Energy
lower quarter98 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 154 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 125–177 kcal
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 245 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 250 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g
245calories
Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 245 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 98 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 10 g protein, 3 g fiber, and 615 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ravioli, cheese with tomato sauce, frozen, not prepared, includes regular and light entrees, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 37–245 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708768: “Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708768, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 piece” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure | 38 g | 37 kcal | 1.5 g | 0.5 g | 93 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 187.5 g | 184 kcal | 7.5 g | 2.3 g | 461 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 250 g | 245 kcal | 10 g | 3 g | 615 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708768’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter98 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half246 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 169 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708768’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium173 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron2 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium615 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.6 g
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708769 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 38 g and 250 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 37 kcal to 245 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.5 g more protein than “Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, canned.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “cheese-filled; with tomato sauce” fits. Inspect FDC 2708769 when “cheese-filled; with tomato sauce; canned” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cheese-filled” and “with tomato sauce”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordRavioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce | 250 g245 kcal | 98 kcal | 4 g | 2.3 g | 1.2 g | 246 mg |
| Ravioli, cheese and spinach filled, with tomato sauce | 250 g293 kcal | 117 kcal | 5.2 g | 3.4 g | 1.2 g | 535 mg |
| Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, canned | 246 g189 kcal | 77 kcal | 2.5 g | 1.5 g | 1.3 g | 306 mg |
| Ravioli, cheese-filled, no sauce | 160 g277 kcal | 173 kcal | 7.4 g | 6.3 g | 0.7 g | 646 mg |
| Ravioli, cheese-filled, with meat sauce | 250 g343 kcal | 137 kcal | 6.4 g | 6.1 g | 0.8 g | 598 mg |
| Ravioli, meat-filled, with tomato sauce or meat sauce | 250 g370 kcal | 148 kcal | 8.7 g | 6.3 g | 1 g | 593 mg |
| Ravioli, cheese and spinach-filled, no sauce | 160 g240 kcal | 150 kcal | 6.6 g | 4.5 g | 1 g | 528 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708768: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708768, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
37 kcal
38 g
245 kcal
250 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708768, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
615 mg≈ 27% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
38 g≈ 14% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708768’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708768 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 10 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708768 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 245 kcal 98 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 10 g 4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 38 g 15.2 g | 14% 6% |
| Total fat | 5.8 g 2.3 g | 7% 3% |
| Dietary fiber | 3 g 1.2 g | 11% 4% |
| Sugars | 9 g 3.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 615 mg 246 mg | 27% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 2.6 g 1.1 g | 13% 5% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.5 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.9 g 0.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 25 mg 10 mg | 8% 3% |
| Potassium | 512.5 mg 205 mg | 11% 4% |
| Calcium | 172.5 mg 69 mg | 13% 5% |
| Iron | 2.1 mg 0.8 mg | 11% 5% |
| Magnesium | 45 mg 18 mg | 11% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 6.3 mg 2.5 mg | 7% 3% |
| Vitamin D | 0.3 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 77.5 µg 31 µg | 9% 3% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 193.5 g 77.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708768, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708768 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Ravioli, cheese with tomato sauce, frozen, not prepared, includes regular and light entrees is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ravioli, cheese with tomato sauce, frozen, not prepared, includes regular and light entreesUSDA ingredient 22976 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708768, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 98 kcal | 77 kcal | +21 kcal |
| Protein | 4 g | 2.5 g | +1.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 15.2 g | 13.6 g | +1.6 g |
| Total fat | 2.3 g | 1.5 g | +0.9 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 1.3 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 246 mg | 306 mg | −60 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 21 more calories, 1.5 g more protein, and 60 mg less sodium than “Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce, canned.”
Only this record lists Ravioli, cheese with tomato sauce, frozen, not prepared, includes regular and light entrees. Only the comparison record lists Ravioli, cheese-filled, canned. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Ravioli, cheese with tomato sauce, frozen, not prepared, includes regular and light entrees.
Listed only in the comparison: Ravioli, cheese-filled, canned.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 246 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (246 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708768 with FDC 2708769 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 246 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708768 versus FDC 2708769 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708768 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708768 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 98 kcal per 100 g becomes 245 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708768
FNDDS food code: 58131520
The scaling for FDC 2708768 can be exact while the match to “Ravioli, cheese-filled, with tomato sauce” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.