Energy
lower quarter254 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 305 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 271–372 kcal
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 155 calories for 1 piece (61 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 piece · 61 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 piece · 61 g
155calories
Corn pone, fried
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 155 calories for 1 piece at 61 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 254 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 254 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, municipal, representing 51.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 6 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 piece at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707817: “Corn pone, fried.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707817, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 45.8 g | 116 kcal | 1.5 g | 0.8 g | 191 mg |
| 1 pieceUSDA-listed household measure | 61 g | 155 kcal | 2 g | 1.1 g | 254 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 76.3 g | 194 kcal | 2.5 g | 1.4 g | 318 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the Biscuits, muffins, quick breads USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707817’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter254 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter3.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half417 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707817’s 61 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium66 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium254 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.4 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Corn pone, fried,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707816 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 45.8–76.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 116 kcal and 194 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.5 g more total fat than “Corn pone, baked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 6 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, municipal supplies 51.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “fried” fits. Inspect FDC 2707816 when “baked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fried”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCorn pone, fried | 61 g155 kcal | 254 kcal | 3.3 g | 9.8 g | 1.8 g | 417 mg |
| Corn pone, baked | 61 g131 kcal | 214 kcal | 3.5 g | 4.3 g | 1.9 g | 437 mg |
| Corn flour patty or tart, fried | 20 g44 kcal | 218 kcal | 4 g | 4.6 g | 3 g | 483 mg |
| Fritter, corn | 70 g283 kcal | 404 kcal | 7.4 g | 27.1 g | 1.6 g | 339 mg |
| Arepa Dominicana | 115 g307 kcal | 267 kcal | 5.7 g | 14 g | 2.4 g | 399 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707817: its source amount is 61 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707817, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
155 kcal
61 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707817, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
254.4 mg≈ 11% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
23.1 g≈ 8% Daily ValueTotal fat
6 g≈ 8% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707817’s 61 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707817 at 61 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 61 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 155 kcal 254 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2 g 3.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 23.1 g 37.8 g | 8% 14% |
| Total fat | 6 g 9.8 g | 8% 13% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g 1.8 g | 4% 6% |
| Sugars | 0.5 g 0.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 254.4 mg 417 mg | 11% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 1.4 g 2.3 g | 7% 12% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.4 g 3.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.8 g 2.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 41.5 mg 68 mg | 1% 1% |
| Calcium | 65.9 mg 108 mg | 5% 8% |
| Iron | 1.4 mg 2.3 mg | 8% 13% |
| Magnesium | 9.8 mg 16 mg | 2% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 3.1 µg 5 µg | 0% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 28.7 g 47 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707817, approximate percentages divide the displayed 61 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707817 to 6 source inputs totaling 618.7 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Corn pone, fried” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, municipal, Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow, Shortening, vegetable, household, composite. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
618.7 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available | 1.33 C | 315.9 g | 51.1% |
| 2 | Shortening, vegetable, household, compositeUSDA ingredient 4615 · encyclopedia page available | 17.1 GM | 17.1 g | 2.8% |
| 3 | Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellowUSDA ingredient 20022 · encyclopedia page available | 244 GM | 244 g | 39.4% |
| 4 | Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfateUSDA ingredient 18369 · encyclopedia page available | 2 TS | 9.2 g | 1.5% |
| 5 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 TS | 3 g | 0.5% |
| 6 | Shortening, vegetable, household, compositeUSDA ingredient 4615 · encyclopedia page available | 29.5 GM | 29.5 g | 4.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707817, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Biscuits, muffins, quick breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 254 kcal | 214 kcal | +40 kcal |
| Protein | 3.3 g | 3.5 g | −0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 37.8 g | 39.7 g | −1.9 g |
| Total fat | 9.8 g | 4.3 g | +5.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g | 1.9 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 417 mg | 437 mg | −20 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 40 more calories and 5.5 g more total fat than “Corn pone, baked.”
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Shortening, vegetable, household, composite; Cornmeal, degermed, enriched, yellow; Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate; and 1 more.
The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 61 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (61 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 61 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 piece (61 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707817 with FDC 2707816 at equal mass; use their 61 g and 61 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707817 versus FDC 2707816 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full biscuits, muffins, quick breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2707817 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Corn pone, fried” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707817 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount of absorbed frying fat, item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density.
For “Corn pone, fried,” resolve amount of absorbed frying fat first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707817 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 254 kcal per 100 g becomes 155 kcal at 61 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 piece has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707817
FNDDS food code: 52208020
The scaling for FDC 2707817 can be exact while the match to “Corn pone, fried” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 61 g weight, 6-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.