Energy
upper quarter148 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 125 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 113–146 kcal
Based on 14 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 237 calories for 1 cup, cooked (160 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup, cooked · 160 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 160 g
237calories
Noodles, whole grain, cooked
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 237 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 160 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 148 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 9.5 g protein, 6.2 g fiber, and 336 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (includes foods for usda's food distribution program), representing 99.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 111–237 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708353: “Noodles, whole grain, cooked.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708353, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, dry, yields” through “1 cup, cooked” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure | 75 g | 111 kcal | 4.5 g | 2.9 g | 158 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 120 g | 178 kcal | 7.2 g | 4.7 g | 252 mg |
| 1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 160 g | 237 kcal | 9.5 g | 6.2 g | 336 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 14 exact records in the Pasta, noodles, cooked grains USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708353’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter148 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 14 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 14 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half3.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 14 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half210 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 14 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708353’s 160 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber6.2 g
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium86 mg
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium336 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.4 g
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Noodles, whole grain, cooked,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708358 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 75 g and 160 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 111 kcal to 237 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 25 mg less sodium than “Pasta, whole grain, cooked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program) supplies 99.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whole grain; cooked” fits. Inspect FDC 2708358 when “whole grain; cooked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole grain” and “cooked”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordNoodles, whole grain, cooked | 160 g237 kcal | 148 kcal | 6 g | 1.7 g | 3.9 g | 210 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, cooked | 140 g207 kcal | 148 kcal | 6 g | 1.7 g | 3.9 g | 235 mg |
| Noodles, cooked | 160 g219 kcal | 137 kcal | 4.5 g | 2.1 g | 1.2 g | 236 mg |
| Rice noodles, cooked | 175 g187 kcal | 107 kcal | 1.8 g | 0.2 g | 1 g | 250 mg |
| Long rice noodles, made from mung beans, cooked | 190 g160 kcal | 84 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0.1 g | 5 mg |
| Pasta, cooked | 140 g220 kcal | 157 kcal | 5.8 g | 0.9 g | 1.8 g | 232 mg |
| Barley | 170 g236 kcal | 139 kcal | 2.2 g | 2.7 g | 3.7 g | 199 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708353: its source amount is 160 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708353, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
237 kcal
160 g
111 kcal
75 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708353, Dietary fiber is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Dietary fiber
6.2 g≈ 22% Daily ValueMagnesium
86.4 mg≈ 21% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708353’s 160 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708353 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 9.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708353 at 160 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 160 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 237 kcal 148 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 9.5 g 6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 47.8 g 29.9 g | 17% 11% |
| Total fat | 2.7 g 1.7 g | 3% 2% |
| Dietary fiber | 6.2 g 3.9 g | 22% 14% |
| Sugars | 1.2 g 0.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 336 mg 210 mg | 15% 9% |
| Saturated fat | 0.4 g 0.2 g | 2% 1% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.9 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 152 mg 95 mg | 3% 2% |
| Calcium | 20.8 mg 13 mg | 2% 1% |
| Iron | 2.7 mg 1.7 mg | 15% 10% |
| Magnesium | 86.4 mg 54 mg | 21% 13% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 98.4 g 61.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708353, approximate percentages divide the displayed 160 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708353 to 2 source inputs totaling 140.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Noodles, whole grain, cooked” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
140.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 20125 · encyclopedia page available | 1 | 140 g | 99.5% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.13 TS | 0.8 g | 0.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708353, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta, noodles, cooked grains” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 148 kcal | 148 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 6 g | 6 g | +0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 29.9 g | 29.9 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 1.7 g | 1.7 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 3.9 g | 3.9 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 210 mg | 235 mg | −25 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program); Salt, table.
The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 160 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (160 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (140 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708353 with FDC 2708358 at equal mass; use their 160 g and 140 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708353 versus FDC 2708358 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta, noodles, cooked grains source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708353 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Noodles, whole grain, cooked” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708353 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Noodles, whole grain, cooked,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708353 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 148 kcal per 100 g becomes 237 kcal at 160 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708353
FNDDS food code: 56113000
The scaling for FDC 2708353 can be exact while the match to “Noodles, whole grain, cooked” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 160 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.