Soups & stewshigher variability

Soup, chicken noodle, canned calories: 103 per 1 cup (245 g)

This exact USDA record reports 103 calories for 1 cup (245 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 245 g

Calories
103 kcal
Protein
5.8 g
Carbohydrate
14.7 g
Total fat
2.4 g
Fiber
2 g
Sodium
654 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 245 g

103calories

Soup, chicken noodle, canned

Protein
5.8 g
Carbs
14.7 g
Fat
2.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709148

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 103 calories for 1 cup at 245 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 42 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 5.8 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 654 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 49.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 103–221 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709148: “Soup, chicken noodle, canned.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709148, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cup” through “1 can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 245 g 103 kcal 5.8 g 2 g 654 mg
1 individual containerUSDA-listed household measure 440 g 185 kcal 10.5 g 3.5 g 1,175 mg
1 canUSDA-listed household measure 525 g 221 kcal 12.5 g 4.2 g 1,402 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Soups, broth-based

The comparison set contains 45 exact records in the Soups, broth-based USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709148’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

42 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
47 kcal
Middle 50%
35–61 kcal

Based on 45 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

2.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.6 g
Middle 50%
1.7–3.6 g

Based on 45 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.8–1.5 g

Based on 45 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

267 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
249 mg
Middle 50%
244–264 mg

Based on 45 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709148’s 245 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A117.6 µg

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin C7 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium654 mg

≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.5 g

≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Soup, chicken noodle, canned,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707133 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cup to 1 can

    USDA assigns those measures 245 g and 525 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 103 kcal to 221 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707133

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.3 g more total fat than “Soup, chicken, canned.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 49.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “chicken noodle; canned” fits. Inspect FDC 2707133 when “chicken; canned” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Soup, chicken noodle, canned

Exact source wording
“Soup, chicken noodle, canned”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709148 · FNDDS 58403010
Named qualifiers
chicken noodle · canned
Source inputs unique in this pair
Noodles, egg, enriched, cooked

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Soup, chicken, canned

Exact source wording
“Soup, chicken, canned”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707133 · FNDDS 28340600
Named qualifiers
chicken · canned
Source inputs unique in this pair
Potato, cooked, as ingredient

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chicken noodle” and “canned”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordSoup, chicken noodle, canned 245 g103 kcal 42 kcal 2.4 g 1 g 0.8 g 267 mg
Soup, chicken, canned 245 g81 kcal 33 kcal 2 g 0.7 g 0.9 g 266 mg
Soup, chicken noodle 245 g130 kcal 53 kcal 3.8 g 1.4 g 0.7 g 248 mg
Soup, chicken 245 g98 kcal 40 kcal 3.4 g 1.1 g 0.8 g 249 mg
Soup, chicken, canned, reduced sodium 245 g83 kcal 34 kcal 2 g 0.7 g 0.9 g 190 mg
Soup, lentil, canned 255 g110 kcal 43 kcal 2.5 g 0.6 g 2.5 g 264 mg
Soup, vegetable, canned 245 g93 kcal 38 kcal 1.1 g 0.4 g 1.2 g 260 mg

How to compare FDC 2709148: its source amount is 245 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709148, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

103 kcal

245 g

1 can

221 kcal

525 g

1 individual container

185 kcal

440 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709148, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

654.2 mg≈ 28% Daily Value

Vitamin A

117.6 µg≈ 13% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709148’s 245 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2709148 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 5.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2709148 at 245 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 654 mg sodium, about 28% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 245 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 103 kcal Not established
Protein 5.8 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 14.7 g 5%
Total fat 2.4 g 3%
Dietary fiber 2 g 7%
Sugars 2.9 g Not established
Sodium 654.2 mg 28%
Saturated fat 0.5 g 3%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.7 g Not established
Cholesterol 24.5 mg 8%
Potassium 235.2 mg 5%
Calcium 29.4 mg 2%
Iron 0.8 mg 4%
Magnesium 22.1 mg 5%
Vitamin C 6.6 mg 7%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 117.6 µg 13%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 219.8 g Not established

For FDC 2709148, approximate percentages divide the displayed 245 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709148 to 7 source inputs totaling 201.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, chicken noodle, canned” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient, Noodles, egg, enriched, cooked. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

201.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 49.6%
2 Tomatoes, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997410 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 9.9%
3 Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997805 · encyclopedia page available 40 GM 40 g 19.8%
4 Noodles, egg, enriched, cookedUSDA ingredient 20110 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 14.9%
5 Chicken as ingredient in recipesUSDA ingredient 99992405 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 5%
6 Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 GM 0.5 g 0.2%
7 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1.3 GM 1.3 g 0.6%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709148, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soups, broth-based” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories42 kcal33 kcal+9 kcal
Protein2.4 g2 g+0.4 g
Carbohydrate6 g4.9 g+1.2 g
Total fat1 g0.7 g+0.3 g
Dietary fiber0.8 g0.9 g−0.1 g
Sodium267 mg266 mg+1 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Noodles, egg, enriched, cooked. Only the comparison record lists Potato, cooked, as ingredient. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Tomatoes, cooked, as ingredient; Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Chicken as ingredient in recipes; and 2 more.

Listed only in this record: Noodles, egg, enriched, cooked.

Listed only in the comparison: Potato, cooked, as ingredient.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709148 with FDC 2707133 at equal mass; use their 245 g and 245 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709148 versus FDC 2707133 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full soups, broth-based source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.

For “Soup, chicken noodle, canned,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    bowl size

    Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  2. 02

    solid-to-broth ratio

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  3. 03

    recipe

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added cream, oil, or toppings

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709148 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 42 kcal per 100 g becomes 103 kcal at 245 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709148

FNDDS food code: 58403010

The scaling for FDC 2709148 can be exact while the match to “Soup, chicken noodle, canned” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 245 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.