Energy
middle half182 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 168 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 138–189 kcal
Based on 116 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 100 calories for 1 egg (55 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 egg · 55 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 egg · 55 g
100calories
Egg, whole, fried with butter
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 100 calories for 1 egg at 55 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 182 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.4 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 145 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is eggs, grade a, large, egg whole, representing 93.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 egg at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 100–246 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707159: “Egg, whole, fried with butter.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707159, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 41.3 g | 75 kcal | 4.8 g | 0 g | 108 mg |
| 1 eggUSDA-listed household measure | 55 g | 100 kcal | 6.4 g | 0 g | 145 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 246 kcal | 15.7 g | 0 g | 355 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 116 exact records in the Eggs and omelets USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707159’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half182 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 116 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half11.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 116 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 116 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half263 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 116 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707159’s 55 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A119.4 µg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin D1.3 µg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.3 g
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium145 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Egg, whole, fried with butter,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707156 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 55 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 100 kcal to 246 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.7 g more total fat than “Egg, whole, fried no added fat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole supplies 93.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whole; fried with butter” fits. Inspect FDC 2707156 when “whole; fried no added fat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole” and “fried with butter”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordEgg, whole, fried with butter | 55 g100 kcal | 182 kcal | 11.6 g | 14.6 g | 0 g | 263 mg |
| Egg, whole, fried with oil | 55 g106 kcal | 192 kcal | 11.6 g | 15.8 g | 0 g | 228 mg |
| Egg, whole, fried with margarine | 55 g94 kcal | 171 kcal | 11.6 g | 13.5 g | 0 g | 274 mg |
| Egg, whole, fried with cooking spray | 50 g75 kcal | 149 kcal | 12.2 g | 10.6 g | 0 g | 243 mg |
| Egg, whole, fried no added fat | 50 g72 kcal | 143 kcal | 12.4 g | 9.9 g | 0 g | 244 mg |
| Egg, whole, fried, from fast food / restaurant | 55 g106 kcal | 192 kcal | 11.6 g | 15.8 g | 0 g | 228 mg |
| Egg, whole, fried with animal fat or meat drippings | 55 g103 kcal | 188 kcal | 11.7 g | 15.3 g | 0 g | 268 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707159: its source amount is 55 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707159, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
100 kcal
55 g
246 kcal
135 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707159, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
218.9 mg≈ 73% Daily ValueSaturated fat
3.3 g≈ 16% Daily ValueVitamin A
119.4 µg≈ 13% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707159’s 55 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 55 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 100 kcal 182 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.4 g 11.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0.5 g 0.9 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 8 g 14.6 g | 10% 19% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0.1 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 144.7 mg 263 mg | 6% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 3.3 g 6 g | 16% 30% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.5 g 4.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1 g 1.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 218.9 mg 398 mg | 73% 133% |
| Potassium | 68.8 mg 125 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 25.3 mg 46 mg | 2% 4% |
| Iron | 0.9 mg 1.6 mg | 5% 9% |
| Magnesium | 5.5 mg 10 mg | 1% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 1.3 µg 2.4 µg | 7% 12% |
| Vitamin A | 119.4 µg 217 µg | 13% 24% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 39.4 g 71.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707159, approximate percentages divide the displayed 55 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707159 to 3 source inputs totaling 107.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Egg, whole, fried with butter” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole, Butter, stick, salted, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
107.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 93.2% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.3 GM | 0.3 g | 0.3% |
| 3 | Butter, stick, saltedUSDA ingredient 1001 · encyclopedia page available | 7 GM | 7 g | 6.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707159, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Eggs and omelets” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 182 kcal | 143 kcal | +39 kcal |
| Protein | 11.6 g | 12.4 g | −0.8 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0.9 g | 1 g | −0.1 g |
| Total fat | 14.6 g | 9.9 g | +4.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 263 mg | 244 mg | +19 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 39 more calories and 4.7 g more total fat than “Egg, whole, fried no added fat.”
Only this record lists Butter, stick, salted. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Butter, stick, salted.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 55 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 egg (55 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 50 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 egg (50 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707159 with FDC 2707156 at equal mass; use their 55 g and 50 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707159 versus FDC 2707156 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full eggs and omelets source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2707159 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Egg, whole, fried with butter” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707159 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount of absorbed frying fat, portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat.
For “Egg, whole, fried with butter,” resolve amount of absorbed frying fat first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707159 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 182 kcal per 100 g becomes 100 kcal at 55 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 egg has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707159
FNDDS food code: 31105040
The scaling for FDC 2707159 can be exact while the match to “Egg, whole, fried with butter” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 55 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.