Energy
upper quarter384 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 100 calories for 1 slice or roll (26 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 slice or roll · 26 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 slice or roll · 26 g
100calories
Bread, dough, fried
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 100 calories for 1 slice or roll at 26 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 384 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.4 g protein, 0.4 g fiber, and 46 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached, representing 51.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice or roll at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 31–538 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707653: “Bread, dough, fried.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707653, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure | 8.2 g | 31 kcal | 0.8 g | 0.1 g | 15 mg |
| 1 slice or rollUSDA-listed household measure | 26 g | 100 kcal | 2.4 g | 0.4 g | 46 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 140 g | 538 kcal | 13.1 g | 2.1 g | 248 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707653’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter384 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half9.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter1.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter177 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707653’s 26 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Saturated fat1.3 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium46 mg
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, dough, fried,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707646 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 8.2 g and 140 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 31 kcal to 538 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 16.4 g more total fat than “Bread, sour dough.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 7 input rows; Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached supplies 51.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “dough; fried” fits. Inspect FDC 2707646 when “sour dough” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “dough” and “fried”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, dough, fried | 26 g100 kcal | 384 kcal | 9.4 g | 18.8 g | 1.5 g | 177 mg |
| Bread, sour dough | 31 g84 kcal | 272 kcal | 10.8 g | 2.4 g | 2.2 g | 602 mg |
| Bread, sour dough, toasted | 28 g84 kcal | 299 kcal | 11.8 g | 2.7 g | 2.4 g | 662 mg |
| Bread, cheese | 28 g114 kcal | 408 kcal | 10.4 g | 20.8 g | 2.1 g | 750 mg |
| Bread, puri | 36 g147 kcal | 409 kcal | 6.8 g | 24.9 g | 3.5 g | 170 mg |
| Bread, paratha | 70 g228 kcal | 326 kcal | 6.4 g | 13.2 g | 9.6 g | 452 mg |
| Bread, naan | 44 g137 kcal | 311 kcal | 11.1 g | 7.3 g | 5.2 g | 508 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707653: its source amount is 26 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707653, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
100 kcal
26 g
538 kcal
140 g
522 kcal
136 g
399 kcal
104 g
31 kcal
8 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707653, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
4.9 g≈ 6% Daily ValueSaturated fat
1.3 g≈ 6% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707653’s 26 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707653 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 2.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 26 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 100 kcal 384 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.4 g 9.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 11.7 g 45 g | 4% 16% |
| Total fat | 4.9 g 18.8 g | 6% 24% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.4 g 1.5 g | 1% 5% |
| Sugars | 0.9 g 3.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 46 mg 177 mg | 2% 8% |
| Saturated fat | 1.3 g 4.9 g | 6% 24% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.9 g 7.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.4 g 5.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0.8 mg 3 mg | 0% 1% |
| Potassium | 34.3 mg 132 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 14 mg 54 mg | 1% 4% |
| Iron | 0.8 mg 3.2 mg | 5% 18% |
| Magnesium | 6.5 mg 25 mg | 2% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.4 µg | 1% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 4.9 µg 19 µg | 1% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 6.7 g 25.8 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707653, approximate percentages divide the displayed 26 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707653 to 7 source inputs totaling 1,605.9 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, dough, fried” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached, Milk, NFS, Shortening, vegetable, household, composite. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
1,605.9 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleachedUSDA ingredient 20083 · encyclopedia page available | 6 C | 822 g | 51.2% |
| 2 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 2 C | 488 g | 30.4% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TS | 6 g | 0.4% |
| 4 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 2 TB | 25 g | 1.6% |
| 5 | Shortening, vegetable, household, compositeUSDA ingredient 4615 · encyclopedia page available | 38.4 GM | 38.4 g | 2.4% |
| 6 | Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, compressedUSDA ingredient 18374 · encyclopedia page available | 1 | 17 g | 1.1% |
| 7 | Shortening, vegetable, household, compositeUSDA ingredient 4615 · encyclopedia page available | 210 GM | 209.5 g | 13% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707653, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 384 kcal | 272 kcal | +112 kcal |
| Protein | 9.4 g | 10.8 g | −1.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 45 g | 51.9 g | −6.9 g |
| Total fat | 18.8 g | 2.4 g | +16.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g | 2.2 g | −0.7 g |
| Sodium | 177 mg | 602 mg | −425 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 112 more calories, 1.4 g less protein, and 6.9 g less carbohydrate than “Bread, sour dough.”
Only this record lists Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached; Milk, NFS; Salt, table; Sugars, granulated. Only the comparison record lists Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough). Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached; Milk, NFS; Salt, table; Sugars, granulated; and 2 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Bread, french or vienna (includes sourdough).
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 26 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice or roll (26 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 31 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (31 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707653 with FDC 2707646 at equal mass; use their 26 g and 31 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707653 versus FDC 2707646 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Bread, dough, fried” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707653 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount of absorbed frying fat, item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density.
For “Bread, dough, fried,” resolve amount of absorbed frying fat first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707653 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 384 kcal per 100 g becomes 100 kcal at 26 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice or roll has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707653
FNDDS food code: 51140100
The scaling for FDC 2707653 can be exact while the match to “Bread, dough, fried” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 26 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.