Energy
middle half267 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 277 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 262–299 kcal
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 75 calories for 1 medium or regular slice (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium or regular slice · 28 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium or regular slice · 28 g
75calories
Bread, soy
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 75 calories for 1 medium or regular slice at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 267 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.6 g protein, 1.2 g fiber, and 165 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached, representing 41.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 9 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium or regular slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 27–115 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707790: “Bread, soy.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707790, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 slice, snack-size” through “1 large or thick slice” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 slice, snack-sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 10 g | 27 kcal | 1.6 g | 0.4 g | 59 mg |
| 1 medium or regular sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 28 g | 75 kcal | 4.6 g | 1.2 g | 165 mg |
| 1 large or thick sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 43 g | 115 kcal | 7.1 g | 1.9 g | 253 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707790’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half267 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter16.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter589 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 104 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707790’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium165 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.3 g
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Bread, soy,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707791 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 43 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 27 kcal to 115 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 26 kcal less calories than “Bread, soy, toasted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 9 input rows; Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached supplies 41.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “soy” fits. Inspect FDC 2707791 when “soy; toasted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “soy”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBread, soy | 28 g75 kcal | 267 kcal | 16.4 g | 3.8 g | 4.4 g | 589 mg |
| Bread, soy, toasted | 25 g73 kcal | 293 kcal | 18 g | 4.2 g | 4.8 g | 648 mg |
| Bread, white | 28 g75 kcal | 267 kcal | 9.4 g | 3.6 g | 2.3 g | 450 mg |
| Bread, potato | 34 g90 kcal | 266 kcal | 12.5 g | 3.1 g | 6.3 g | 375 mg |
| Bread, oatmeal | 28 g75 kcal | 269 kcal | 8.4 g | 4.4 g | 4 g | 447 mg |
| Bread, multigrain | 36 g95 kcal | 265 kcal | 13.4 g | 4.2 g | 7.4 g | 360 mg |
| Bread, raisin | 28 g76 kcal | 270 kcal | 8.8 g | 3.3 g | 2.5 g | 408 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707790: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707790, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
64 kcal
24 g
75 kcal
28 g
115 kcal
43 g
35 kcal
13 g
27 kcal
10 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707790, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
164.9 mg≈ 7% Daily ValueIron
1.1 mg≈ 6% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707790’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707790 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 4.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 75 kcal 267 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.6 g 16.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 11.8 g 42 g | 4% 15% |
| Total fat | 1.1 g 3.8 g | 1% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g 4.4 g | 4% 16% |
| Sugars | 1.7 g 6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 164.9 mg 589 mg | 7% 26% |
| Saturated fat | 0.3 g 1.2 g | 2% 6% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 0.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 1.1 mg 4 mg | 0% 1% |
| Potassium | 147.8 mg 528 mg | 3% 11% |
| Calcium | 26.3 mg 94 mg | 2% 7% |
| Iron | 1.1 mg 3.8 mg | 6% 21% |
| Magnesium | 20.4 mg 73 mg | 5% 17% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.2 µg | 0% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 5.9 µg 21 µg | 1% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 9.7 g 34.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707790, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707790 to 9 source inputs totaling 661.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, soy” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleached, Milk, NFS, Beverages, water, tap, drinking. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
661.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 118.5 g | 17.9% |
| 2 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 C | 122 g | 18.4% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1.5 TS | 9 g | 1.4% |
| 4 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 1 TB | 12.5 g | 1.9% |
| 5 | Butter, stick, saltedUSDA ingredient 1001 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 TB | 7 g | 1.1% |
| 6 | Shortening, vegetable, household, compositeUSDA ingredient 4615 · encyclopedia page available | 6.41 GM | 6.4 g | 1% |
| 7 | Leavening agents, yeast, baker's, active dryUSDA ingredient 18375 · encyclopedia page available | 1 | 7 g | 1.1% |
| 8 | Flour, bread, white, enriched, unbleachedUSDA ingredient 20083 · encyclopedia page available | 2 C | 274 g | 41.4% |
| 9 | Flour, soy, defattedUSDA ingredient 16117 · encyclopedia page available | 1 C | 105 g | 15.9% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707790, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 267 kcal | 293 kcal | −26 kcal |
| Protein | 16.4 g | 18 g | −1.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 42 g | 46.1 g | −4.1 g |
| Total fat | 3.8 g | 4.2 g | −0.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4.4 g | 4.8 g | −0.4 g |
| Sodium | 589 mg | 648 mg | −59 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 26 less calories than “Bread, soy, toasted.”
Only this record lists Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Milk, NFS; Salt, table; Sugars, granulated. Only the comparison record lists Bread, soy. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Beverages, water, tap, drinking; Milk, NFS; Salt, table; Sugars, granulated; and 5 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Bread, soy.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (28 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 25 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (25 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707790 with FDC 2707791 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 25 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707790 versus FDC 2707791 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Bread, soy” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707790 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.
For “Bread, soy,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707790 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 267 kcal per 100 g becomes 75 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium or regular slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707790
FNDDS food code: 51804010
The scaling for FDC 2707790 can be exact while the match to “Bread, soy” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 9-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.