Energy
upper quarter224 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 168 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 138–189 kcal
Based on 116 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 157 calories for 1 egg (70 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 egg · 70 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 egg · 70 g
157calories
Duck egg, cooked
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 157 calories for 1 egg at 70 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 224 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 8.4 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 185 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is egg, duck, whole, fresh, raw, representing 93.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 egg at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 157–302 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707176: “Duck egg, cooked.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707176, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 52.5 g | 118 kcal | 6.3 g | 0 g | 139 mg |
| 1 eggUSDA-listed household measure | 70 g | 157 kcal | 8.4 g | 0 g | 185 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 302 kcal | 16.2 g | 0 g | 356 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 116 exact records in the Eggs and omelets USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707176’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter224 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 116 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half12 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 116 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 116 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half264 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 116 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707176’s 70 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A144.2 µg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.5 g
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium185 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Duck egg, cooked,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707177 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 70 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 157 kcal to 302 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.9 g less protein than “Goose egg, cooked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Egg, duck, whole, fresh, raw supplies 93.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “cooked” fits. Inspect FDC 2707177 when “cooked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “cooked”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordDuck egg, cooked | 70 g157 kcal | 224 kcal | 12 g | 18.6 g | 0 g | 264 mg |
| Goose egg, cooked | 144 g323 kcal | 224 kcal | 12.9 g | 18.1 g | 0 g | 256 mg |
| Egg, deviled | 30 g59 kcal | 198 kcal | 11.5 g | 15.9 g | 0 g | 430 mg |
| Egg, Benedict | 155 g446 kcal | 288 kcal | 13.8 g | 22.1 g | 0.6 g | 468 mg |
| Egg, creamed | 145 g215 kcal | 148 kcal | 7.8 g | 10.4 g | 0.1 g | 363 mg |
| Quail egg, canned | 18 g28 kcal | 158 kcal | 13 g | 11.1 g | 0 g | 256 mg |
| Egg, whole, pickled | 50 g77 kcal | 154 kcal | 12.5 g | 10.5 g | 0 g | 392 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707176: its source amount is 70 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707176, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
157 kcal
70 g
302 kcal
135 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707176, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
579.6 mg≈ 193% Daily ValueSaturated fat
3.5 g≈ 17% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707176’s 70 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707176 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 8.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 70 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 157 kcal 224 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 8.4 g 12 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 1 g 1.4 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 13 g 18.6 g | 17% 24% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0.6 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 184.8 mg 264 mg | 8% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 3.5 g 4.9 g | 17% 25% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.7 g 8.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.9 g 2.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 579.6 mg 828 mg | 193% 276% |
| Potassium | 145.6 mg 208 mg | 3% 4% |
| Calcium | 42 mg 60 mg | 3% 5% |
| Iron | 2.5 mg 3.6 mg | 14% 20% |
| Magnesium | 11.2 mg 16 mg | 3% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 1.1 µg 1.6 µg | 6% 8% |
| Vitamin A | 144.2 µg 206 µg | 16% 23% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 46.7 g 66.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707176, approximate percentages divide the displayed 70 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707176 to 3 source inputs totaling 107.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Duck egg, cooked” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Egg, duck, whole, fresh, raw, Oil or table fat, NFS, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
107.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Egg, duck, whole, fresh, rawUSDA ingredient 1138 | 100 GM | 100 g | 93.2% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.3 GM | 0.3 g | 0.3% |
| 3 | Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available | 7 GM | 7 g | 6.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707176, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Eggs and omelets” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 224 kcal | 224 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 12 g | 12.9 g | −0.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 1.4 g | 1.3 g | +0.1 g |
| Total fat | 18.6 g | 18.1 g | +0.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 264 mg | 256 mg | +8 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists Egg, duck, whole, fresh, raw. Only the comparison record lists Egg, goose, whole, fresh, raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table; Oil or table fat, NFS.
Listed only in this record: Egg, duck, whole, fresh, raw.
Listed only in the comparison: Egg, goose, whole, fresh, raw.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 70 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 egg (70 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 144 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 egg (144 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707176 with FDC 2707177 at equal mass; use their 70 g and 144 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707176 versus FDC 2707177 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full eggs and omelets source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “Duck egg, cooked,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707176 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 224 kcal per 100 g becomes 157 kcal at 70 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 egg has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707176
FNDDS food code: 31201000
The scaling for FDC 2707176 can be exact while the match to “Duck egg, cooked” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 70 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.