Energy
upper quarter409 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 147 calories for 1 puri (36 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 puri · 36 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 puri (approx 4-4/5" dia) · 36 g
147calories
Bread, puri
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 147 calories for 1 puri at 36 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 409 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.5 g protein, 1.3 g fiber, and 61 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 30.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 puri at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707714: “Bread, puri.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707714, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 27 g | 110 kcal | 1.8 g | 0.9 g | 46 mg |
| 1 puri (approx 4-4/5" dia)USDA-listed household measure | 36 g | 147 kcal | 2.5 g | 1.3 g | 61 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 45 g | 184 kcal | 3.1 g | 1.6 g | 77 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707714’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter409 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter6.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half3.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter170 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707714’s 36 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.2 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium61 mg
≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, puri,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707633 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 27–45 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 110 kcal and 184 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 22 g more total fat than “Bread, onion.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 6 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 30.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “puri” fits. Inspect FDC 2707633 when “onion” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “puri”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, puri | 36 g147 kcal | 409 kcal | 6.8 g | 24.9 g | 3.5 g | 170 mg |
| Bread, cheese | 28 g114 kcal | 408 kcal | 10.4 g | 20.8 g | 2.1 g | 750 mg |
| Bread, paratha | 70 g228 kcal | 326 kcal | 6.4 g | 13.2 g | 9.6 g | 452 mg |
| Bread, naan | 44 g137 kcal | 311 kcal | 11.1 g | 7.3 g | 5.2 g | 508 mg |
| Bread, pita | 57 g157 kcal | 275 kcal | 9.1 g | 1.2 g | 2.2 g | 536 mg |
| Bread, barley | 28 g77 kcal | 274 kcal | 10.7 g | 4.5 g | 4 g | 450 mg |
| Bread, Cuban | 20 g54 kcal | 272 kcal | 10.8 g | 2.4 g | 2.2 g | 602 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707714: its source amount is 36 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707714, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
147 kcal
36 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707714, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
9 g≈ 12% Daily ValueSaturated fat
1.2 g≈ 6% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
14.1 g≈ 5% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707714’s 36 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 36 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 147 kcal 409 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.5 g 6.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 14.1 g 39.2 g | 5% 14% |
| Total fat | 9 g 24.9 g | 11% 32% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.3 g 3.5 g | 5% 13% |
| Sugars | 0.1 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 61.2 mg 170 mg | 3% 7% |
| Saturated fat | 1.2 g 3.3 g | 6% 17% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.7 g 10.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.4 g 9.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 48.2 mg 134 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 5.8 mg 16 mg | 0% 1% |
| Iron | 0.9 mg 2.6 mg | 5% 14% |
| Magnesium | 15.5 mg 43 mg | 4% 10% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 10.1 g 28 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707714, approximate percentages divide the displayed 36 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707714 to 6 source inputs totaling 386.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, puri” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached, Flour, whole wheat, unenriched. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
386.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Flour, whole wheat, unenrichedUSDA ingredient 20080 · encyclopedia page available | 0.75 C | 90 g | 23.3% |
| 2 | Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleachedUSDA ingredient 20081 · encyclopedia page available | 0.75 C | 93.8 g | 24.2% |
| 3 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 7 TS | 32.7 g | 8.4% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.25 TS | 1.5 g | 0.4% |
| 5 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 118.5 g | 30.6% |
| 6 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 50.3 GM | 50.3 g | 13% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707714, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 409 kcal | 238 kcal | +171 kcal |
| Protein | 6.8 g | 8.8 g | −2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 39.2 g | 44.3 g | −5.1 g |
| Total fat | 24.9 g | 3 g | +22 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.5 g | 1.7 g | +1.8 g |
| Sodium | 170 mg | 482 mg | −312 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 171 more calories, 2 g less protein, and 5.1 g less carbohydrate than “Bread, onion.”
Only this record lists Flour, whole wheat, unenriched; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Vegetable oil, NFS. Only the comparison record lists Milk, NFS; Sugars, granulated; Butter, stick, salted; Shortening, vegetable, household, composite. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.
Listed only in this record: Flour, whole wheat, unenriched; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; Vegetable oil, NFS.
Listed only in the comparison: Milk, NFS; Sugars, granulated; Butter, stick, salted; Shortening, vegetable, household, composite; and 3 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 36 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 puri (36 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 31 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (31 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707714 with FDC 2707633 at equal mass; use their 36 g and 31 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707714 versus FDC 2707633 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Bread, puri” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707714 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Bread, puri,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707714 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 409 kcal per 100 g becomes 147 kcal at 36 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 puri has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707714
FNDDS food code: 51300180
The scaling for FDC 2707714 can be exact while the match to “Bread, puri” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 36 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.