Energy
middle half307 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 315 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 297–342 kcal
Based on 12 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 356 calories for 1 sandwich (116 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 116 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich · 116 g
356calories
Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 356 calories for 1 sandwich at 116 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 307 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 13.1 g protein, 1.4 g fiber, and 857 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, white, commercially prepared, representing 51.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705806: “Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705806, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 87 g | 267 kcal | 9.8 g | 1 g | 643 mg |
| 1 sandwichUSDA-listed household measure | 116 g | 356 kcal | 13.1 g | 1.4 g | 857 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 145 g | 445 kcal | 16.4 g | 1.7 g | 1,072 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 12 exact records in the Cheese sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705806’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half307 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter11.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half739 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705806’s 116 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium351 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A214.6 µg
≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat8.8 g
≈ 44% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium857 mg
≈ 37% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705799 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 87–145 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 267 kcal and 445 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 8.1 g more total fat than “Cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Bread, white, commercially prepared supplies 51.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “reduced fat cheese; on white bread” fits. Inspect FDC 2705799 when “reduced fat cheese; on white bread” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “reduced fat cheese” and “on white bread”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordGrilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread | 116 g356 kcal | 307 kcal | 11.3 g | 16 g | 1.2 g | 739 mg |
| Cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread | 102 g261 kcal | 256 kcal | 12.8 g | 7.9 g | 1.4 g | 759 mg |
| Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on wheat bread | 116 g354 kcal | 305 kcal | 12.3 g | 16.2 g | 2.8 g | 734 mg |
| Grilled cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread | 116 g398 kcal | 343 kcal | 11 g | 20.8 g | 1.2 g | 822 mg |
| Cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on wheat bread | 102 g259 kcal | 254 kcal | 14 g | 8.1 g | 3.2 g | 753 mg |
| Grilled cheese sandwich, cheddar cheese, on white bread | 116 g427 kcal | 368 kcal | 13.4 g | 23.3 g | 1.2 g | 541 mg |
| Cheese sandwich, American cheese, on white bread | 102 g303 kcal | 297 kcal | 12.5 g | 13.3 g | 1.4 g | 853 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705806: its source amount is 116 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705806, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
356 kcal
116 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705806, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
8.8 g≈ 44% Daily ValueSodium
857.2 mg≈ 37% Daily ValueCalcium
351.5 mg≈ 27% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705806’s 116 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705806 at 116 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 116 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 356 kcal 307 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 13.1 g 11.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 34 g 29.3 g | 12% 11% |
| Total fat | 18.6 g 16 g | 24% 21% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g 1.2 g | 5% 4% |
| Sugars | 6.6 g 5.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 857.2 mg 739 mg | 37% 32% |
| Saturated fat | 8.8 g 7.6 g | 44% 38% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.9 g 4.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3 g 2.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 41.8 mg 36 mg | 14% 12% |
| Potassium | 212.3 mg 183 mg | 5% 4% |
| Calcium | 351.5 mg 303 mg | 27% 23% |
| Iron | 2.1 mg 1.8 mg | 12% 10% |
| Magnesium | 30.2 mg 26 mg | 7% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 2.4 µg 2.1 µg | 12% 11% |
| Vitamin A | 214.6 µg 185 µg | 24% 21% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 46.3 g 39.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705806, approximate percentages divide the displayed 116 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705806 to 3 source inputs totaling 116 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bread, white, commercially prepared, Cheese product, pasteurized process, American, reduced fat, fortified with vitamin D, Table fat, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
116 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 51.7% |
| 2 | Cheese product, pasteurized process, American, reduced fat, fortified with vitamin DUSDA ingredient 1215 · encyclopedia page available | 42 GM | 42 g | 36.2% |
| 3 | Table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81100000 · encyclopedia page available | 14 GM | 14 g | 12.1% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705806, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 307 kcal | 256 kcal | +51 kcal |
| Protein | 11.3 g | 12.8 g | −1.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 29.3 g | 33.3 g | −4 g |
| Total fat | 16 g | 7.9 g | +8.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 1.4 g | −0.2 g |
| Sodium | 739 mg | 759 mg | −20 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 51 more calories, 1.5 g less protein, and 4 g less carbohydrate than “Cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread.”
Only this record lists Table fat, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Cheese product, pasteurized process, American, reduced fat, fortified with vitamin D.
Listed only in this record: Table fat, NFS.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 116 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (116 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 102 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (102 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705806 with FDC 2705799 at equal mass; use their 116 g and 102 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705806 versus FDC 2705799 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cheese sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2705806 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705806 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705806 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 307 kcal per 100 g becomes 356 kcal at 116 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705806
FNDDS food code: 14640155
The scaling for FDC 2705806 can be exact while the match to “Grilled cheese sandwich, reduced fat cheese, on white bread” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 116 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.