Energy
upper quarter328 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 228 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 174–269 kcal
Based on 41 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 492 calories for 1 cup (150 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 150 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 150 g
492calories
Frito pie
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 492 calories for 1 cup at 150 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 328 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 14.9 g protein, 4.4 g fiber, and 858 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chili with meat, canned, representing 42.3% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708506: “Frito pie.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708506, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 112.5 g | 369 kcal | 11.2 g | 3.3 g | 644 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 150 g | 492 kcal | 14.9 g | 4.4 g | 858 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 187.5 g | 615 kcal | 18.7 g | 5.4 g | 1,073 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Other Mexican mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708506’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter328 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half10 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter572 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708506’s 150 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium276 mg
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber4.4 g
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat8.3 g
≈ 41% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium858 mg
≈ 37% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Frito pie,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708599 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 112.5–187.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 369 kcal and 615 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.7 g more total fat than “Taquito, cheese only.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 5 input rows; Chili with meat, canned supplies 42.3% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Frito pie” fits. Inspect FDC 2708599 when “cheese only” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFrito pie | 150 g492 kcal | 328 kcal | 10 g | 21 g | 2.9 g | 572 mg |
| Gordita, cheese only | 125 g405 kcal | 324 kcal | 10.6 g | 21.6 g | 1.7 g | 490 mg |
| Quesadilla, cheese only | 60 g190 kcal | 316 kcal | 13.4 g | 16.2 g | 2 g | 676 mg |
| Taquito, cheese only | 70 g216 kcal | 309 kcal | 11.2 g | 15.3 g | 3.3 g | 632 mg |
| Quesadilla, beef or pork | 70 g214 kcal | 305 kcal | 14.1 g | 15.1 g | 1.9 g | 600 mg |
| Chimichanga, chicken | 190 g578 kcal | 304 kcal | 12.5 g | 16.4 g | 1.8 g | 414 mg |
| Quesadilla, chicken | 70 g201 kcal | 287 kcal | 14.4 g | 13 g | 1.9 g | 601 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708506: its source amount is 150 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708506, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
492 kcal
150 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708506, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
8.3 g≈ 42% Daily ValueTotal fat
31.5 g≈ 40% Daily ValueSodium
858 mg≈ 37% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708506’s 150 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708506 at 150 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 150 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 492 kcal 328 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 14.9 g 10 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 39.5 g 26.3 g | 14% 10% |
| Total fat | 31.5 g 21 g | 40% 27% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.4 g 2.9 g | 16% 10% |
| Sugars | 1.3 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 858 mg 572 mg | 37% 25% |
| Saturated fat | 8.3 g 5.5 g | 41% 28% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 8.8 g 5.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 10.6 g 7.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 36 mg 24 mg | 12% 8% |
| Potassium | 280.5 mg 187 mg | 6% 4% |
| Calcium | 276 mg 184 mg | 21% 14% |
| Iron | 1.9 mg 1.2 mg | 10% 7% |
| Magnesium | 63 mg 42 mg | 15% 10% |
| Vitamin C | 3.9 mg 2.6 mg | 4% 3% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 67.5 µg 45 µg | 8% 5% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 60.5 g 40.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708506, approximate percentages divide the displayed 150 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708506 to 5 source inputs totaling 591.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Frito pie” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chili with meat, canned, Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain, Cheese and Queso as ingredient. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
591.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chili with meat, cannedUSDA ingredient 27111407 · encyclopedia page available | 250 GM | 250 g | 42.3% |
| 2 | Cheese and Queso as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99991410 · encyclopedia page available | 110 GM | 110 g | 18.6% |
| 3 | Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plainUSDA ingredient 19003 · encyclopedia page available | 220 GM | 220 g | 37.2% |
| 4 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 1.7% |
| 5 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1.5 GM | 1.5 g | 0.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708506, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Other Mexican mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 328 kcal | 309 kcal | +19 kcal |
| Protein | 10 g | 11.2 g | −1.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 26.3 g | 32.2 g | −5.9 g |
| Total fat | 21 g | 15.3 g | +5.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.9 g | 3.3 g | −0.4 g |
| Sodium | 572 mg | 632 mg | −60 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 19 more calories, 1.2 g less protein, and 5.9 g less carbohydrate than “Taquito, cheese only.”
Only this record lists Chili with meat, canned; Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain. Only the comparison record lists Tortilla, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cheese and Queso as ingredient; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Chili with meat, canned; Snacks, corn-based, extruded, chips, plain.
Listed only in the comparison: Tortilla, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 150 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (150 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 70 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular taquito (70 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708506 with FDC 2708599 at equal mass; use their 150 g and 70 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708506 versus FDC 2708599 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full other mexican mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.
For “Frito pie,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708506 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 328 kcal per 100 g becomes 492 kcal at 150 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708506
FNDDS food code: 58101830
The scaling for FDC 2708506 can be exact while the match to “Frito pie” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 150 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.