Energy
middle half163 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 408 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat
Quick facts
1 cup · 250 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g
408calories
Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 408 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 163 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 10.1 g protein, 5 g fiber, and 1,005 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (includes foods for usda's food distribution program), representing 50.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 277–693 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708905: “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708905, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 Spaghettio's snack size microwavable tray” through “1 can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Spaghettio's snack size microwavable trayUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 277 kcal | 6.9 g | 3.4 g | 683 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 408 kcal | 10.1 g | 5 g | 1,005 mg |
| 1 canUSDA-listed household measure | 425 g | 693 kcal | 17.2 g | 8.5 g | 1,709 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708905’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half163 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter402 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708905’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber5 g
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A160 µg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat11 g
≈ 55% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,005 mg
≈ 44% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708908 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 170 g and 425 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 277 kcal to 693 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.6 g more total fat than “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, ready-to-heat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program) supplies 50.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whole grain; with cream sauce; ready-to-heat” fits. Inspect FDC 2708908 when “whole grain; with cream sauce; and added vegetables; ready-to-heat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole grain”, “with cream sauce”, and “ready-to-heat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat | 250 g408 kcal | 163 kcal | 4 g | 9.7 g | 2 g | 402 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and poultry, ready-to-heat | 250 g413 kcal | 165 kcal | 6.3 g | 9.1 g | 2 g | 386 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and seafood, ready-to-heat | 250 g400 kcal | 160 kcal | 5.8 g | 8.6 g | 2 g | 397 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce and meat, ready-to-heat | 250 g430 kcal | 172 kcal | 6.1 g | 9.9 g | 2 g | 387 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, ready-to-heat | 250 g373 kcal | 149 kcal | 4 g | 8.1 g | 2.1 g | 342 mg |
| Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat | 250 g418 kcal | 167 kcal | 3.9 g | 9.4 g | 0.9 g | 401 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, meat, and added vegetables, ready-to-heat | 250 g405 kcal | 162 kcal | 6.1 g | 8.6 g | 2.1 g | 338 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708905: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708905, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
408 kcal
250 g
693 kcal
425 g
347 kcal
213 g
277 kcal
170 g
670 kcal
411 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708905, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
11 g≈ 55% Daily ValueSodium
1,005 mg≈ 44% Daily ValueTotal fat
24.4 g≈ 31% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708905’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708905 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 408 kcal 163 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 10.1 g 4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 40.3 g 16.1 g | 15% 6% |
| Total fat | 24.4 g 9.7 g | 31% 12% |
| Dietary fiber | 5 g 2 g | 18% 7% |
| Sugars | 2 g 0.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,005 mg 402 mg | 44% 17% |
| Saturated fat | 11 g 4.4 g | 55% 22% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.8 g 2.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.2 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 52.5 mg 21 mg | 18% 7% |
| Potassium | 167.5 mg 67 mg | 4% 1% |
| Calcium | 95 mg 38 mg | 7% 3% |
| Iron | 2.2 mg 0.9 mg | 12% 5% |
| Magnesium | 72.5 mg 29 mg | 17% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0.3 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.5 µg 0.2 µg | 3% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 160 µg 64 µg | 18% 7% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 171.8 g 68.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708905, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708905 to 4 source inputs totaling 276 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Alfredo sauce, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
276 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 20125 · encyclopedia page available | 140 GM | 140 g | 50.7% |
| 2 | Alfredo sauceUSDA ingredient 14650160 · encyclopedia page available | 130 GM | 130 g | 47.1% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 1.8% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 0.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708905, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 163 kcal | 149 kcal | +14 kcal |
| Protein | 4 g | 4 g | +0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16.1 g | 16.5 g | −0.4 g |
| Total fat | 9.7 g | 8.1 g | +1.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g | 2.1 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 402 mg | 342 mg | +60 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 14 more calories, 1.6 g more total fat, and 60 mg more sodium than “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, and added vegetables, ready-to-heat.”
Only this record lists Alfredo sauce. Only the comparison record lists Alfredo sauce with added vegetables. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program); Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Alfredo sauce.
Listed only in the comparison: Alfredo sauce with added vegetables.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708905 with FDC 2708908 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708905 versus FDC 2708908 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708905 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708905 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708905 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 163 kcal per 100 g becomes 408 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708905
FNDDS food code: 58146683
The scaling for FDC 2708905 can be exact while the match to “Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.