Energy
upper quarter431 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 376 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 342–430 kcal
Based on 18 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 323 calories for 1 doughnut (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 doughnut · 75 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 doughnut · 75 g
323calories
Doughnut, cake type, with icing
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 323 calories for 1 doughnut at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 431 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.2 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 314 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned), representing 80% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 doughnut at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 65–323 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708066: “Doughnut, cake type, with icing.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708066, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature” through “1 doughnut” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniatureUSDA-listed household measure | 15 g | 65 kcal | 0.6 g | 0.2 g | 63 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 56.3 g | 242 kcal | 2.4 g | 0.8 g | 235 mg |
| 1 doughnutUSDA-listed household measure | 75 g | 323 kcal | 3.2 g | 1.1 g | 314 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708066’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter431 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter4.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half418 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708066’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat7.1 g
≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium314 mg
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Doughnut, cake type, with icing,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708067 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 15 g and 75 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 65 kcal to 323 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.1 g less dietary fiber than “Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned) supplies 80% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “cake type; with icing” fits. Inspect FDC 2708067 when “cake type; chocolate icing” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cake type” and “with icing”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordDoughnut, cake type, with icing | 75 g323 kcal | 431 kcal | 4.3 g | 23.2 g | 1.4 g | 418 mg |
| Doughnut, cake type, chocolate icing | 75 g320 kcal | 427 kcal | 4.5 g | 23.5 g | 1.5 g | 418 mg |
| Doughnut, cake type, plain | 60 g260 kcal | 434 kcal | 5.3 g | 24.9 g | 1.7 g | 477 mg |
| Doughnut, cake type, powdered sugar | 65 g280 kcal | 431 kcal | 4.9 g | 23 g | 1.6 g | 440 mg |
| Coffee cake, yeast type | 57 g212 kcal | 372 kcal | 6.2 g | 16.4 g | 2.4 g | 304 mg |
| Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type | 65 g257 kcal | 396 kcal | 6.5 g | 18.4 g | 1.4 g | 319 mg |
| Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, cheese-filled | 65 g237 kcal | 365 kcal | 6.8 g | 17.6 g | 1.2 g | 291 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708066: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708066, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
323 kcal
75 g
65 kcal
15 g
323 kcal
75 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708066, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
7.1 g≈ 36% Daily ValueTotal fat
17.4 g≈ 22% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
38.4 g≈ 14% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708066’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708066 at 75 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 323 kcal 431 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.2 g 4.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 38.4 g 51.2 g | 14% 19% |
| Total fat | 17.4 g 23.2 g | 22% 30% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g 1.4 g | 4% 5% |
| Sugars | 20.3 g 27.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 313.5 mg 418 mg | 14% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 7.1 g 9.5 g | 36% 47% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.9 g 7.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.5 g 4.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 6 mg 8 mg | 2% 3% |
| Potassium | 85.5 mg 114 mg | 2% 2% |
| Calcium | 24.8 mg 33 mg | 2% 3% |
| Iron | 1.5 mg 2.1 mg | 9% 11% |
| Magnesium | 10.5 mg 14 mg | 3% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 2.3 µg 3 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 14.8 g 19.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708066, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708066 to 2 source inputs totaling 75 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Doughnut, cake type, with icing” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned), Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
75 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned)USDA ingredient 18248 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 80% |
| 2 | Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eatUSDA ingredient 19230 · encyclopedia page available | 15 GM | 15 g | 20% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708066, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 431 kcal | 427 kcal | +4 kcal |
| Protein | 4.3 g | 4.5 g | −0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 51.2 g | 50.3 g | +0.9 g |
| Total fat | 23.2 g | 23.5 g | −0.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g | 1.5 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 418 mg | 418 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat. Only the comparison record lists Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Doughnuts, cake-type, plain (includes unsugared, old-fashioned).
Listed only in this record: Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat.
Listed only in the comparison: Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 doughnut (75 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 doughnut (75 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708066 with FDC 2708067 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 75 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708066 versus FDC 2708067 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708066 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Doughnut, cake type, with icing” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708066 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Doughnut, cake type, with icing,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708066 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 431 kcal per 100 g becomes 323 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 doughnut has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708066
FNDDS food code: 53520135
The scaling for FDC 2708066 can be exact while the match to “Doughnut, cake type, with icing” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.