Energy
lower quarter337 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 370 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 340–388 kcal
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 404 calories for 1 medium/regular (120 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium/regular · 120 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium/regular · 120 g
404calories
Pretzels, soft, multigrain
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 404 calories for 1 medium/regular at 120 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 337 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 10.2 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 594 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pretzels, soft, unsalted, representing 94.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium/regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 47–495 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708286: “Pretzels, soft, multigrain.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708286, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 bite size/nugget” through “1 cup, nuggets” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bite size/nuggetUSDA-listed household measure | 14 g | 47 kcal | 1.2 g | 0.5 g | 69 mg |
| 1 medium/regularUSDA-listed household measure | 120 g | 404 kcal | 10.2 g | 4.3 g | 594 mg |
| 1 cup, nuggetsUSDA-listed household measure | 147 g | 495 kcal | 12.5 g | 5.3 g | 728 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 37 exact records in the Pretzels/snack mix USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708286’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter337 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half8.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter3.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half495 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708286’s 120 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron5 mg
≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber4.3 g
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium594 mg
≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.8 g
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pretzels, soft, multigrain,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708278 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 14 g and 147 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 47 kcal to 495 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.9 g more dietary fiber than “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, salted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Pretzels, soft, unsalted supplies 94.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “soft; multigrain” fits. Inspect FDC 2708278 when “soft; from frozen; salted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “soft” and “multigrain”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPretzels, soft, multigrain | 120 g404 kcal | 337 kcal | 8.5 g | 3.1 g | 3.6 g | 495 mg |
| Pretzels, hard, multigrain | 28 g107 kcal | 381 kcal | 10.2 g | 3 g | 4.2 g | 1,100 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, filled with cheese | 99 g336 kcal | 339 kcal | 10.2 g | 5.4 g | 1.5 g | 310 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, from school lunch | 71 g241 kcal | 339 kcal | 8.6 g | 3.2 g | 3.7 g | 240 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, from frozen, salted | 71 g241 kcal | 340 kcal | 8.1 g | 3.1 g | 1.7 g | 783 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, from frozen, unsalted | 71 g245 kcal | 345 kcal | 8.2 g | 3.1 g | 1.7 g | 252 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, gluten free | 95 g282 kcal | 297 kcal | 4 g | 5.7 g | 4 g | 839 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708286: its source amount is 120 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708286, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
209 kcal
62 g
404 kcal
120 g
482 kcal
143 g
47 kcal
14 g
71 kcal
21 g
404 kcal
120 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708286, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
84.4 g≈ 31% Daily ValueIron
5.1 mg≈ 28% Daily ValueSodium
594 mg≈ 26% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708286’s 120 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708286 at 120 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 120 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 404 kcal 337 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 10.2 g 8.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 84.4 g 70.3 g | 31% 26% |
| Total fat | 3.8 g 3.1 g | 5% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.3 g 3.6 g | 15% 13% |
| Sugars | 0.3 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 594 mg 495 mg | 26% 22% |
| Saturated fat | 0.8 g 0.7 g | 4% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.2 g 1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.2 g 1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 166.8 mg 139 mg | 4% 3% |
| Calcium | 31.2 mg 26 mg | 2% 2% |
| Iron | 5.1 mg 4.2 mg | 28% 23% |
| Magnesium | 58.8 mg 49 mg | 14% 12% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 17.6 g 14.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708286, approximate percentages divide the displayed 120 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708286 to 3 source inputs totaling 105.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pretzels, soft, multigrain” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pretzels, soft, unsalted, Wheat bran, crude, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
105.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pretzels, soft, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 25024 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 94.6% |
| 2 | Wheat bran, crudeUSDA ingredient 20077 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 4.7% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.7 GM | 0.7 g | 0.7% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708286, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pretzels/snack mix” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 337 kcal | 340 kcal | −3 kcal |
| Protein | 8.5 g | 8.1 g | +0.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 70.3 g | 70.1 g | +0.2 g |
| Total fat | 3.1 g | 3.1 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.6 g | 1.7 g | +1.9 g |
| Sodium | 495 mg | 783 mg | −288 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.9 g more dietary fiber and 288 mg less sodium than “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, salted.”
Only this record lists Wheat bran, crude. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pretzels, soft, unsalted; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Wheat bran, crude.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium/regular (120 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 71 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium/regular (71 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708286 with FDC 2708278 at equal mass; use their 120 g and 71 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708286 versus FDC 2708278 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pretzels/snack mix source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Pretzels, soft, multigrain” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708286 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Pretzels, soft, multigrain,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708286 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 337 kcal per 100 g becomes 404 kcal at 120 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium/regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708286
FNDDS food code: 54408480
The scaling for FDC 2708286 can be exact while the match to “Pretzels, soft, multigrain” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 120 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.