Soups & stewshigher variability

Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo calories: 135 per 1 cup (245 g)

This exact USDA record reports 135 calories for 1 cup (245 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 245 g

Calories
135 kcal
Protein
15.3 g
Carbohydrate
9.9 g
Total fat
3.9 g
Fiber
2 g
Sodium
723 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 245 g

135calories

Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo

Protein
15.3 g
Carbs
9.9 g
Fat
3.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707135

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 135 calories for 1 cup at 245 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 55 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 15.3 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 723 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 39.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707135: “Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707135, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 183.8 g 101 kcal 11.4 g 1.5 g 542 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 245 g 135 kcal 15.3 g 2 g 723 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 306.3 g 168 kcal 19.1 g 2.5 g 903 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Soups, broth-based

The comparison set contains 45 exact records in the Soups, broth-based USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707135’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

55 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
47 kcal
Middle 50%
35–61 kcal

Based on 45 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

6.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.6 g
Middle 50%
1.7–3.6 g

Based on 45 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.8–1.5 g

Based on 45 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

295 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
249 mg
Middle 50%
244–264 mg

Based on 45 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707135’s 245 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C17 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A85.8 µg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium723 mg

≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.1 g

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707128 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 245 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 183.8–306.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 101 kcal and 168 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707128

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.8 g less total fat than “Soup, sopa or caldo de res.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beverages, water, tap, drinking

    The source formulation has 5 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 39.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “sopa or caldo de pollo” fits. Inspect FDC 2707128 when “sopa or caldo de res” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo

Exact source wording
“Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707135 · FNDDS 28340670
Named qualifiers
sopa or caldo de pollo
Source inputs unique in this pair
Chicken as ingredient in recipes

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Soup, sopa or caldo de res

Exact source wording
“Soup, sopa or caldo de res”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707128 · FNDDS 28315140
Named qualifiers
sopa or caldo de res
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beef as ingredient in recipes

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “sopa or caldo de pollo”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordSoup, sopa or caldo de pollo 245 g135 kcal 55 kcal 6.2 g 1.6 g 0.8 g 295 mg
Soup, sopa or caldo de res 245 g174 kcal 71 kcal 5.9 g 3.4 g 0.8 g 294 mg
Soup, sopa de fideo aguada 245 g233 kcal 95 kcal 2.5 g 3.3 g 1.1 g 267 mg
Soup, meatball 245 g127 kcal 52 kcal 2.7 g 2.2 g 0.9 g 285 mg
Soup, barley 245 g142 kcal 58 kcal 3.3 g 2.1 g 1.1 g 247 mg
Soup, rice 245 g125 kcal 51 kcal 3.5 g 1.2 g 0.5 g 247 mg
Soup, lentil 255 g153 kcal 60 kcal 3.8 g 0.7 g 3.7 g 244 mg

How to compare FDC 2707135: its source amount is 245 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707135, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

135 kcal

245 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707135, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

722.8 mg≈ 31% Daily Value

Cholesterol

61.3 mg≈ 20% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707135’s 245 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707135 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 15.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707135 at 245 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 723 mg sodium, about 31% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 245 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 135 kcal Not established
Protein 15.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 9.9 g 4%
Total fat 3.9 g 5%
Dietary fiber 2 g 7%
Sugars 2.7 g Not established
Sodium 722.8 mg 31%
Saturated fat 1.1 g 5%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 61.3 mg 20%
Potassium 443.5 mg 9%
Calcium 29.4 mg 2%
Iron 0.8 mg 4%
Magnesium 34.3 mg 8%
Vitamin C 16.7 mg 19%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 85.8 µg 10%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 213.6 g Not established

For FDC 2707135, approximate percentages divide the displayed 245 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707135 to 5 source inputs totaling 100.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

5 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Vegetables as ingredient in soups, Chicken as ingredient in recipes. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 40 GM 40 g 39.7%
2 Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997805 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 9.9%
3 Vegetables as ingredient in soupsUSDA ingredient 99997815 · encyclopedia page available 30 GM 30 g 29.8%
4 Chicken as ingredient in recipesUSDA ingredient 99992405 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 19.9%
5 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.7 GM 0.7 g 0.7%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707135, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soups, broth-based” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories55 kcal71 kcal−16 kcal
Protein6.2 g5.9 g+0.3 g
Carbohydrate4 g4 gSame listed value
Total fat1.6 g3.4 g−1.8 g
Dietary fiber0.8 g0.8 gSame listed value
Sodium295 mg294 mg+1 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 16 less calories and 1.8 g less total fat than “Soup, sopa or caldo de res.”

Only this record lists Chicken as ingredient in recipes. Only the comparison record lists Beef as ingredient in recipes. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Vegetables as ingredient in soups; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: Chicken as ingredient in recipes.

Listed only in the comparison: Beef as ingredient in recipes.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 245 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (245 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707135 with FDC 2707128 at equal mass; use their 245 g and 245 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707135 versus FDC 2707128 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full soups, broth-based source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.

For “Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    bowl size

    Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  2. 02

    solid-to-broth ratio

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  3. 03

    recipe

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added cream, oil, or toppings

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707135 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 55 kcal per 100 g becomes 135 kcal at 245 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707135

FNDDS food code: 28340670

The scaling for FDC 2707135 can be exact while the match to “Soup, sopa or caldo de pollo” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 245 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.