Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Pie, pumpkin calories: 374 per 1 regular slice (150 g)

This exact USDA record reports 374 calories for 1 regular slice (150 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 regular slice · 150 g

Calories
374 kcal
Protein
7.1 g
Carbohydrate
54.5 g
Total fat
14.7 g
Fiber
2.6 g
Sodium
378 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 regular slice · 150 g

374calories

Pie, pumpkin

Protein
7.1 g
Carbs
54.4 g
Fat
14.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708011

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 374 calories for 1 regular slice at 150 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 249 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 7.1 g protein, 2.6 g fiber, and 378 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pumpkin, canned, without salt, representing 36.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 47–4,980 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708011: “Pie, pumpkin.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708011, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 surface inch” through “1 large pie (10" dia plus)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 surface inchUSDA-listed household measure 18.9 g 47 kcal 0.9 g 0.3 g 48 mg
1 regular sliceUSDA-listed household measure 150 g 374 kcal 7.1 g 2.6 g 378 mg
1 large pie (10" dia plus)USDA-listed household measure 2,000 g 4,980 kcal 95.2 g 34 g 5,040 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cakes and pies

The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708011’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

249 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
322 kcal
Middle 50%
285–368 kcal

Based on 65 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

4.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.6–4.8 g

Based on 65 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.7–1.9 g

Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

252 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
280 mg
Middle 50%
214–313 mg

Based on 65 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708011’s 150 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A490.5 µg

≈ 55% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium137 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat6.2 g

≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium378 mg

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pie, pumpkin,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708015 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 surface inch to 1 large pie (10" dia plus)

    USDA assigns those measures 18.9 g and 2,000 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 47 kcal to 4,980 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708015

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 15.4 g less total fat than “Pie, pecan.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Pumpkin, canned, without salt

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Pumpkin, canned, without salt supplies 36.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “pumpkin” fits. Inspect FDC 2708015 when “pecan” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pie, pumpkin

Exact source wording
“Pie, pumpkin”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708011 · FNDDS 53347000
Named qualifiers
pumpkin
Source inputs unique in this pair
Milk, canned, condensed, sweetened · Pumpkin, canned, without salt

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pie, pecan

Exact source wording
“Pie, pecan”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708015 · FNDDS 53385000
Named qualifiers
pecan
Source inputs unique in this pair
Nuts, pecans, halves, raw

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “pumpkin”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPie, pumpkin 150 g374 kcal 249 kcal 4.8 g 9.8 g 1.7 g 252 mg
Pie, lemon 150 g420 kcal 280 kcal 2.4 g 16.2 g 0.7 g 169 mg
Pie, custard 150 g315 kcal 210 kcal 5.5 g 11.6 g 1.6 g 275 mg
Pie, strawberry 150 g434 kcal 289 kcal 2.9 g 11.6 g 2.2 g 189 mg
Pie, apple 150 g444 kcal 296 kcal 2.7 g 15.3 g 1.8 g 217 mg
Pie, peach 150 g444 kcal 296 kcal 2.8 g 15.3 g 1.9 g 219 mg
Pie, blueberry 150 g450 kcal 300 kcal 2.8 g 15.5 g 2.5 g 217 mg

How to compare FDC 2708011: its source amount is 150 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708011, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 mini/small slice

187 kcal

75 g

1 regular slice

374 kcal

150 g

1 large slice

623 kcal

250 g

1 individual pie

374 kcal

150 g

1 cup

623 kcal

250 g

1 regular pie (8-9" dia)

2,988 kcal

1,200 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708011, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin A

490.5 µg≈ 55% Daily Value

Saturated fat

6.2 g≈ 31% Daily Value

Cholesterol

70.5 mg≈ 24% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708011’s 150 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708011 at 150 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 378 mg sodium, about 16% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 150 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 374 kcal Not established
Protein 7.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 54.5 g 20%
Total fat 14.7 g 19%
Dietary fiber 2.6 g 9%
Sugars 36.9 g Not established
Sodium 378 mg 16%
Saturated fat 6.2 g 31%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 70.5 mg 24%
Potassium 306 mg 7%
Calcium 136.5 mg 11%
Iron 1.9 mg 10%
Magnesium 28.5 mg 7%
Vitamin C 3.3 mg 4%
Vitamin D 0.5 µg 2%
Vitamin A 490.5 µg 55%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 71.7 g Not established

For FDC 2708011, approximate percentages divide the displayed 150 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708011 to 7 source inputs totaling 1,168.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pie, pumpkin” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pumpkin, canned, without salt, Milk, canned, condensed, sweetened, Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

1,168.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, bakedUSDA ingredient 18335 · encyclopedia page available 225 GM 225 g 19.3%
2 Milk, canned, condensed, sweetenedUSDA ingredient 1095 · encyclopedia page available 300 GM 300 g 25.7%
3 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 8.6%
4 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 3.5 GM 3.5 g 0.3%
5 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 8.6%
6 Butter, stick, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 1145 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 1.3%
7 Pumpkin, canned, without saltUSDA ingredient 11424 · encyclopedia page available 425 GM 425 g 36.4%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708011, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories249 kcal449 kcal−200 kcal
Protein4.8 g6 g−1.3 g
Carbohydrate36.3 g49.5 g−13.2 g
Total fat9.8 g25.2 g−15.4 g
Dietary fiber1.7 g1.9 g−0.2 g
Sodium252 mg299 mg−47 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 200 less calories, 1.3 g less protein, and 13.2 g less carbohydrate than “Pie, pecan.”

Only this record lists Milk, canned, condensed, sweetened; Pumpkin, canned, without salt. Only the comparison record lists Nuts, pecans, halves, raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Pie crust, standard-type, frozen, ready-to-bake, enriched, baked; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Salt, table; Sugars, granulated; and 1 more.

Listed only in this record: Milk, canned, condensed, sweetened; Pumpkin, canned, without salt.

Listed only in the comparison: Nuts, pecans, halves, raw.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 150 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular slice (150 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 150 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular slice (150 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708011 with FDC 2708015 at equal mass; use their 150 g and 150 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708011 versus FDC 2708015 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Pie, pumpkin,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708011 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 249 kcal per 100 g becomes 374 kcal at 150 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708011

FNDDS food code: 53347000

The scaling for FDC 2708011 can be exact while the match to “Pie, pumpkin” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 150 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.