Energy
lower quarter84 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 133 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 122–156 kcal
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 214 calories for 1 cup (255 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 255 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 255 g
214calories
Stew, chicken
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 214 calories for 1 cup at 255 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 84 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 23.6 g protein, 3.3 g fiber, and 788 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is vegetables as ingredient in stews, representing 49.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706678: “Stew, chicken.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706678, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 191.3 g | 161 kcal | 17.7 g | 2.5 g | 591 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 255 g | 214 kcal | 23.6 g | 3.3 g | 788 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 318.8 g | 268 kcal | 29.5 g | 4.1 g | 985 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 130 exact records in the Poultry mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706678’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter84 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter1.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter309 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 130 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706678’s 255 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A336.6 µg
≈ 37% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin C18 mg
≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium788 mg
≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.7 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Stew, chicken,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706677 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 191.3–318.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 161 kcal and 268 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.5 g less carbohydrate than “Stew, chicken, with pasta.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Vegetables as ingredient in stews supplies 49.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “chicken” fits. Inspect FDC 2706677 when “chicken; with pasta” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chicken”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordStew, chicken | 255 g214 kcal | 84 kcal | 9.2 g | 2.3 g | 1.3 g | 309 mg |
| Stew, chicken, with pasta | 255 g275 kcal | 108 kcal | 10.2 g | 2.5 g | 1.1 g | 301 mg |
| Chili with chicken | 255 g255 kcal | 100 kcal | 14.1 g | 3.7 g | 0.5 g | 359 mg |
| Chicken curry | 240 g257 kcal | 107 kcal | 6.5 g | 6.5 g | 1.4 g | 376 mg |
| Chicken with gravy | 244 g315 kcal | 129 kcal | 18.9 g | 5.2 g | 0 g | 526 mg |
| Barbecue chicken | 180 g301 kcal | 167 kcal | 19 g | 4.6 g | 0.3 g | 550 mg |
| Chicken cornbread | 92 g154 kcal | 167 kcal | 13.8 g | 8.2 g | 0.4 g | 458 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706678: its source amount is 255 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706678, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
214 kcal
255 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706678, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin A
336.6 µg≈ 37% Daily ValueSodium
788 mg≈ 34% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706678’s 255 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706678 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 23.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706678 at 255 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 255 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 214 kcal 84 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 23.6 g 9.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 16 g 6.3 g | 6% 2% |
| Total fat | 6 g 2.3 g | 8% 3% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.3 g 1.3 g | 12% 5% |
| Sugars | 4 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 788 mg 309 mg | 34% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 1.7 g 0.6 g | 8% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.3 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.3 g 0.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 94.4 mg 37 mg | 31% 12% |
| Potassium | 640.1 mg 251 mg | 14% 5% |
| Calcium | 35.7 mg 14 mg | 3% 1% |
| Iron | 1.2 mg 0.5 mg | 7% 3% |
| Magnesium | 45.9 mg 18 mg | 11% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 17.9 mg 7 mg | 20% 8% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 336.6 µg 132 µg | 37% 15% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 206.8 g 81.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706678, approximate percentages divide the displayed 255 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706678 to 4 source inputs totaling 100.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Stew, chicken” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Vegetables as ingredient in stews, Chicken as ingredient in recipes, Beverages, water, tap, drinking. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 19.9% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.7 GM | 0.7 g | 0.7% |
| 3 | Vegetables as ingredient in stewsUSDA ingredient 99997820 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 49.7% |
| 4 | Chicken as ingredient in recipesUSDA ingredient 99992405 · encyclopedia page available | 30 GM | 30 g | 29.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706678, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Poultry mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 84 kcal | 108 kcal | −24 kcal |
| Protein | 9.2 g | 10.2 g | −1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 6.3 g | 10.8 g | −4.5 g |
| Total fat | 2.3 g | 2.5 g | −0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.3 g | 1.1 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 309 mg | 301 mg | +8 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 24 less calories and 4.5 g less carbohydrate than “Stew, chicken, with pasta.”
Only the comparison record lists Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Salt, table; Vegetables as ingredient in stews; Chicken as ingredient in recipes.
Listed only in the comparison: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 255 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (255 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706678 with FDC 2706677 at equal mass; use their 255 g and 255 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706678 versus FDC 2706677 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full poultry mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Stew, chicken” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706678 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Stew, chicken,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706678 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 84 kcal per 100 g becomes 214 kcal at 255 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706678
FNDDS food code: 27341520
The scaling for FDC 2706678 can be exact while the match to “Stew, chicken” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 255 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.