Vegetablesmoderate variability

Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, with butter calories: 209 per 1 medium (170 g)

This exact USDA record reports 209 calories for 1 medium (170 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter

Quick facts

1 medium · 170 g

Calories
209 kcal
Protein
3.2 g
Carbohydrate
34.7 g
Total fat
6.8 g
Fiber
2.4 g
Sodium
299 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium · 170 g

209calories

Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter

Protein
3.2 g
Carbs
34.7 g
Fat
6.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709413

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 209 calories for 1 medium at 170 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 123 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3.2 g protein, 2.4 g fiber, and 299 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, representing 94.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 74–369 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709413: “Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709413, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 baby potato” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 baby potatoUSDA-listed household measure 60 g 74 kcal 1.1 g 0.8 g 106 mg
1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure 170 g 209 kcal 3.2 g 2.4 g 299 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 300 g 369 kcal 5.7 g 4.2 g 528 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside White potatoes, baked or boiled

The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the White potatoes, baked or boiled USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709413’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

123 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
125 kcal
Middle 50%
116–131 kcal

Based on 34 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

1.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
1.9–2.5 g

Based on 34 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.7 g
Middle 50%
1.4–2.1 g

Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

176 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
185 mg
Middle 50%
165–217 mg

Based on 34 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709413’s 170 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C21 mg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium632 mg

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat3.7 g

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium299 mg

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709391 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 baby potato to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 60 g and 300 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 74 kcal to 369 kcal.

  2. 02

    Source identity: FDC 2709413 versus 2709391

    The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt supplies 94.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2709413 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter

Exact source wording
“Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709413 · FNDDS 71104140
Named qualifiers
roasted · from fresh · peel not eaten · made with butter

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter

Exact source wording
“Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709391 · FNDDS 71103040
Named qualifiers
boiled · from fresh · peel not eaten · made with butter

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “roasted”, “from fresh”, “peel not eaten”, and “made with butter”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPotato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter 170 g209 kcal 123 kcal 1.9 g 4 g 1.4 g 176 mg
Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel eaten, made with butter 170 g209 kcal 123 kcal 2.4 g 4 g 2.1 g 181 mg
Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter 170 g209 kcal 123 kcal 1.9 g 4 g 1.4 g 176 mg
Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel eaten, made with butter 170 g209 kcal 123 kcal 2.4 g 4 g 2.1 g 181 mg
Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel eaten, made with margarine 170 g197 kcal 116 kcal 2.4 g 3.2 g 2.1 g 189 mg
Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with margarine 170 g197 kcal 116 kcal 1.9 g 3.2 g 1.4 g 185 mg
Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel eaten, made with oil 170 g223 kcal 131 kcal 2.4 g 4.9 g 2.1 g 156 mg

How to compare FDC 2709413: its source amount is 170 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709413, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 baby potato

74 kcal

60 g

1 new potato

74 kcal

60 g

1 small

160 kcal

130 g

1 medium

209 kcal

170 g

1 large

369 kcal

300 g

1 cup

197 kcal

160 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709413, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin C

20.6 mg≈ 23% Daily Value

Saturated fat

3.7 g≈ 19% Daily Value

Potassium

632.4 mg≈ 14% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709413’s 170 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2709413 at 170 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 299 mg sodium, about 13% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 170 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 209 kcal Not established
Protein 3.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 34.7 g 13%
Total fat 6.8 g 9%
Dietary fiber 2.4 g 9%
Sugars 2.8 g Not established
Sodium 299.2 mg 13%
Saturated fat 3.7 g 19%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 18.7 mg 6%
Potassium 632.4 mg 13%
Calcium 10.2 mg 1%
Iron 0.6 mg 3%
Magnesium 40.8 mg 10%
Vitamin C 20.6 mg 23%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 61.2 µg 7%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 122.9 g Not established

For FDC 2709413, approximate percentages divide the displayed 170 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709413 to 3 source inputs totaling 105.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, Butter, stick, salted, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

105.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Potatoes, baked, flesh, without saltUSDA ingredient 11363 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 94.9%
2 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.4%
3 Butter, stick, saltedUSDA ingredient 1001 · encyclopedia page available 5 GM 5 g 4.7%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709413, the close-record rule searches the USDA “White potatoes, baked or boiled” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter

USDA category
White potatoes, baked or boiled
FDC ID
2709413
FNDDS code
71104140

Source-equivalent fields

Different source identities, matching published reference fields

Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2709413 and FDC 2709391 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.

Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709413 versus FDC 2709391 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full white potatoes, baked or boiled source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.

For “Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    raw versus cooked weight

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    added fat or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709413 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 123 kcal per 100 g becomes 209 kcal at 170 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709413

FNDDS food code: 71104140

The scaling for FDC 2709413 can be exact while the match to “Potato, roasted, from fresh, peel not eaten, made with butter” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 170 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.