Energy
lower quarter238 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 267 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 248–300 kcal
Based on 46 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 488 calories for 1 regular (205 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 205 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 205 g
488calories
Egg sandwich on bagel, with ham
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 488 calories for 1 regular at 205 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 238 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 25.8 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 1,046 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame), representing 53.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 250–738 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707331: “Egg sandwich on bagel, with ham.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707331, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/slider” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 miniature/sliderUSDA-listed household measure | 105 g | 250 kcal | 13.2 g | 0.9 g | 536 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 205 g | 488 kcal | 25.8 g | 1.8 g | 1,046 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 310 g | 738 kcal | 39.1 g | 2.8 g | 1,581 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 46 exact records in the Egg/breakfast sandwiches USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707331’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter238 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half12.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half510 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707331’s 205 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron5 mg
≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium291 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium1,046 mg
≈ 45% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.5 g
≈ 33% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Egg sandwich on bagel, with ham,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707328 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 105 g and 310 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 250 kcal to 738 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 73 mg more sodium than “Egg sandwich on bagel.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame) supplies 53.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “with ham” fits. Inspect FDC 2707328 when the exact wording “Egg sandwich on bagel” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with ham”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordEgg sandwich on bagel, with ham | 205 g488 kcal | 238 kcal | 12.6 g | 8 g | 0.9 g | 510 mg |
| Egg sandwich on bagel | 185 g464 kcal | 251 kcal | 12 g | 8.4 g | 0.9 g | 437 mg |
| Egg sandwich on bagel, with bacon | 200 g536 kcal | 268 kcal | 13.7 g | 10.5 g | 0.9 g | 536 mg |
| Egg sandwich on bagel, with sausage | 230 g630 kcal | 274 kcal | 12.8 g | 13.1 g | 0.8 g | 483 mg |
| Egg sandwich on croissant, with ham | 155 g440 kcal | 284 kcal | 12.3 g | 17.8 g | 1 g | 492 mg |
| Egg sandwich on English muffin, with ham | 145 g322 kcal | 222 kcal | 12.2 g | 10.7 g | 1.4 g | 495 mg |
| Egg burrito, with ham | 190 g460 kcal | 242 kcal | 11.3 g | 13.2 g | 1.3 g | 508 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707331: its source amount is 205 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707331, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
488 kcal
205 g
738 kcal
310 g
250 kcal
105 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707331, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
241.9 mg≈ 81% Daily ValueSodium
1,045.5 mg≈ 46% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707331’s 205 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707331 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 25.8 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707331 at 205 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 205 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 488 kcal 238 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 25.8 g 12.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 59.2 g 28.9 g | 22% 11% |
| Total fat | 16.5 g 8 g | 21% 10% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 0.9 g | 7% 3% |
| Sugars | 10.2 g 5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 1,045.5 mg 510 mg | 45% 22% |
| Saturated fat | 6.5 g 3.2 g | 33% 16% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.1 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.7 g 1.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 241.9 mg 118 mg | 81% 39% |
| Potassium | 278.8 mg 136 mg | 6% 3% |
| Calcium | 291.1 mg 142 mg | 22% 11% |
| Iron | 5 mg 2.5 mg | 28% 14% |
| Magnesium | 47.2 mg 23 mg | 11% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 2.3 µg 1.1 µg | 11% 6% |
| Vitamin A | 164 µg 80 µg | 18% 9% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 99 g 48.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707331, approximate percentages divide the displayed 205 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707331 to 4 source inputs totaling 206 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Egg sandwich on bagel, with ham” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame), Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fat, Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
206 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame)USDA ingredient 18001 · encyclopedia page available | 110 GM | 110 g | 53.4% |
| 2 | Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fatUSDA ingredient 31105005 · encyclopedia page available | 55 GM | 55 g | 26.7% |
| 3 | Pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roastedUSDA ingredient 10879 · encyclopedia page available | 20 GM | 20 g | 9.7% |
| 4 | Cheese as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99991400 · encyclopedia page available | 21 GM | 21 g | 10.2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707331, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Egg/breakfast sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 238 kcal | 251 kcal | −13 kcal |
| Protein | 12.6 g | 12 g | +0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 28.9 g | 31.8 g | −2.9 g |
| Total fat | 8 g | 8.4 g | −0.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.9 g | 0.9 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 510 mg | 437 mg | +73 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 13 less calories and 73 mg more sodium than “Egg sandwich on bagel.”
Only this record lists Pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roasted. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame); Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fat; Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches.
Listed only in this record: Pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roasted.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 205 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (205 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 185 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (185 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707331 with FDC 2707328 at equal mass; use their 205 g and 185 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707331 versus FDC 2707328 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full egg/breakfast sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Egg sandwich on bagel, with ham” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707331 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Egg sandwich on bagel, with ham,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707331 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 238 kcal per 100 g becomes 488 kcal at 205 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707331
FNDDS food code: 34001630
The scaling for FDC 2707331 can be exact while the match to “Egg sandwich on bagel, with ham” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 205 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.