 71.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706483, approximate percentages divide the displayed 255 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706483 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.1 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chili with macaroni” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chili with meat and beans, Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.1 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chili with meat and beansUSDA ingredient 27111406 | 80 GM | 80 g | 79.9% |
| 2 | Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added saltUSDA ingredient 20121 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 20% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.1 GM | 0.1 g | 0.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706483, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 126 kcal | 139 kcal | −13 kcal |
| Protein | 9 g | 13.3 g | −4.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 14.4 g | 2.4 g | +12 g |
| Total fat | 3.7 g | 8.2 g | −4.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.8 g | 0.5 g | +2.3 g |
| Sodium | 311 mg | 357 mg | −46 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 13 less calories, 4.3 g less protein, and 12 g more carbohydrate than “Chili with meat.”
Only this record lists Chili with meat and beans; Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt. Only the comparison record lists Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt added; Onions, cooked, as ingredient; Green pepper, cooked, as ingredient; Spices, chili powder. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Chili with meat and beans; Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt.
Listed only in the comparison: Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt added; Onions, cooked, as ingredient; Green pepper, cooked, as ingredient; Spices, chili powder; and 3 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706483 with FDC 2706377 at equal mass; use their 255 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706483 versus FDC 2706377 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.
For “Chili with macaroni,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706483 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 126 kcal per 100 g becomes 321 kcal at 255 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706483
FNDDS food code: 27212120
The scaling for FDC 2706483 can be exact while the match to “Chili with macaroni” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 255 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.