Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Egg sandwich on bagel calories: 464 per 1 regular (185 g)

This exact USDA record reports 464 calories for 1 regular (185 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 regular · 185 g

Calories
464 kcal
Protein
22.2 g
Carbohydrate
58.8 g
Total fat
15.6 g
Fiber
1.7 g
Sodium
808 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 regular · 185 g

464calories

Egg sandwich on bagel

Protein
22.2 g
Carbs
58.8 g
Fat
15.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707328

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 464 calories for 1 regular at 185 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 251 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 22.2 g protein, 1.7 g fiber, and 808 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame), representing 59.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 238–703 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707328: “Egg sandwich on bagel.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707328, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 miniature/slider” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 miniature/sliderUSDA-listed household measure 95 g 238 kcal 11.4 g 0.9 g 415 mg
1 regularUSDA-listed household measure 185 g 464 kcal 22.2 g 1.7 g 808 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 280 g 703 kcal 33.6 g 2.5 g 1,224 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Egg/breakfast sandwiches

The comparison set contains 46 exact records in the Egg/breakfast sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707328’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

251 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
267 kcal
Middle 50%
248–300 kcal

Based on 46 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

12 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
12 g
Middle 50%
11–12.9 g

Based on 46 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.2 g
Middle 50%
0.9–1.5 g

Based on 46 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

437 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
505 mg
Middle 50%
451–572 mg

Based on 46 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707328’s 185 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron5 mg

≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium290 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium808 mg

≈ 35% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat6.3 g

≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Egg sandwich on bagel,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707330 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 miniature/slider to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 95 g and 280 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 238 kcal to 703 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707330

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.1 g less total fat than “Egg sandwich on bagel, with bacon.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame)

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame) supplies 59.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Egg sandwich on bagel” fits. Inspect FDC 2707330 when “with bacon” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Egg sandwich on bagel

Exact source wording
“Egg sandwich on bagel”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707328 · FNDDS 34001600

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Egg sandwich on bagel, with bacon

Exact source wording
“Egg sandwich on bagel, with bacon”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707330 · FNDDS 34001620
Named qualifiers
with bacon
Source inputs unique in this pair
Pork, cured, bacon, pre-sliced, cooked, pan-fried

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordEgg sandwich on bagel 185 g464 kcal 251 kcal 12 g 8.4 g 0.9 g 437 mg
Egg sandwich on bagel, with ham 205 g488 kcal 238 kcal 12.6 g 8 g 0.9 g 510 mg
Egg sandwich on bagel, with bacon 200 g536 kcal 268 kcal 13.7 g 10.5 g 0.9 g 536 mg
Egg sandwich on bagel, with sausage 230 g630 kcal 274 kcal 12.8 g 13.1 g 0.8 g 483 mg
Egg sandwich on biscuit 145 g432 kcal 298 kcal 10.7 g 18.8 g 1.2 g 708 mg
Egg sandwich on croissant 135 g417 kcal 309 kcal 11.4 g 19.7 g 1.1 g 388 mg
Egg white sandwich 115 g191 kcal 166 kcal 9.4 g 3.6 g 1.8 g 357 mg

How to compare FDC 2707328: its source amount is 185 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707328, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 regular

464 kcal

185 g

1 large

703 kcal

280 g

1 miniature/slider

238 kcal

95 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707328, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

231.3 mg≈ 77% Daily Value

Sodium

808.5 mg≈ 35% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707328’s 185 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707328 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 22.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707328 at 185 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 808 mg sodium, about 35% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 185 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 464 kcal Not established
Protein 22.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 58.8 g 21%
Total fat 15.6 g 20%
Dietary fiber 1.7 g 6%
Sugars 9.9 g Not established
Sodium 808.5 mg 35%
Saturated fat 6.3 g 31%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 231.3 mg 77%
Potassium 216.5 mg 5%
Calcium 290.5 mg 22%
Iron 4.8 mg 27%
Magnesium 44.4 mg 11%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 2 µg 10%
Vitamin A 162.8 µg 18%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 84.5 g Not established

For FDC 2707328, approximate percentages divide the displayed 185 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707328 to 3 source inputs totaling 186 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Egg sandwich on bagel” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame), Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fat, Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

186 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame)USDA ingredient 18001 · encyclopedia page available 110 GM 110 g 59.1%
2 Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fatUSDA ingredient 31105005 · encyclopedia page available 55 GM 55 g 29.6%
3 Cheese as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99991400 · encyclopedia page available 21 GM 21 g 11.3%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707328, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Egg/breakfast sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories251 kcal268 kcal−17 kcal
Protein12 g13.7 g−1.7 g
Carbohydrate31.8 g29.4 g+2.4 g
Total fat8.4 g10.5 g−2.1 g
Dietary fiber0.9 g0.9 gSame listed value
Sodium437 mg536 mg−99 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 17 less calories, 1.7 g less protein, and 2.1 g less total fat than “Egg sandwich on bagel, with bacon.”

Only the comparison record lists Pork, cured, bacon, pre-sliced, cooked, pan-fried. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Bagels, plain, enriched, with calcium propionate (includes onion, poppy, sesame); Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fat; Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches.

Listed only in the comparison: Pork, cured, bacon, pre-sliced, cooked, pan-fried.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 185 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (185 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 200 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (200 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707328 with FDC 2707330 at equal mass; use their 185 g and 200 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707328 versus FDC 2707330 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full egg/breakfast sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Egg sandwich on bagel,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707328 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 251 kcal per 100 g becomes 464 kcal at 185 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707328

FNDDS food code: 34001600

The scaling for FDC 2707328 can be exact while the match to “Egg sandwich on bagel” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 185 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.