Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Pasta with cream sauce, ready-made calories: 418 per 1 cup (250 g)

This exact USDA record reports 418 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat

Quick facts

1 cup · 250 g

Calories
418 kcal
Protein
9.9 g
Carbohydrate
41.3 g
Total fat
23.4 g
Fiber
2.3 g
Sodium
1,003 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g

418calories

Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat

Protein
9.9 g
Carbs
41.3 g
Fat
23.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708857

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 418 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 167 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 9.9 g protein, 2.3 g fiber, and 1,003 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, representing 50.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 284–710 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708857: “Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708857, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 Spaghettio's snack size microwavable tray” through “1 can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 Spaghettio's snack size microwavable trayUSDA-listed household measure 170 g 284 kcal 6.7 g 1.5 g 682 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 250 g 418 kcal 9.9 g 2.3 g 1,003 mg
1 canUSDA-listed household measure 425 g 710 kcal 16.7 g 3.8 g 1,704 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese

The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708857’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

167 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
154 kcal
Middle 50%
125–177 kcal

Based on 169 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

3.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5.8 g
Middle 50%
4.4–6.3 g

Based on 169 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1–2 g

Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

401 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
336 mg
Middle 50%
233–398 mg

Based on 169 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708857’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A160 µg

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron2 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat10.9 g

≈ 54% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium1,003 mg

≈ 44% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708860 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 Spaghettio's snack size microwavable tray to 1 can

    USDA assigns those measures 170 g and 425 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 284 kcal to 710 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708860

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.6 g more total fat than “Pasta with cream sauce and added vegetables, ready-to-heat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt supplies 50.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “ready-to-heat” fits. Inspect FDC 2708860 when “ready-to-heat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat

Exact source wording
“Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708857 · FNDDS 58146383
Named qualifiers
ready-to-heat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Alfredo sauce

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pasta with cream sauce and added vegetables, ready-to-heat

Exact source wording
“Pasta with cream sauce and added vegetables, ready-to-heat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708860 · FNDDS 58146393
Named qualifiers
ready-to-heat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Alfredo sauce with added vegetables

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “ready-to-heat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat 250 g418 kcal 167 kcal 3.9 g 9.4 g 0.9 g 401 mg
Pasta with cream sauce and seafood, ready-to-heat 250 g413 kcal 165 kcal 5.7 g 8.2 g 0.9 g 395 mg
Pasta with cream sauce and poultry, ready-to-heat 250 g425 kcal 170 kcal 6.2 g 8.7 g 0.9 g 385 mg
Pasta with cream sauce and meat, ready-to-heat 250 g443 kcal 177 kcal 6 g 9.5 g 0.9 g 386 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with cream sauce, ready-to-heat 250 g408 kcal 163 kcal 4 g 9.7 g 2 g 402 mg
Pasta with cream sauce and added vegetables, ready-to-heat 250 g385 kcal 154 kcal 3.9 g 7.7 g 1.1 g 340 mg
Pasta with cream sauce, meat, and added vegetables, ready-to-heat 250 g415 kcal 166 kcal 6 g 8.2 g 1 g 336 mg

How to compare FDC 2708857: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708857, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

418 kcal

250 g

1 can

710 kcal

425 g

1 microwavable cup

356 kcal

213 g

1 Spaghettio's snack size microwavable tray

284 kcal

170 g

1 large microwavable bowl

686 kcal

411 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708857, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

10.9 g≈ 54% Daily Value

Sodium

1,002.5 mg≈ 44% Daily Value

Total fat

23.4 g≈ 30% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708857’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708857 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 1003 mg sodium, about 44% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 418 kcal Not established
Protein 9.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 41.3 g 15%
Total fat 23.4 g 30%
Dietary fiber 2.3 g 8%
Sugars 1.8 g Not established
Sodium 1,002.5 mg 44%
Saturated fat 10.9 g 54%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.9 g Not established
Cholesterol 52.5 mg 18%
Potassium 102.5 mg 2%
Calcium 87.5 mg 7%
Iron 1.7 mg 9%
Magnesium 27.5 mg 7%
Vitamin C 0.3 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.5 µg 3%
Vitamin A 160 µg 18%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 172.3 g Not established

For FDC 2708857, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708857 to 4 source inputs totaling 276 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, Alfredo sauce, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

276 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added saltUSDA ingredient 20121 · encyclopedia page available 140 GM 140 g 50.7%
2 Alfredo sauceUSDA ingredient 14650160 · encyclopedia page available 130 GM 130 g 47.1%
3 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 1.8%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1 GM 1 g 0.4%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708857, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat

USDA category
Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese
FDC ID
2708857
FNDDS code
58146383
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories167 kcal154 kcal+13 kcal
Protein3.9 g3.9 g+0 g
Carbohydrate16.5 g16.9 g−0.4 g
Total fat9.4 g7.7 g+1.6 g
Dietary fiber0.9 g1.1 g−0.2 g
Sodium401 mg340 mg+61 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 13 more calories, 1.6 g more total fat, and 61 mg more sodium than “Pasta with cream sauce and added vegetables, ready-to-heat.”

Only this record lists Alfredo sauce. Only the comparison record lists Alfredo sauce with added vegetables. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Alfredo sauce.

Listed only in the comparison: Alfredo sauce with added vegetables.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708857 with FDC 2708860 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708857 versus FDC 2708860 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.

For “Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708857 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 167 kcal per 100 g becomes 418 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708857

FNDDS food code: 58146383

The scaling for FDC 2708857 can be exact while the match to “Pasta with cream sauce, ready-to-heat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.