Energy
upper quarter80 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 47 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 35–61 kcal
Based on 45 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 204 calories for 1 cup (255 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 255 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 255 g
204calories
Soup, split pea, with meat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 204 calories for 1 cup at 255 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 80 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 14.2 g protein, 8.4 g fiber, and 632 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 34.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 204–420 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707458: “Soup, split pea, with meat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707458, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cup” through “1 can” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 255 g | 204 kcal | 14.2 g | 8.4 g | 632 mg |
| 1 individual containerUSDA-listed household measure | 440 g | 352 kcal | 24.5 g | 14.5 g | 1,091 mg |
| 1 canUSDA-listed household measure | 525 g | 420 kcal | 29.2 g | 17.3 g | 1,302 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 45 exact records in the Soups, broth-based USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707458’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter80 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter5.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter3.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half248 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 45 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707458’s 255 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber8.4 g
≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A107.1 µg
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium632 mg
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.9 g
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Soup, split pea, with meat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707459 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 255 g and 525 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 204 kcal to 420 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.7 g more total fat than “Soup, split pea.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 6 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 34.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “split pea; with meat” fits. Inspect FDC 2707459 when “split pea” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “split pea” and “with meat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSoup, split pea, with meat | 255 g204 kcal | 80 kcal | 5.6 g | 2.4 g | 3.3 g | 248 mg |
| Soup, split pea | 255 g156 kcal | 61 kcal | 3.6 g | 0.7 g | 3.8 g | 244 mg |
| Soup, lentil, with meat | 255 g199 kcal | 78 kcal | 5.9 g | 2.3 g | 3.2 g | 249 mg |
| Soup, bean, with meat | 255 g214 kcal | 84 kcal | 5.9 g | 2.4 g | 3.5 g | 248 mg |
| Soup, vegetable, with meat | 245 g108 kcal | 44 kcal | 3.4 g | 1.6 g | 0.8 g | 249 mg |
| Soup, bean | 255 g171 kcal | 67 kcal | 3.8 g | 0.8 g | 4 g | 244 mg |
| Soup, lentil | 255 g153 kcal | 60 kcal | 3.8 g | 0.7 g | 3.7 g | 244 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707458: its source amount is 255 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707458, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
204 kcal
255 g
420 kcal
525 g
352 kcal
440 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707458, Dietary fiber is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Dietary fiber
8.4 g≈ 30% Daily ValueSodium
632.4 mg≈ 28% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707458’s 255 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707458 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 14.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707458 at 255 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 255 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 204 kcal 80 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 14.2 g 5.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 23.2 g 9.1 g | 8% 3% |
| Total fat | 6.2 g 2.4 g | 8% 3% |
| Dietary fiber | 8.4 g 3.3 g | 30% 12% |
| Sugars | 4.6 g 1.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 632.4 mg 248 mg | 27% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 1.9 g 0.7 g | 10% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.6 g 1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.2 g 0.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 25.5 mg 10 mg | 9% 3% |
| Potassium | 512.6 mg 201 mg | 11% 4% |
| Calcium | 38.3 mg 15 mg | 3% 1% |
| Iron | 1.7 mg 0.7 mg | 9% 4% |
| Magnesium | 43.4 mg 17 mg | 10% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 3.3 mg 1.3 mg | 4% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.3 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 107.1 µg 42 µg | 12% 5% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 208.3 g 81.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707458, approximate percentages divide the displayed 255 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707458 to 6 source inputs totaling 101.1 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soup, split pea, with meat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Peas, split, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt, Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
101.1 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 35 GM | 35 g | 34.6% |
| 2 | Peas, split, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without saltUSDA ingredient 16086 · encyclopedia page available | 35 GM | 35 g | 34.6% |
| 3 | Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99997805 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.8% |
| 4 | Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braisedUSDA ingredient 10081 · encyclopedia page available | 10 GM | 10 g | 9.9% |
| 5 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 GM | 0.5 g | 0.5% |
| 6 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.6 GM | 0.6 g | 0.6% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707458, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soups, broth-based” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 80 kcal | 61 kcal | +19 kcal |
| Protein | 5.6 g | 3.6 g | +2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 9.1 g | 10.6 g | −1.5 g |
| Total fat | 2.4 g | 0.7 g | +1.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.3 g | 3.8 g | −0.5 g |
| Sodium | 248 mg | 244 mg | +4 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 19 more calories, 2 g more protein, and 1.7 g more total fat than “Soup, split pea.”
Only this record lists Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Peas, split, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt; Mirepoix, cooked, as ingredient; Vegetable oil, NFS; and 1 more.
Listed only in this record: Pork, fresh, shoulder, (Boston butt), blade (steaks), separable lean and fat, cooked, braised.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707458 with FDC 2707459 at equal mass; use their 255 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707458 versus FDC 2707459 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full soups, broth-based source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Soup, split pea, with meat” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707458 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with bowl size, solid-to-broth ratio, recipe, added cream, oil, or toppings.
For “Soup, split pea, with meat,” resolve bowl size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Resolve bowl size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707458 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 80 kcal per 100 g becomes 204 kcal at 255 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707458
FNDDS food code: 41602030
The scaling for FDC 2707458 can be exact while the match to “Soup, split pea, with meat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 255 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.