Energy
middle half134 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 335 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat
Quick facts
1 cup · 250 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g
335calories
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 335 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 134 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 14.6 g protein, 6.8 g fiber, and 840 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (includes foods for usda's food distribution program), representing 50.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 228–570 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708887: “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708887, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 Spaghettio's snack size microwavable tray” through “1 can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Spaghettio's snack size microwavable trayUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 228 kcal | 9.9 g | 4.6 g | 571 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 335 kcal | 14.6 g | 6.8 g | 840 mg |
| 1 canUSDA-listed household measure | 425 g | 570 kcal | 24.8 g | 11.5 g | 1,428 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708887’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half134 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half5.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half336 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708887’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber6.8 g
≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium90 mg
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium840 mg
≈ 37% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.5 g
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708890 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 170 g and 425 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 228 kcal to 570 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 37 mg more sodium than “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, ready-to-heat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program) supplies 50.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whole grain; with tomato-based sauce and meat; ready-to-heat” fits. Inspect FDC 2708890 when “whole grain; with tomato-based sauce; meat; and added vegetables” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole grain”, “with tomato-based sauce and meat”, and “ready-to-heat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat | 250 g335 kcal | 134 kcal | 5.8 g | 4.7 g | 2.7 g | 336 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, ready-to-heat | 250 g290 kcal | 116 kcal | 3.7 g | 3.4 g | 2.8 g | 340 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, ready-to-heat | 250 g333 kcal | 133 kcal | 5.9 g | 4.6 g | 2.6 g | 299 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and poultry, ready-to-heat | 250 g318 kcal | 127 kcal | 6 g | 3.9 g | 2.7 g | 335 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and seafood, ready-to-heat | 250 g305 kcal | 122 kcal | 5.6 g | 3.4 g | 2.7 g | 346 mg |
| Pasta with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat | 250 g348 kcal | 139 kcal | 5.7 g | 4.3 g | 1.6 g | 335 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables, ready-to-heat | 250 g285 kcal | 114 kcal | 3.8 g | 3.3 g | 2.8 g | 294 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708887: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708887, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
335 kcal
250 g
570 kcal
425 g
285 kcal
213 g
228 kcal
170 g
551 kcal
411 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708887, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
840 mg≈ 37% Daily ValueDietary fiber
6.8 g≈ 24% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708887’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708887 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 14.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708887 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 335 kcal 134 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 14.6 g 5.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 45.8 g 18.3 g | 17% 7% |
| Total fat | 11.8 g 4.7 g | 15% 6% |
| Dietary fiber | 6.8 g 2.7 g | 24% 10% |
| Sugars | 6.2 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 840 mg 336 mg | 37% 15% |
| Saturated fat | 2.5 g 1 g | 13% 5% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.2 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.1 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 20 mg 8 mg | 7% 3% |
| Potassium | 492.5 mg 197 mg | 10% 4% |
| Calcium | 47.5 mg 19 mg | 4% 1% |
| Iron | 3.5 mg 1.4 mg | 19% 8% |
| Magnesium | 90 mg 36 mg | 21% 9% |
| Vitamin C | 2 mg 0.8 mg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 32.5 µg 13 µg | 4% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 174.5 g 69.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708887, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708887 to 4 source inputs totaling 276 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program), Spaghetti sauce with meat, Vegetable oil, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
276 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 20125 · encyclopedia page available | 140 GM | 140 g | 50.7% |
| 2 | Spaghetti sauce with meatUSDA ingredient 27162040 · encyclopedia page available | 130 GM | 130 g | 47.1% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 1.8% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 0.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708887, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 134 kcal | 133 kcal | +1 kcal |
| Protein | 5.8 g | 5.9 g | −0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 18.3 g | 18.1 g | +0.2 g |
| Total fat | 4.7 g | 4.6 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.7 g | 2.6 g | +0.1 g |
| Sodium | 336 mg | 299 mg | +37 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists Spaghetti sauce with meat. Only the comparison record lists Spaghetti sauce with meat and added vegetables. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pasta, whole-wheat, cooked (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program); Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Spaghetti sauce with meat.
Listed only in the comparison: Spaghetti sauce with meat and added vegetables.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708887 with FDC 2708890 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708887 versus FDC 2708890 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 3 guides place “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708887 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708887 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 134 kcal per 100 g becomes 335 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708887
FNDDS food code: 58146623
The scaling for FDC 2708887 can be exact while the match to “Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and meat, ready-to-heat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.