Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Bread, Spanish coffee calories: 296 per 1 piece (85 g)

This exact USDA record reports 296 calories for 1 piece (85 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 piece · 85 g

Calories
296 kcal
Protein
6.7 g
Carbohydrate
50 g
Total fat
7.7 g
Fiber
1.6 g
Sodium
13 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 piece · 85 g

296calories

Bread, Spanish coffee

Protein
6.7 g
Carbs
50 g
Fat
7.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707683

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 296 calories for 1 piece at 85 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 348 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 6.7 g protein, 1.6 g fiber, and 13 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, representing 56.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 piece at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707683: “Bread, Spanish coffee.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707683, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 63.8 g 222 kcal 5.1 g 1.2 g 10 mg
1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure 85 g 296 kcal 6.7 g 1.6 g 13 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 106.3 g 370 kcal 8.4 g 2 g 16 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries

The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707683’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

348 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
376 kcal
Middle 50%
342–430 kcal

Based on 18 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

7.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.1 g
Middle 50%
4.6–7.6 g

Based on 18 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1.2–2.1 g

Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

15 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
298 mg
Middle 50%
205–418 mg

Based on 18 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707683’s 85 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron3 mg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber1.6 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat1.3 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium13 mg

≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Bread, Spanish coffee,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708079 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 85 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 63.8–106.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 222 kcal and 370 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708079

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 304 mg less sodium than “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached

    The source formulation has 6 input rows; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached supplies 56.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “Spanish coffee” fits. Inspect FDC 2708079 when “crumb or quick-bread type” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Bread, Spanish coffee

Exact source wording
“Bread, Spanish coffee”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707683 · FNDDS 51168000
Named qualifiers
Spanish coffee
Source inputs unique in this pair
Olive oil · Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressed · Beverages, water, tap, municipal

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type

Exact source wording
“Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708079 · FNDDS 53610100
Named qualifiers
crumb or quick-bread type
Source inputs unique in this pair
Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate · Salt, table · Milk, NFS

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “Spanish coffee”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordBread, Spanish coffee 85 g296 kcal 348 kcal 7.9 g 9.1 g 1.9 g 15 mg
Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type 65 g257 kcal 396 kcal 6.5 g 18.4 g 1.4 g 319 mg
Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, with fruit 78 g251 kcal 322 kcal 4.2 g 11.8 g 1.2 g 203 mg
Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type, cheese-filled 65 g237 kcal 365 kcal 6.8 g 17.6 g 1.2 g 291 mg
Coffee cake, yeast type 57 g212 kcal 372 kcal 6.2 g 16.4 g 2.4 g 304 mg
Funnel cake with sugar 70 g247 kcal 353 kcal 7.9 g 16.6 g 1 g 278 mg
Pastry, made with bean or lotus seed paste filling, baked 70 g238 kcal 340 kcal 7 g 4.5 g 2.7 g 87 mg

How to compare FDC 2707683: its source amount is 85 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707683, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece

296 kcal

85 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707683, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

50 g≈ 18% Daily Value

Iron

3.1 mg≈ 17% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707683’s 85 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707683 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 6.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 85 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 296 kcal Not established
Protein 6.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 50 g 18%
Total fat 7.7 g 10%
Dietary fiber 1.6 g 6%
Sugars 10.3 g Not established
Sodium 12.8 mg 1%
Saturated fat 1.3 g 6%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Cholesterol 31.5 mg 10%
Potassium 97.8 mg 2%
Calcium 14.5 mg 1%
Iron 3.1 mg 17%
Magnesium 16.2 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 13.6 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 20.1 g Not established

For FDC 2707683, approximate percentages divide the displayed 85 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707683 to 6 source inputs totaling 178 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, Spanish coffee” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

6 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, Beverages, water, tap, municipal, Sugars, granulated. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

178 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 56.2%
2 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 11.2%
3 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 8.4%
4 Olive oilUSDA ingredient 82104000 · encyclopedia page available 12 GM 12 g 6.7%
5 Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressedUSDA ingredient 18374 · encyclopedia page available 6 GM 6 g 3.4%
6 Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available 25 GM 25 g 14%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707683, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories348 kcal396 kcal−48 kcal
Protein7.9 g6.5 g+1.4 g
Carbohydrate58.8 g51.3 g+7.5 g
Total fat9.1 g18.4 g−9.3 g
Dietary fiber1.9 g1.4 g+0.5 g
Sodium15 mg319 mg−304 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 48 less calories, 1.4 g more protein, and 7.5 g more carbohydrate than “Coffee cake, crumb or quick-bread type.”

Only this record lists Olive oil; Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressed; Beverages, water, tap, municipal. Only the comparison record lists Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Salt, table; Milk, NFS; Butter, stick, salted. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Sugars, granulated; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole.

Listed only in this record: Olive oil; Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressed; Beverages, water, tap, municipal.

Listed only in the comparison: Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; Salt, table; Milk, NFS; Butter, stick, salted; and 3 more.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (85 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (65 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707683 with FDC 2708079 at equal mass; use their 85 g and 65 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707683 versus FDC 2708079 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full doughnuts, sweet rolls, pastries source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Bread, Spanish coffee,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707683 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 348 kcal per 100 g becomes 296 kcal at 85 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 piece has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707683

FNDDS food code: 51168000

The scaling for FDC 2707683 can be exact while the match to “Bread, Spanish coffee” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 85 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.