Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Taco, cheese only calories: 385 per 1 large (140 g)

This exact USDA record reports 385 calories for 1 large (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 large · 140 g

Calories
385 kcal
Protein
17.1 g
Carbohydrate
38.9 g
Total fat
18.8 g
Fiber
5.3 g
Sodium
435 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 large · 140 g

385calories

Taco, cheese only

Protein
17.1 g
Carbs
38.9 g
Fat
18.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708533

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 385 calories for 1 large at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 275 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 17.1 g protein, 5.3 g fiber, and 435 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn, representing 60% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 large at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 96–385 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708533: “Taco, cheese only.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708533, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 miniatureUSDA-listed household measure 35 g 96 kcal 4.3 g 1.3 g 109 mg
1 small/regularUSDA-listed household measure 70 g 193 kcal 8.5 g 2.7 g 218 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 140 g 385 kcal 17.1 g 5.3 g 435 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Burritos and tacos

The comparison set contains 46 exact records in the Burritos and tacos USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708533’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

275 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
217 kcal
Middle 50%
194–240 kcal

Based on 46 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

12.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
10.8 g
Middle 50%
8.5–12.9 g

Based on 46 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

3.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
2–3.2 g

Based on 46 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

311 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
443 mg
Middle 50%
385–463 mg

Based on 46 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708533’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium440 mg

≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber5.3 g

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat9.9 g

≈ 50% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium435 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Taco, cheese only,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708554 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 miniature to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 35 g and 140 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 96 kcal to 385 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708554

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 393 mg less sodium than “Burrito, cheese only.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn supplies 60% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “cheese only” fits. Inspect FDC 2708554 when “cheese only” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Taco, cheese only

Exact source wording
“Taco, cheese only”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708533 · FNDDS 58102250
Named qualifiers
cheese only
Source inputs unique in this pair
Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Burrito, cheese only

Exact source wording
“Burrito, cheese only”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708554 · FNDDS 58102680
Named qualifiers
cheese only
Source inputs unique in this pair
Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, flour, refrigerated

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cheese only”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordTaco, cheese only 140 g385 kcal 275 kcal 12.2 g 13.4 g 3.8 g 311 mg
Taco, meat, no cheese 100 g243 kcal 243 kcal 15.2 g 13.2 g 2.2 g 359 mg
Burrito, cheese only 150 g492 kcal 328 kcal 13.7 g 16.5 g 2.1 g 704 mg
Taco, with beans, no cheese 100 g167 kcal 167 kcal 5 g 6.2 g 4.5 g 405 mg
Taco, meat, with beans, no cheese 100 g205 kcal 205 kcal 10.1 g 9.7 g 3.4 g 382 mg
Taco, flour tortilla, pork, cheese 105 g273 kcal 260 kcal 16.1 g 12.8 g 1.3 g 438 mg
Taco, flour tortilla, beef, cheese 105 g270 kcal 257 kcal 16.7 g 12.3 g 1.3 g 444 mg

How to compare FDC 2708533: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708533, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 miniature

96 kcal

35 g

1 small/regular

193 kcal

70 g

1 large

385 kcal

140 g

1 cup

330 kcal

120 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708533, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

9.9 g≈ 50% Daily Value

Calcium

439.6 mg≈ 34% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708533’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708533 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 17.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708533 at 140 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 5.3 g dietary fiber, about 19% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 435 mg sodium, about 19% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 385 kcal Not established
Protein 17.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 38.9 g 14%
Total fat 18.8 g 24%
Dietary fiber 5.3 g 19%
Sugars 1.2 g Not established
Sodium 435.4 mg 19%
Saturated fat 9.9 g 50%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 50.4 mg 17%
Potassium 208.6 mg 4%
Calcium 439.6 mg 34%
Iron 1.1 mg 6%
Magnesium 75.6 mg 18%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.1 µg 1%
Vitamin A 119 µg 13%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 62.4 g Not established

For FDC 2708533, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708533 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Taco, cheese only” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn, Cheese and Queso as ingredient. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, cornUSDA ingredient 18363 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 60%
2 Cheese and Queso as ingredientUSDA ingredient 99991410 · encyclopedia page available 40 GM 40 g 40%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708533, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Burritos and tacos” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories275 kcal328 kcal−53 kcal
Protein12.2 g13.7 g−1.5 g
Carbohydrate27.8 g30.6 g−2.8 g
Total fat13.4 g16.5 g−3.1 g
Dietary fiber3.8 g2.1 g+1.7 g
Sodium311 mg704 mg−393 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 53 less calories, 1.5 g less protein, and 3.1 g less total fat than “Burrito, cheese only.”

Only this record lists Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn. Only the comparison record lists Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, flour, refrigerated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Cheese and Queso as ingredient.

Listed only in this record: Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn.

Listed only in the comparison: Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, flour, refrigerated.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 large (140 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 150 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small/regular (150 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708533 with FDC 2708554 at equal mass; use their 140 g and 150 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708533 versus FDC 2708554 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full burritos and tacos source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Taco, cheese only,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708533 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 275 kcal per 100 g becomes 385 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 large has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708533

FNDDS food code: 58102250

The scaling for FDC 2708533 can be exact while the match to “Taco, cheese only” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.