Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Peanuts, chocolate covered candy calories: 306 per 1 pouch (55 g)

This exact USDA record reports 306 calories for 1 pouch (55 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 pouch · 55 g

Calories
306 kcal
Protein
7.9 g
Carbohydrate
24.3 g
Total fat
20.7 g
Fiber
3 g
Sodium
28 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 pouch/regular size · 55 g

306calories

Peanuts, chocolate covered candy

Protein
7.9 g
Carbs
24.3 g
Fat
20.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710356

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 306 calories for 1 pouch at 55 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 556 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 7.9 g protein, 3 g fiber, and 28 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is candies, milk chocolate, representing 60% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 pouch at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 22–890 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710356: “Peanuts, chocolate covered candy.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710356, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 piece” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure 4 g 22 kcal 0.6 g 0.2 g 2 mg
1 pouch/regular sizeUSDA-listed household measure 55 g 306 kcal 7.9 g 3 g 28 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 160 g 890 kcal 22.9 g 8.6 g 80 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Candy containing chocolate

The comparison set contains 17 exact records in the Candy containing chocolate USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2710356’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

556 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
500 kcal
Middle 50%
483–535 kcal

Based on 17 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

14.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
6.5 g
Middle 50%
5.1–7.8 g

Based on 17 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

5.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.2–4.1 g

Based on 17 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

50 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
86 mg
Middle 50%
50–138 mg

Based on 17 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710356’s 55 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium60 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber3 g

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat7.8 g

≈ 39% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium28 mg

≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Peanuts, chocolate covered candy,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710330 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 piece to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 4 g and 160 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 22 kcal to 890 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710330

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.3 g more protein than “Chocolate candy with nuts.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Candies, milk chocolate

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Candies, milk chocolate supplies 60% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “chocolate covered candy” fits. Inspect FDC 2710330 when the exact wording “Chocolate candy with nuts” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Peanuts, chocolate covered candy

Exact source wording
“Peanuts, chocolate covered candy”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710356 · FNDDS 91731000
Named qualifiers
chocolate covered candy

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Chocolate candy with nuts

Exact source wording
“Chocolate candy with nuts”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710330 · FNDDS 91705015

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate covered candy”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPeanuts, chocolate covered candy 55 g306 kcal 556 kcal 14.3 g 37.7 g 5.4 g 50 mg
Chocolate candy 45 g241 kcal 535 kcal 7.7 g 29.7 g 3.4 g 79 mg
Dark chocolate candy 45 g248 kcal 550 kcal 5.1 g 32.2 g 7.2 g 23 mg
Chocolate candy with nuts 45 g245 kcal 545 kcal 11 g 33.7 g 4.4 g 64 mg
Chocolate candy with cereal 45 g230 kcal 511 kcal 7.6 g 29.4 g 3.3 g 86 mg
Dark chocolate candy with nuts 45 g252 kcal 560 kcal 8.3 g 36.3 g 7.9 g 19 mg
Chocolate candy, candy shell 45 g221 kcal 492 kcal 4.3 g 21.1 g 2.8 g 61 mg

How to compare FDC 2710356: its source amount is 55 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710356, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 piece

22 kcal

4 g

1 fun/snack size

83 kcal

15 g

1 pouch/regular size

306 kcal

55 g

1 cup

890 kcal

160 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710356, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

7.8 g≈ 39% Daily Value

Total fat

20.7 g≈ 27% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710356’s 55 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2710356 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 7.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2710356 at 55 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 3 g dietary fiber, about 11% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 55 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 306 kcal Not established
Protein 7.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 24.3 g 9%
Total fat 20.7 g 27%
Dietary fiber 3 g 11%
Sugars 18.1 g Not established
Sodium 27.5 mg 1%
Saturated fat 7.8 g 39%
Monounsaturated Fat 8.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 7.7 mg 3%
Potassium 262.4 mg 6%
Calcium 75.4 mg 6%
Iron 1.1 mg 6%
Magnesium 60 mg 14%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 19.3 µg 2%
Caffeine 6.6 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0.9 g Not established

For FDC 2710356, approximate percentages divide the displayed 55 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710356 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Peanuts, chocolate covered candy” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Candies, milk chocolate, Peanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without salt. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Candies, milk chocolateUSDA ingredient 19120 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 60%
2 Peanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without saltUSDA ingredient 16390 · encyclopedia page available 40 GM 40 g 40%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710356, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Candy containing chocolate” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories556 kcal545 kcal+11 kcal
Protein14.3 g11 g+3.3 g
Carbohydrate44.1 g51.8 g−7.7 g
Total fat37.7 g33.7 g+4 g
Dietary fiber5.4 g4.4 g+1 g
Sodium50 mg64 mg−14 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.3 g more protein, 7.7 g less carbohydrate, and 4 g more total fat than “Chocolate candy with nuts.”

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Candies, milk chocolate; Peanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without salt.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 55 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (55 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 45 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 pouch (45 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710356 with FDC 2710330 at equal mass; use their 55 g and 45 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710356 versus FDC 2710330 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full candy containing chocolate source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Peanuts, chocolate covered candy,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710356 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 556 kcal per 100 g becomes 306 kcal at 55 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 pouch has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710356

FNDDS food code: 91731000

The scaling for FDC 2710356 can be exact while the match to “Peanuts, chocolate covered candy” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 55 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.