Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing calories: 320 per 1 doughnut (75 g)

This exact USDA record reports 320 calories for 1 doughnut (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 doughnut · 75 g

Calories
320 kcal
Protein
3.4 g
Carbohydrate
37.7 g
Total fat
17.6 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
314 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 doughnut · 75 g

320calories

Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing

Protein
3.4 g
Carbs
37.7 g
Fat
17.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708067

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 320 calories for 1 doughnut at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 427 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3.4 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 314 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned), representing 80% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 doughnut at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 64–320 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708067: “Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708067, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature” through “1 doughnut” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 miniatureUSDA-listed household measure 15 g 64 kcal 0.7 g 0.2 g 63 mg
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 56.3 g 240 kcal 2.5 g 0.8 g 235 mg
1 doughnutUSDA-listed household measure 75 g 320 kcal 3.4 g 1.1 g 314 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries

The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708067’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

427 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
376 kcal
Middle 50%
342–430 kcal

Based on 18 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

4.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.1 g
Middle 50%
4.6–7.6 g

Based on 18 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1.2–2.1 g

Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

418 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
298 mg
Middle 50%
205–418 mg

Based on 18 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708067’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat7.5 g

≈ 37% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium314 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708066 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 miniature to 1 doughnut

    USDA assigns those measures 15 g and 75 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 64 kcal to 320 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708066

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.1 g more dietary fiber than “Doughnut, cake type, with icing.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned)

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned) supplies 80% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “cake type; chocolate icing” fits. Inspect FDC 2708066 when “cake type; with icing” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing

Exact source wording
“Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708067 · FNDDS 53520140
Named qualifiers
cake type · chocolate icing
Source inputs unique in this pair
Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Doughnut, cake type, with icing

Exact source wording
“Doughnut, cake type, with icing”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708066 · FNDDS 53520135
Named qualifiers
cake type · with icing
Source inputs unique in this pair
Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cake type” and “chocolate icing”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordDoughnut, cake type, chocolate icing 75 g320 kcal 427 kcal 4.5 g 23.5 g 1.5 g 418 mg
Doughnut, cake type, with icing 75 g323 kcal 431 kcal 4.3 g 23.2 g 1.4 g 418 mg
Doughnut, cake type, plain 60 g260 kcal 434 kcal 5.3 g 24.9 g 1.7 g 477 mg
Doughnut, cake type, powdered sugar 65 g280 kcal 431 kcal 4.9 g 23 g 1.6 g 440 mg
Coffee cake, yeast type 57 g212 kcal 372 kcal 6.2 g 16.4 g 2.4 g 304 mg
Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type 65 g257 kcal 396 kcal 6.5 g 18.4 g 1.4 g 319 mg
Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, cheese-filled 65 g237 kcal 365 kcal 6.8 g 17.6 g 1.2 g 291 mg

How to compare FDC 2708067: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708067, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 doughnut

320 kcal

75 g

1 miniature

64 kcal

15 g

1 stick/twist

320 kcal

75 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708067, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

7.5 g≈ 38% Daily Value

Total fat

17.6 g≈ 23% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

37.7 g≈ 14% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708067’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708067 at 75 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 314 mg sodium, about 14% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 320 kcal Not established
Protein 3.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 37.7 g 14%
Total fat 17.6 g 23%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 19.6 g Not established
Sodium 313.5 mg 14%
Saturated fat 7.5 g 37%
Monounsaturated Fat 6.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.7 g Not established
Cholesterol 6 mg 2%
Potassium 109.5 mg 2%
Calcium 25.5 mg 2%
Iron 1.7 mg 10%
Magnesium 13.5 mg 3%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 2.3 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 15.1 g Not established

For FDC 2708067, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708067 to 2 source inputs totaling 75 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned), Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

75 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned)USDA ingredient 18248 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 80%
2 Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eatUSDA ingredient 19226 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 20%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708067, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories427 kcal431 kcal−4 kcal
Protein4.5 g4.3 g+0.2 g
Carbohydrate50.3 g51.2 g−0.9 g
Total fat23.5 g23.2 g+0.3 g
Dietary fiber1.5 g1.4 g+0.1 g
Sodium418 mg418 mgSame listed value

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat. Only the comparison record lists Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned).

Listed only in this record: Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat.

Listed only in the comparison: Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 doughnut (75 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 doughnut (75 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708067 with FDC 2708066 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 75 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708067 versus FDC 2708066 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708067 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 427 kcal per 100 g becomes 320 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 doughnut has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708067

FNDDS food code: 53520140

The scaling for FDC 2708067 can be exact while the match to “Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.