Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type calories: 257 per 1 piece (65 g)

This exact USDA record reports 257 calories for 1 piece (65 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 piece · 65 g

Calories
257 kcal
Protein
4.2 g
Carbohydrate
33.3 g
Total fat
12 g
Fiber
0.9 g
Sodium
207 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 twin-pack Drake's coffee cake (2.3 oz) · 65 g

257calories

Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type

Protein
4.2 g
Carbs
33.3 g
Fat
12 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708079

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 257 calories for 1 piece at 65 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 396 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 4.2 g protein, 0.9 g fiber, and 207 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, representing 25.3% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 13 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 piece at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 18–2,740 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708079: “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708079, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 cake (9" square)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 4.5 g 18 kcal 0.3 g 0.1 g 14 mg
1 twin-pack Drake's coffee cake (2.3 oz)USDA-listed household measure 65 g 257 kcal 4.2 g 0.9 g 207 mg
1 cake (9" square)USDA-listed household measure 692 g 2,740 kcal 44.9 g 9.7 g 2,207 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries

The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708079’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

396 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
376 kcal
Middle 50%
342–430 kcal

Based on 18 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

6.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.1 g
Middle 50%
4.6–7.6 g

Based on 18 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1.2–2.1 g

Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

319 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
298 mg
Middle 50%
205–418 mg

Based on 18 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708079’s 65 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A80 µg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron1 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat4.5 g

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium207 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708080 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 cake (9" square)

    USDA assigns those measures 4.5 g and 692 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 18 kcal to 2,740 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708080

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 116 mg more sodium than “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, with fruit.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached

    The source formulation has 13 input rows; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached supplies 25.3% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “crumb or quick-bread type” fits. Inspect FDC 2708080 when “crumb or quick-bread type; with fruit” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type

Exact source wording
“Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708079 · FNDDS 53610100
Named qualifiers
crumb or quick-bread type

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, with fruit

Exact source wording
“Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, with fruit”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708080 · FNDDS 53610170
Named qualifiers
crumb or quick-bread type · with fruit
Source inputs unique in this pair
Apples, raw, without skin

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “crumb or quick-bread type”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCoffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type 65 g257 kcal 396 kcal 6.5 g 18.4 g 1.4 g 319 mg
Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, with fruit 78 g251 kcal 322 kcal 4.2 g 11.8 g 1.2 g 203 mg
Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, cheese-filled 65 g237 kcal 365 kcal 6.8 g 17.6 g 1.2 g 291 mg
Coffee cake, yeast type 57 g212 kcal 372 kcal 6.2 g 16.4 g 2.4 g 304 mg
Bread, Spanish coffee 85 g296 kcal 348 kcal 7.9 g 9.1 g 1.9 g 15 mg
Doughnut, cake type, with icing 75 g323 kcal 431 kcal 4.3 g 23.2 g 1.4 g 418 mg
Doughnut, cake type, plain 60 g260 kcal 434 kcal 5.3 g 24.9 g 1.7 g 477 mg

How to compare FDC 2708079: its source amount is 65 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708079, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cake (9" square)

2,740 kcal

692 g

1 cake (8" square)

1,984 kcal

501 g

1 cake (8" dia)

1,434 kcal

362 g

1 cubic inch

18 kcal

5 g

1 twin-pack Drake's coffee cake (2.3 oz)

257 kcal

65 g

1 Tastycake Koffee Kake Junior

190 kcal

48 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708079, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

4.5 g≈ 22% Daily Value

Total fat

12 g≈ 15% Daily Value

Cholesterol

41 mg≈ 14% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708079’s 65 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 65 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 257 kcal Not established
Protein 4.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 33.3 g 12%
Total fat 12 g 15%
Dietary fiber 0.9 g 3%
Sugars 17.3 g Not established
Sodium 207.4 mg 9%
Saturated fat 4.5 g 22%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 41 mg 14%
Potassium 85.8 mg 2%
Calcium 87.1 mg 7%
Iron 1.5 mg 8%
Magnesium 16.9 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 2%
Vitamin A 80 µg 9%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 14.2 g Not established

For FDC 2708079, approximate percentages divide the displayed 65 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708079 to 13 source inputs totaling 740.6 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

13 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, Milk, NFS, Sugars, granulated. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

740.6 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available 1.5 C 187.5 g 25.3%
2 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 C 100 g 13.5%
3 Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfateUSDA ingredient 18369 · encyclopedia page available 2 TS 9.2 g 1.2%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.25 TS 1.5 g 0.2%
5 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 6.8%
6 Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available 0.67 C 162.7 g 22%
7 Butter, stick, saltedUSDA ingredient 1001 · encyclopedia page available 0.25 C 56 g 7.6%
8 Vanilla extract, imitation, no alcoholUSDA ingredient 2052 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 TS 2.2 g 0.3%
9 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available 2 TB 15.6 g 2.1%
10 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 0.33 C 66.7 g 9%
11 Butter, stick, saltedUSDA ingredient 1001 · encyclopedia page available 2 TB 28 g 3.8%
12 Spices, cinnamon, groundUSDA ingredient 2010 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 TS 1.3 g 0.2%
13 Nuts, walnuts, English, halves, rawUSDA ingredient 12155 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 8.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708079, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories396 kcal322 kcal+74 kcal
Protein6.5 g4.2 g+2.3 g
Carbohydrate51.3 g50.2 g+1.1 g
Total fat18.4 g11.8 g+6.6 g
Dietary fiber1.4 g1.2 g+0.2 g
Sodium319 mg203 mg+116 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 74 more calories, 2.3 g more protein, and 6.6 g more total fat than “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, with fruit.”

Only the comparison record lists Apples, raw, without skin. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Sugars, granulated; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Salt, table; and 6 more.

Listed only in the comparison: Apples, raw, without skin.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (65 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 78 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (75 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708079 with FDC 2708080 at equal mass; use their 65 g and 78 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708079 versus FDC 2708080 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708079 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708079 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 396 kcal per 100 g becomes 257 kcal at 65 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 piece has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708079

FNDDS food code: 53610100

The scaling for FDC 2708079 can be exact while the match to “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 65 g weight, 13-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.