Energy
lower quarter119 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 298 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese
Quick facts
1 cup · 250 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g
298calories
Pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 298 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 119 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 9.4 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 1,008 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve, representing 60.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708826: “Pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708826, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 187.5 g | 223 kcal | 7 g | 3.2 g | 756 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 298 kcal | 9.4 g | 4.3 g | 1,008 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 312.5 g | 372 kcal | 11.7 g | 5.3 g | 1,259 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708826’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter119 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter3.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter403 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708826’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber4.3 g
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron2 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,008 mg
≈ 44% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.2 g
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708825 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 187.5–312.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 223 kcal and 372 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.9 g more dietary fiber than “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, cheese and meat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 5 input rows; Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve supplies 60.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese” fits. Inspect FDC 2708825 when “cheese and meat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese | 250 g298 kcal | 119 kcal | 3.7 g | 4.8 g | 1.7 g | 403 mg |
| Pasta with tomato-based sauce, cheese and meat | 250 g368 kcal | 147 kcal | 7.6 g | 7.1 g | 0.8 g | 325 mg |
| Pasta with tomato-based sauce, restaurant | 250 g400 kcal | 160 kcal | 3.4 g | 8 g | 1.7 g | 387 mg |
| Pasta with tomato-based sauce, ready-to-heat | 250 g300 kcal | 120 kcal | 3.6 g | 3 g | 1.8 g | 338 mg |
| Pasta with tomato-based sauce and beans or lentils | 227 g284 kcal | 125 kcal | 5.2 g | 2.3 g | 3 g | 250 mg |
| Pasta with tomato-based sauce, home recipe | 250 g265 kcal | 106 kcal | 3.7 g | 1.2 g | 1.8 g | 202 mg |
| Pasta with tomato-based sauce and seafood, restaurant | 250 g415 kcal | 166 kcal | 5.2 g | 8 g | 1.5 g | 393 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708826: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708826, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
298 kcal
250 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708826, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
1,007.5 mg≈ 44% Daily ValueSaturated fat
3.2 g≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708826’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708826 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 9.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708826 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 298 kcal 119 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 9.4 g 3.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 37.5 g 15 g | 14% 5% |
| Total fat | 12.1 g 4.8 g | 15% 6% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.3 g 1.7 g | 15% 6% |
| Sugars | 8.9 g 3.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,007.5 mg 403 mg | 44% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 3.2 g 1.3 g | 16% 6% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.8 g 1.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.2 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 15 mg 6 mg | 5% 2% |
| Potassium | 530 mg 212 mg | 11% 5% |
| Calcium | 125 mg 50 mg | 10% 4% |
| Iron | 2.3 mg 0.9 mg | 13% 5% |
| Magnesium | 45 mg 18 mg | 11% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 3 mg 1.2 mg | 3% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 82.5 µg 33 µg | 9% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 187.3 g 74.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708826, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708826 to 5 source inputs totaling 1,300.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve, Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, Cheese, cheddar. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,300.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added saltUSDA ingredient 20121 · encyclopedia page available | 420 GM | 420 g | 32.3% |
| 2 | Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6931 · encyclopedia page available | 3 C | 792 g | 60.9% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 TB | 28 g | 2.2% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.67 TS | 4 g | 0.3% |
| 5 | Cheese, cheddarUSDA ingredient 1009 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 CP | 56.5 g | 4.3% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708826, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 119 kcal | 147 kcal | −28 kcal |
| Protein | 3.7 g | 7.6 g | −3.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 15 g | 13.3 g | +1.7 g |
| Total fat | 4.8 g | 7.1 g | −2.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.7 g | 0.8 g | +0.9 g |
| Sodium | 403 mg | 325 mg | +78 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 28 less calories, 3.9 g less protein, and 2.3 g less total fat than “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, cheese and meat.”
Only this record lists Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve; Cheese, cheddar. Only the comparison record lists Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cheese, ricotta, whole milk. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Sauce, pasta, spaghetti/marinara, ready-to-serve; Cheese, cheddar.
Listed only in the comparison: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cheese, ricotta, whole milk; and 7 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708826 with FDC 2708825 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708826 versus FDC 2708825 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708826 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 119 kcal per 100 g becomes 298 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708826
FNDDS food code: 58146150
The scaling for FDC 2708826 can be exact while the match to “Pasta with tomato-based sauce and cheese” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.