Energy
upper quarter160 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 134 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 126–156 kcal
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 408 calories for 1 cup (255 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chili with meat, from restaurant
Quick facts
1 cup · 255 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 255 g
408calories
Chili with meat, from restaurant
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 408 calories for 1 cup at 255 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 160 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 30.6 g protein, 4.8 g fiber, and 1,053 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beef as ingredient in recipes, representing 38.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 10 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706374: “Chili with meat, from restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706374, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 191.3 g | 306 kcal | 23 g | 3.6 g | 790 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 255 g | 408 kcal | 30.6 g | 4.8 g | 1,053 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 318.8 g | 510 kcal | 38.3 g | 6.1 g | 1,316 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 197 exact records in the Meat mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2706374’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter160 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half12 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter1.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter413 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706374’s 255 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron5 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber4.8 g
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,053 mg
≈ 46% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat7.3 g
≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chili with meat, from restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706377 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 191.3–318.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 306 kcal and 510 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.4 g more dietary fiber than “Chili with meat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 10 input rows; Beef as ingredient in recipes supplies 38.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “from restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2706377 when the exact wording “Chili with meat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “from restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChili with meat, from restaurant | 255 g408 kcal | 160 kcal | 12 g | 9.4 g | 1.9 g | 413 mg |
| Chili with meat | 255 g354 kcal | 139 kcal | 13.3 g | 8.2 g | 0.5 g | 357 mg |
| Chili with meat and beans | 255 g301 kcal | 118 kcal | 9.8 g | 4.3 g | 3 g | 340 mg |
| Chili with meat, canned | 255 g270 kcal | 106 kcal | 8.5 g | 3.4 g | 3.2 g | 357 mg |
| Chili with macaroni | 255 g321 kcal | 126 kcal | 9 g | 3.7 g | 2.8 g | 311 mg |
| Meat with tomato-based sauce | 187 g279 kcal | 149 kcal | 21.7 g | 6.4 g | 0.4 g | 355 mg |
| Meat loaf made with ham | 84 g150 kcal | 179 kcal | 20.6 g | 7.5 g | 0.3 g | 879 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706374: its source amount is 255 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706374, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
408 kcal
255 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706374, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
1,053.2 mg≈ 46% Daily ValueSaturated fat
7.3 g≈ 36% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706374’s 255 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706374 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 30.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706374 at 255 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 255 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 408 kcal 160 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 30.6 g 12 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 17 g 6.7 g | 6% 2% |
| Total fat | 23.8 g 9.4 g | 31% 12% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.8 g 1.9 g | 17% 7% |
| Sugars | 3.5 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,053.2 mg 413 mg | 46% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 7.3 g 2.9 g | 36% 14% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 10.3 g 4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.6 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 86.7 mg 34 mg | 29% 11% |
| Potassium | 670.7 mg 263 mg | 14% 6% |
| Calcium | 48.5 mg 19 mg | 4% 1% |
| Iron | 4.6 mg 1.8 mg | 25% 10% |
| Magnesium | 51 mg 20 mg | 12% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 15 mg 5.9 mg | 17% 7% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 30.6 µg 12 µg | 3% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 179.3 g 70.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706374, approximate percentages divide the displayed 255 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706374 to 10 source inputs totaling 105 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chili with meat, from restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beef as ingredient in recipes, Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
105 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt addedUSDA ingredient 11547 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 9.5% |
| 2 | Onions, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997510 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 4.8% |
| 3 | Green pepper, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997520 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 4.8% |
| 4 | Beef as ingredient in recipesUSDA ingredient 99992100 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 38.1% |
| 5 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19% |
| 6 | Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without saltUSDA ingredient 16033 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19% |
| 7 | Spices, chili powderUSDA ingredient 2009 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 GM | 0.5 g | 0.5% |
| 8 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 1% |
| 9 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 GM | 0.5 g | 0.5% |
| 10 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 3 GM | 3 g | 2.9% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706374, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 160 kcal | 139 kcal | +21 kcal |
| Protein | 12 g | 13.3 g | −1.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 6.7 g | 2.4 g | +4.3 g |
| Total fat | 9.4 g | 8.2 g | +1.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.9 g | 0.5 g | +1.4 g |
| Sodium | 413 mg | 357 mg | +56 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 21 more calories, 4.3 g more carbohydrate, and 1.1 g more total fat than “Chili with meat.”
Only this record lists Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Vegetable oil, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Tomato products, canned, puree, without salt added; Onions, cooked, as ingredient; Green pepper, cooked, as ingredient; Beef as ingredient in recipes; and 4 more.
Listed only in this record: Beans, kidney, red, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Vegetable oil, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706374 with FDC 2706377 at equal mass; use their 255 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706374 versus FDC 2706377 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2706374 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chili with meat, from restaurant” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706374 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat.
For “Chili with meat, from restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706374 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 160 kcal per 100 g becomes 408 kcal at 255 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706374
FNDDS food code: 27111405
The scaling for FDC 2706374 can be exact while the match to “Chili with meat, from restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 255 g weight, 10-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.