Energy
upper quarter265 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 171 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 147–213 kcal
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 570 calories for 1 sandwich (215 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 215 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich, any size · 215 g
570calories
Falafel sandwich
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 570 calories for 1 sandwich at 215 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 265 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 13.4 g protein, 5.4 g fiber, and 772 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is falafel, representing 32.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707483: “Falafel sandwich.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707483, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 161.3 g | 427 kcal | 10 g | 4 g | 579 mg |
| 1 sandwich, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 215 g | 570 kcal | 13.4 g | 5.4 g | 772 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 268.8 g | 712 kcal | 16.7 g | 6.7 g | 965 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Vegetable sandwiches/burgers USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707483’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter265 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter359 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707483’s 215 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber5.4 g
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium772 mg
≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4.5 g
≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Falafel sandwich,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709132 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 161.3–268.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 427 kcal and 712 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 12.7 g more total fat than “Vegetable sandwich on white.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 7 input rows; Falafel supplies 32.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Falafel sandwich” fits. Inspect FDC 2709132 when the exact wording “Vegetable sandwich on white” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFalafel sandwich | 215 g570 kcal | 265 kcal | 6.2 g | 14.8 g | 2.5 g | 359 mg |
| Tomato sandwich on white | 120 g241 kcal | 201 kcal | 8.5 g | 6.8 g | 1.5 g | 494 mg |
| Tomato sandwich on wheat | 120 g239 kcal | 199 kcal | 9.4 g | 7 g | 3.1 g | 489 mg |
| Vegetable sandwich wrap | 165 g264 kcal | 160 kcal | 5.4 g | 6.6 g | 1.8 g | 528 mg |
| Vegetable sandwich on white | 165 g198 kcal | 120 kcal | 3.9 g | 2.1 g | 1.6 g | 374 mg |
| Vegetable sandwich on wheat | 165 g196 kcal | 119 kcal | 4.7 g | 2.3 g | 2.7 g | 370 mg |
| Vegetable sandwich on white, with cheese | 185 g272 kcal | 147 kcal | 5.8 g | 5.1 g | 1.4 g | 446 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707483: its source amount is 215 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707483, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
570 kcal
215 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707483, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
31.8 g≈ 41% Daily ValueSodium
771.9 mg≈ 34% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707483’s 215 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707483 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707483 at 215 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 215 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 570 kcal 265 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 13.4 g 6.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 58.1 g 27 g | 21% 10% |
| Total fat | 31.8 g 14.8 g | 41% 19% |
| Dietary fiber | 5.4 g 2.5 g | 19% 9% |
| Sugars | 6.4 g 3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 771.9 mg 359 mg | 34% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 4.5 g 2.1 g | 23% 11% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 13 g 6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 11.8 g 5.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 2.2 mg 1 mg | 1% 0% |
| Potassium | 410.7 mg 191 mg | 9% 4% |
| Calcium | 144.1 mg 67 mg | 11% 5% |
| Iron | 3.3 mg 1.6 mg | 19% 9% |
| Magnesium | 45.2 mg 21 mg | 11% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 11.2 mg 5.2 mg | 12% 6% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 47.3 µg 22 µg | 5% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 107.9 g 50.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707483, approximate percentages divide the displayed 215 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707483 to 7 source inputs totaling 213 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Falafel sandwich” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Falafel, Bread, pita, white, enriched, Tzatziki dip. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
213 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | FalafelUSDA ingredient 41209000 | 70 GM | 70 g | 32.9% |
| 2 | Bread, pita, white, enrichedUSDA ingredient 18041 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 28.2% |
| 3 | Tomatoes, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902070 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 9.4% |
| 4 | Cucumber, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902010 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 4.7% |
| 5 | Onions, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902040 · encyclopedia page available | 15 GM | 15 g | 7% |
| 6 | Lettuce, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902020 · encyclopedia page available | 8 GM | 8 g | 3.8% |
| 7 | Tzatziki dipUSDA ingredient 11440060 | 30 GM | 30 g | 14.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707483, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Vegetable sandwiches/burgers” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 265 kcal | 120 kcal | +145 kcal |
| Protein | 6.2 g | 3.9 g | +2.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 27 g | 21.5 g | +5.5 g |
| Total fat | 14.8 g | 2.1 g | +12.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.5 g | 1.6 g | +0.9 g |
| Sodium | 359 mg | 374 mg | −15 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 145 more calories, 2.3 g more protein, and 5.5 g more carbohydrate than “Vegetable sandwich on white.”
Only this record lists Falafel; Bread, pita, white, enriched; Tzatziki dip. Only the comparison record lists Bread, white, commercially prepared; Pepper, for use on a sandwich; Olives, NFS; Pickles, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Tomatoes, for use on a sandwich; Cucumber, for use on a sandwich; Onions, for use on a sandwich; Lettuce, for use on a sandwich.
Listed only in this record: Falafel; Bread, pita, white, enriched; Tzatziki dip.
Listed only in the comparison: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Pepper, for use on a sandwich; Olives, NFS; Pickles, NFS; and 1 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 215 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (215 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 165 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (165 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707483 with FDC 2709132 at equal mass; use their 215 g and 165 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707483 versus FDC 2709132 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full vegetable sandwiches/burgers source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Falafel sandwich,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707483 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 265 kcal per 100 g becomes 570 kcal at 215 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707483
FNDDS food code: 41901030
The scaling for FDC 2707483 can be exact while the match to “Falafel sandwich” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 215 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.