Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Oatmeal, fast food, flavored calories: 264 per 1 cup, cooked (240 g)

This exact USDA record reports 264 calories for 1 cup, cooked (240 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup, cooked · 240 g

Calories
264 kcal
Protein
5.8 g
Carbohydrate
48.7 g
Total fat
5.6 g
Fiber
3.8 g
Sodium
391 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 240 g

264calories

Oatmeal, fast food, flavored

Protein
5.8 g
Carbs
48.7 g
Fat
5.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708379

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 264 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 240 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 110 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 5.8 g protein, 3.8 g fiber, and 391 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 68.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708379: “Oatmeal, fast food, flavored.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708379, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 180 g 198 kcal 4.3 g 2.9 g 293 mg
1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure 240 g 264 kcal 5.8 g 3.8 g 391 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 300 g 330 kcal 7.2 g 4.8 g 489 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Oatmeal

The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Oatmeal USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708379’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

110 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
101 kcal
Middle 50%
84–114 kcal

Based on 20 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

2.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
2.3–3.3 g

Based on 20 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

1.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
1.7–1.9 g

Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

163 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
96 mg
Middle 50%
79–128 mg

Based on 20 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708379’s 240 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber3.8 g

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium58 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium391 mg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat2.4 g

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Oatmeal, fast food, flavored,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708378 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 240 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 180–300 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 198 kcal and 330 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708378

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 70 mg more sodium than “Oatmeal, fast food, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 5 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 68.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “fast food; flavored” fits. Inspect FDC 2708378 when “fast food; plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Oatmeal, fast food, flavored

Exact source wording
“Oatmeal, fast food, flavored”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708379 · FNDDS 56202905
Named qualifiers
fast food · flavored
Source inputs unique in this pair
Sugars, brown

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Oatmeal, fast food, plain

Exact source wording
“Oatmeal, fast food, plain”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708378 · FNDDS 56202900
Named qualifiers
fast food · plain

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fast food” and “flavored”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordOatmeal, fast food, flavored 240 g264 kcal 110 kcal 2.4 g 2.3 g 1.6 g 163 mg
Oatmeal, fast food, plain 240 g192 kcal 80 kcal 2.6 g 2.5 g 1.7 g 93 mg
Oatmeal, instant, fruit flavored, fat added 240 g281 kcal 117 kcal 2.3 g 3.4 g 1.9 g 145 mg
Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, no added fat 240 g245 kcal 102 kcal 2.4 g 1.3 g 1.9 g 136 mg
Oatmeal, instant, maple flavored, fat added 240 g286 kcal 119 kcal 2.4 g 3.5 g 1.8 g 150 mg
Oatmeal, instant, fruit flavored, no added fat 240 g240 kcal 100 kcal 2.3 g 1.2 g 1.9 g 131 mg
Oatmeal, multigrain 240 g134 kcal 56 kcal 2.1 g 0.5 g 2 g 70 mg

How to compare FDC 2708379: its source amount is 240 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708379, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup, cooked

264 kcal

240 g

1 fast food order

264 kcal

240 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708379, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

48.7 g≈ 18% Daily Value

Sodium

391.2 mg≈ 17% Daily Value

Dietary fiber

3.8 g≈ 14% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708379’s 240 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708379 at 240 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 3.8 g dietary fiber, about 14% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 391 mg sodium, about 17% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 240 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 264 kcal Not established
Protein 5.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 48.7 g 18%
Total fat 5.6 g 7%
Dietary fiber 3.8 g 14%
Sugars 23.9 g Not established
Sodium 391.2 mg 17%
Saturated fat 2.4 g 12%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1 g Not established
Cholesterol 9.6 mg 3%
Potassium 194.4 mg 4%
Calcium 74.4 mg 6%
Iron 1.7 mg 9%
Magnesium 57.6 mg 14%
Vitamin C 0.2 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 26.4 µg 3%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 177.8 g Not established

For FDC 2708379, approximate percentages divide the displayed 240 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708379 to 5 source inputs totaling 306 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Oatmeal, fast food, flavored” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

5 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry, Cream, fluid, half and half. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

306 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dryUSDA ingredient 8120 · encyclopedia page available 40 GM 40 g 13.1%
2 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 210 GM 210 g 68.6%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1 GM 1 g 0.3%
4 Sugars, brownUSDA ingredient 19334 · encyclopedia page available 25 GM 25 g 8.2%
5 Cream, fluid, half and halfUSDA ingredient 1049 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 9.8%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708379, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Oatmeal” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories110 kcal80 kcal+30 kcal
Protein2.4 g2.6 g−0.2 g
Carbohydrate20.3 g11.9 g+8.4 g
Total fat2.3 g2.5 g−0.2 g
Dietary fiber1.6 g1.7 g−0.1 g
Sodium163 mg93 mg+70 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 30 more calories, 8.4 g more carbohydrate, and 70 mg more sodium than “Oatmeal, fast food, plain.”

Only this record lists Sugars, brown. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Salt, table; Cream, fluid, half and half.

Listed only in this record: Sugars, brown.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 240 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (240 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708379 with FDC 2708378 at equal mass; use their 240 g and 240 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708379 versus FDC 2708378 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full oatmeal source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708379 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat.

For “Oatmeal, fast food, flavored,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708379 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 110 kcal per 100 g becomes 264 kcal at 240 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708379

FNDDS food code: 56202905

The scaling for FDC 2708379 can be exact while the match to “Oatmeal, fast food, flavored” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 240 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.