Energy
lower quarter119 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 171 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 147–213 kcal
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 196 calories for 1 regular (165 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 165 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 165 g
196calories
Vegetable sandwich on wheat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 196 calories for 1 regular at 165 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 119 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 7.7 g protein, 4.5 g fiber, and 611 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches, representing 36.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 9 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 101–298 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709134: “Vegetable sandwich on wheat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709134, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/slider” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/sliderUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 101 kcal | 4 g | 2.3 g | 315 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 165 g | 196 kcal | 7.7 g | 4.5 g | 611 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 298 kcal | 11.7 g | 6.8 g | 925 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Vegetable sandwiches/burgers USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2709134’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter119 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter4.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter370 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709134’s 165 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C31 mg
≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber4.5 g
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium611 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.7 g
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Vegetable sandwich on wheat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709135 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 85 g and 250 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 101 kcal to 298 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3 g less total fat than “Vegetable sandwich on wheat, with cheese.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 9 input rows; Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches supplies 36.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Vegetable sandwich on wheat” fits. Inspect FDC 2709135 when “with cheese” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordVegetable sandwich on wheat | 165 g196 kcal | 119 kcal | 4.7 g | 2.3 g | 2.7 g | 370 mg |
| Vegetable sandwich on wheat, with cheese | 185 g270 kcal | 146 kcal | 6.5 g | 5.2 g | 2.4 g | 443 mg |
| Vegetable sandwich on white | 165 g198 kcal | 120 kcal | 3.9 g | 2.1 g | 1.6 g | 374 mg |
| Vegetable sandwich wrap | 165 g264 kcal | 160 kcal | 5.4 g | 6.6 g | 1.8 g | 528 mg |
| Tomato sandwich on wheat | 120 g239 kcal | 199 kcal | 9.4 g | 7 g | 3.1 g | 489 mg |
| Vegetable sandwich on white, with cheese | 185 g272 kcal | 147 kcal | 5.8 g | 5.1 g | 1.4 g | 446 mg |
| Falafel sandwich | 215 g570 kcal | 265 kcal | 6.2 g | 14.8 g | 2.5 g | 359 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709134: its source amount is 165 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709134, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
196 kcal
165 g
298 kcal
250 g
298 kcal
250 g
101 kcal
85 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709134, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin C
31 mg≈ 35% Daily ValueSodium
610.5 mg≈ 27% Daily ValueDietary fiber
4.5 g≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709134’s 165 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2709134 at 165 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 165 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 196 kcal 119 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 7.7 g 4.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 33.2 g 20.1 g | 12% 7% |
| Total fat | 3.7 g 2.3 g | 5% 3% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.5 g 2.7 g | 16% 10% |
| Sugars | 6.5 g 4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 610.5 mg 370 mg | 27% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 0.7 g 0.4 g | 4% 2% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.2 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.1 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 283.8 mg 172 mg | 6% 4% |
| Calcium | 125.4 mg 76 mg | 10% 6% |
| Iron | 2.8 mg 1.7 mg | 15% 9% |
| Magnesium | 42.9 mg 26 mg | 10% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 31 mg 18.8 mg | 34% 21% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 52.8 µg 32 µg | 6% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 117.6 g 71.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709134, approximate percentages divide the displayed 165 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709134 to 9 source inputs totaling 163 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Vegetable sandwich on wheat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches, Tomatoes, for use on a sandwich, Onions, for use on a sandwich. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
163 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995130 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 36.8% |
| 2 | Lettuce, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902020 · encyclopedia page available | 8 GM | 8 g | 4.9% |
| 3 | Tomatoes, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902070 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 12.3% |
| 4 | Pepper, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902050 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 6.1% |
| 5 | Onions, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902040 · encyclopedia page available | 15 GM | 15 g | 9.2% |
| 6 | Cucumber, for use on a sandwichUSDA ingredient 89902010 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 6.1% |
| 7 | Olives, NFSUSDA ingredient 75510000 | 10 GM | 10 g | 6.1% |
| 8 | Pickles, NFSUSDA ingredient 75511100 | 15 GM | 15 g | 9.2% |
| 9 | Peppers, sweet, pickledUSDA ingredient 75511020 · encyclopedia page available | 15 GM | 15 g | 9.2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709134, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Vegetable sandwiches/burgers” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 119 kcal | 146 kcal | −27 kcal |
| Protein | 4.7 g | 6.5 g | −1.8 g |
| Carbohydrate | 20.1 g | 18.4 g | +1.7 g |
| Total fat | 2.3 g | 5.2 g | −3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.7 g | 2.4 g | +0.3 g |
| Sodium | 370 mg | 443 mg | −73 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 27 less calories, 1.8 g less protein, and 3 g less total fat than “Vegetable sandwich on wheat, with cheese.”
Only the comparison record lists Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches; Lettuce, for use on a sandwich; Tomatoes, for use on a sandwich; Pepper, for use on a sandwich; and 5 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 165 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (165 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 185 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (185 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709134 with FDC 2709135 at equal mass; use their 165 g and 185 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709134 versus FDC 2709135 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full vegetable sandwiches/burgers source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Vegetable sandwich on wheat” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709134 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Vegetable sandwich on wheat,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709134 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 119 kcal per 100 g becomes 196 kcal at 165 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709134
FNDDS food code: 58200230
The scaling for FDC 2709134 can be exact while the match to “Vegetable sandwich on wheat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 165 g weight, 9-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.