Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, white bread calories: 398 per 1 sandwich (116 g)

This exact USDA record reports 398 calories for 1 sandwich (116 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread

Quick facts

1 sandwich · 116 g

Calories
398 kcal
Protein
12.8 g
Carbohydrate
32.6 g
Total fat
24.1 g
Fiber
1.4 g
Sodium
954 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 sandwich · 116 g

398calories

Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread

Protein
12.8 g
Carbs
32.6 g
Fat
24.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705802

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 398 calories for 1 sandwich at 116 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 343 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 12.8 g protein, 1.4 g fiber, and 954 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, white, commercially prepared, representing 51.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705802: “Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705802, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 87 g 298 kcal 9.6 g 1 g 715 mg
1 sandwichUSDA-listed household measure 116 g 398 kcal 12.8 g 1.4 g 954 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 145 g 497 kcal 16 g 1.7 g 1,192 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cheese sandwiches

The comparison set contains 12 exact records in the Cheese sandwiches USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705802’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

343 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
315 kcal
Middle 50%
297–342 kcal

Based on 12 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

11 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
13.1 g
Middle 50%
12.2–14.1 g

Based on 12 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

1.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.1 g
Middle 50%
1.4–2.9 g

Based on 12 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

822 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
746 mg
Middle 50%
540–818 mg

Based on 12 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705802’s 116 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium575 mg

≈ 44% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A219.2 µg

≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat11.6 g

≈ 58% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium954 mg

≈ 41% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705795 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 116 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 87–145 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 298 kcal and 497 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705795

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.5 g more total fat than “Cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Bread, white, commercially prepared

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Bread, white, commercially prepared supplies 51.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “American cheese; on white bread” fits. Inspect FDC 2705795 when “American cheese; on white bread” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread

Exact source wording
“Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705802 · FNDDS 14640105
Named qualifiers
American cheese · on white bread
Source inputs unique in this pair
Table fat, NFS

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread

Exact source wording
“Cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705795 · FNDDS 14640002
Named qualifiers
American cheese · on white bread

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “American cheese” and “on white bread”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordGrilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread 116 g398 kcal 343 kcal 11 g 20.8 g 1.2 g 822 mg
Cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread 102 g303 kcal 297 kcal 12.5 g 13.3 g 1.4 g 853 mg
Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on wheat bread 116 g396 kcal 341 kcal 12 g 21 g 2.8 g 817 mg
Grilled cheese sandwich, cheddar cheese, on white bread 116 g427 kcal 368 kcal 13.4 g 23.3 g 1.2 g 541 mg
Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread 116 g356 kcal 307 kcal 11.3 g 16 g 1.2 g 739 mg
Cheese sandwich, cheddar cheese, on white bread 102 g332 kcal 325 kcal 15.1 g 16.1 g 1.4 g 534 mg
Cheese sandwich, American cheese, on wheat bread 102 g301 kcal 295 kcal 13.6 g 13.5 g 3.2 g 848 mg

How to compare FDC 2705802: its source amount is 116 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705802, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 sandwich

398 kcal

116 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705802, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

11.6 g≈ 58% Daily Value

Calcium

575.4 mg≈ 44% Daily Value

Sodium

953.5 mg≈ 42% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705802’s 116 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705802 at 116 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 954 mg sodium, about 42% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 116 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 398 kcal Not established
Protein 12.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 32.6 g 12%
Total fat 24.1 g 31%
Dietary fiber 1.4 g 5%
Sugars 5.2 g Not established
Sodium 953.5 mg 41%
Saturated fat 11.6 g 58%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 55.7 mg 19%
Potassium 161.2 mg 3%
Calcium 575.4 mg 44%
Iron 2.3 mg 13%
Magnesium 29 mg 7%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 3 µg 15%
Vitamin A 219.2 µg 24%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 42.3 g Not established

For FDC 2705802, approximate percentages divide the displayed 116 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705802 to 3 source inputs totaling 116 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bread, white, commercially prepared, Cheese, American, Table fat, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

116 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 51.7%
2 Cheese, AmericanUSDA ingredient 14410110 · encyclopedia page available 42 GM 42 g 36.2%
3 Table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81100000 · encyclopedia page available 14 GM 14 g 12.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705802, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories343 kcal297 kcal+46 kcal
Protein11 g12.5 g−1.5 g
Carbohydrate28.1 g31.9 g−3.8 g
Total fat20.8 g13.3 g+7.5 g
Dietary fiber1.2 g1.4 g−0.2 g
Sodium822 mg853 mg−31 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 46 more calories, 1.5 g less protein, and 3.8 g less carbohydrate than “Cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread.”

Only this record lists Table fat, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Cheese, American.

Listed only in this record: Table fat, NFS.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 116 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (116 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 102 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (102 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705802 with FDC 2705795 at equal mass; use their 116 g and 102 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705802 versus FDC 2705795 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cheese sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705802 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705802 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 343 kcal per 100 g becomes 398 kcal at 116 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705802

FNDDS food code: 14640105

The scaling for FDC 2705802 can be exact while the match to “Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 116 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.