Soups & stewshigher variability

Soup, peanut calories: 216 per 1 cup (245 g)

This exact USDA record reports 216 calories for 1 cup (245 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 245 g

Calories
216 kcal
Protein
7.9 g
Carbohydrate
20.5 g
Total fat
13 g
Fiber
4.2 g
Sodium
603 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 245 g

216calories

Soup, peanut

Protein
7.9 g
Carbs
20.5 g
Fat
13 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707547

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 216 calories for 1 cup at 245 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 88 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 7.9 g protein, 4.2 g fiber, and 603 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is vegetables as ingredient in soups, representing 49.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707547: “Soup, peanut.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707547, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 183.8 g 162 kcal 6 g 3.1 g 452 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 245 g 216 kcal 7.9 g 4.2 g 603 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 306.3 g 270 kcal 9.9 g 5.2 g 753 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Soups, cream-based

The comparison set contains 13 exact records in the Soups, cream-based USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707547’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

88 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
88 kcal
Middle 50%
75–91 kcal

Based on 13 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

3.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
1.5–3.8 g

Based on 13 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

1.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
1–1.2 g

Based on 13 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

246 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
246 mg
Middle 50%
242–251 mg

Based on 13 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707547’s 245 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C27 mg

≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium74 mg

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium603 mg

≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat2.6 g

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Soup, peanut,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707126 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 245 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 183.8–306.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 162 kcal and 270 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707126

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.8 g more dietary fiber than “Soup, pepperpot.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Vegetables as ingredient in soups

    The source formulation has 5 input rows; Vegetables as ingredient in soups supplies 49.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “peanut” fits. Inspect FDC 2707126 when “pepperpot” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Soup, peanut

Exact source wording
“Soup, peanut”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707547 · FNDDS 42204060
Named qualifiers
peanut
Source inputs unique in this pair
Peanut butter, smooth style, without salt

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Soup, pepperpot

Exact source wording
“Soup, pepperpot”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707126 · FNDDS 28311010
Named qualifiers
pepperpot
Source inputs unique in this pair
Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached · Cream, heavy · Beef, variety meats and by-products, tripe, raw

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “peanut”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordSoup, peanut 245 g216 kcal 88 kcal 3.2 g 5.3 g 1.7 g 246 mg
Soup, potato 255 g230 kcal 90 kcal 1.5 g 4.7 g 1.2 g 240 mg
Soup, pepperpot 245 g223 kcal 91 kcal 3.1 g 5.8 g 0.9 g 251 mg
Soup, bisque 255 g191 kcal 75 kcal 2.3 g 4.8 g 0.9 g 239 mg
Soup, pumpkin 245 g176 kcal 72 kcal 1.1 g 4.7 g 1.5 g 241 mg
Soup, cream of chicken 255 g232 kcal 91 kcal 4 g 5.4 g 0.9 g 251 mg
Soup, broccoli cheese 255 g209 kcal 82 kcal 4.3 g 4.5 g 1.3 g 329 mg

How to compare FDC 2707547: its source amount is 245 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707547, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

216 kcal

245 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707547, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin C

27 mg≈ 30% Daily Value

Sodium

602.7 mg≈ 26% Daily Value

Magnesium

73.5 mg≈ 18% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707547’s 245 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707547 at 245 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 4.2 g dietary fiber, about 15% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 603 mg sodium, about 26% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 245 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 216 kcal Not established
Protein 7.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 20.5 g 7%
Total fat 13 g 17%
Dietary fiber 4.2 g 15%
Sugars 6.4 g Not established
Sodium 602.7 mg 26%
Saturated fat 2.6 g 13%
Monounsaturated Fat 6.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 595.4 mg 13%
Calcium 44.1 mg 3%
Iron 1 mg 6%
Magnesium 73.5 mg 18%
Vitamin C 27 mg 30%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 98 µg 11%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 200.4 g Not established

For FDC 2707547, approximate percentages divide the displayed 245 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707547 to 5 source inputs totaling 100.6 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, peanut” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

5 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Vegetables as ingredient in soups, Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Peanut butter, smooth style, without salt. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.6 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 29.8%
2 Peanut butter, smooth style, without saltUSDA ingredient 16398 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 9.9%
3 Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997805 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 9.9%
4 Vegetables as ingredient in soupsUSDA ingredient 99997815 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 49.7%
5 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.6 GM 0.6 g 0.6%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707547, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soups, cream-based” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories88 kcal91 kcal−3 kcal
Protein3.2 g3.1 g+0.2 g
Carbohydrate8.4 g6.8 g+1.6 g
Total fat5.3 g5.8 g−0.5 g
Dietary fiber1.7 g0.9 g+0.8 g
Sodium246 mg251 mg−5 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 0.8 g more dietary fiber than “Soup, pepperpot.”

Only this record lists Peanut butter, smooth style, without salt. Only the comparison record lists Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cream, heavy; Beef, variety meats and by-products, tripe, raw; Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Vegetables as ingredient in soups; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Peanut butter, smooth style, without salt.

Listed only in the comparison: Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Cream, heavy; Beef, variety meats and by-products, tripe, raw; Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised; and 1 more.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707547 with FDC 2707126 at equal mass; use their 245 g and 245 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707547 versus FDC 2707126 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full soups, cream-based source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.

For “Soup, peanut,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    bowl size

    Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  2. 02

    solid-to-broth ratio

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  3. 03

    recipe

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added cream, oil, or toppings

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707547 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 88 kcal per 100 g becomes 216 kcal at 245 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707547

FNDDS food code: 42204060

The scaling for FDC 2707547 can be exact while the match to “Soup, peanut” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 245 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.