Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Egg, creamed calories: 215 per 1 egg (145 g)

This exact USDA record reports 215 calories for 1 egg (145 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 egg · 145 g

Calories
215 kcal
Protein
11.3 g
Carbohydrate
8 g
Total fat
15.1 g
Fiber
0.1 g
Sodium
526 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 egg · 145 g

215calories

Egg, creamed

Protein
11.3 g
Carbs
8 g
Fat
15.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707179

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 215 calories for 1 egg at 145 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 148 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 11.3 g protein, 0.1 g fiber, and 526 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is white sauce or gravy, representing 54.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 egg at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 200–215 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707179: “Egg, creamed.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707179, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 egg” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 108.8 g 161 kcal 8.5 g 0.1 g 395 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 135 g 200 kcal 10.5 g 0.1 g 490 mg
1 eggUSDA-listed household measure 145 g 215 kcal 11.3 g 0.1 g 526 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Eggs and omelets

The comparison set contains 116 exact records in the Eggs and omelets USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707179’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

148 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
168 kcal
Middle 50%
138–189 kcal

Based on 116 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

7.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
11.6 g
Middle 50%
10.6–12.6 g

Based on 116 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.2 g

Based on 116 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

363 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
314 mg
Middle 50%
262–381 mg

Based on 116 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707179’s 145 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A207.4 µg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin D2.5 µg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat5.8 g

≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium526 mg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Egg, creamed,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707181 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cup to 1 egg

    USDA assigns those measures 135 g and 145 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 200 kcal to 215 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707181

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.5 g more carbohydrate than “Egg, deviled.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: White sauce or gravy

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; White sauce or gravy supplies 54.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “creamed” fits. Inspect FDC 2707181 when “deviled” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Egg, creamed

Exact source wording
“Egg, creamed”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707179 · FNDDS 32101000
Named qualifiers
creamed
Source inputs unique in this pair
White sauce or gravy

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Egg, deviled

Exact source wording
“Egg, deviled”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707181 · FNDDS 32102000
Named qualifiers
deviled
Source inputs unique in this pair
Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “creamed”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordEgg, creamed 145 g215 kcal 148 kcal 7.8 g 10.4 g 0.1 g 363 mg
Egg, deviled 30 g59 kcal 198 kcal 11.5 g 15.9 g 0 g 430 mg
Duck egg, cooked 70 g157 kcal 224 kcal 12 g 18.6 g 0 g 264 mg
Goose egg, cooked 144 g323 kcal 224 kcal 12.9 g 18.1 g 0 g 256 mg
Egg, whole, raw 50 g72 kcal 143 kcal 12.4 g 10 g 0 g 129 mg
Egg, whole, pickled 50 g77 kcal 154 kcal 12.5 g 10.5 g 0 g 392 mg
Quail egg, canned 18 g28 kcal 158 kcal 13 g 11.1 g 0 g 256 mg

How to compare FDC 2707179: its source amount is 145 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707179, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 egg

215 kcal

145 g

1 cup

200 kcal

135 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707179, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

263.9 mg≈ 88% Daily Value

Saturated fat

5.8 g≈ 29% Daily Value

Vitamin A

207.4 µg≈ 23% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707179’s 145 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707179 at 145 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 526 mg sodium, about 23% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 145 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 215 kcal Not established
Protein 11.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 8 g 3%
Total fat 15.1 g 19%
Dietary fiber 0.1 g 1%
Sugars 4.4 g Not established
Sodium 526.4 mg 23%
Saturated fat 5.8 g 29%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2 g Not established
Cholesterol 263.9 mg 88%
Potassium 207.4 mg 4%
Calcium 129.1 mg 10%
Iron 1 mg 6%
Magnesium 17.4 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 2.5 µg 12%
Vitamin A 207.4 µg 23%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 108.3 g Not established

For FDC 2707179, approximate percentages divide the displayed 145 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707179 to 3 source inputs totaling 220.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Egg, creamed” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are White sauce or gravy, Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiled, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

220.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiledUSDA ingredient 1129 · encyclopedia page available 2 100 g 45.3%
2 White sauce or gravyUSDA ingredient 13411000 · encyclopedia page available 0.5 C 120 g 54.4%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.13 TS 0.8 g 0.3%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707179, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Eggs and omelets” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories148 kcal198 kcal−50 kcal
Protein7.8 g11.5 g−3.7 g
Carbohydrate5.5 g1.1 g+4.5 g
Total fat10.4 g15.9 g−5.5 g
Dietary fiber0.1 g0 g+0.1 g
Sodium363 mg430 mg−67 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 50 less calories, 3.7 g less protein, and 4.5 g more carbohydrate than “Egg, deviled.”

Only this record lists White sauce or gravy. Only the comparison record lists Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Egg, whole, cooked, hard-boiled; Salt, table.

Listed only in this record: White sauce or gravy.

Listed only in the comparison: Salad dressing, mayonnaise, regular.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 145 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 egg (145 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 egg (30 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707179 with FDC 2707181 at equal mass; use their 145 g and 30 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707179 versus FDC 2707181 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full eggs and omelets source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “Egg, creamed,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707179 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 148 kcal per 100 g becomes 215 kcal at 145 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 egg has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707179

FNDDS food code: 32101000

The scaling for FDC 2707179 can be exact while the match to “Egg, creamed” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 145 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.