Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

French toast, school calories: 97 per 1 slice, any size (60 g)

This exact USDA record reports 97 calories for 1 slice, any size (60 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 slice, any size · 60 g

Calories
97 kcal
Protein
5.5 g
Carbohydrate
13.6 g
Total fat
2.3 g
Fiber
1.7 g
Sodium
147 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 slice, any size · 60 g

97calories

French toast, school

Protein
5.5 g
Carbs
13.6 g
Fat
2.3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708334

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 97 calories for 1 slice, any size at 60 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 162 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 5.5 g protein, 1.7 g fiber, and 147 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared, representing 49.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice, any size at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 16–97 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708334: “French toast, school.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708334, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 bite size” through “1 slice, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 bite sizeUSDA-listed household measure 10 g 16 kcal 0.9 g 0.3 g 25 mg
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 45 g 73 kcal 4.1 g 1.3 g 110 mg
1 slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 60 g 97 kcal 5.5 g 1.7 g 147 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pancakes, waffles, French toast

The comparison set contains 43 exact records in the Pancakes, waffles, French toast USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708334’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

162 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
273 kcal
Middle 50%
245–315 kcal

Based on 43 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

9.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
7.4 g
Middle 50%
6.1–8.4 g

Based on 43 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

2.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
1.8–2.9 g

Based on 43 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

245 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
467 mg
Middle 50%
409–543 mg

Based on 43 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708334’s 60 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber1.7 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium26 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium147 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.7 g

≈ 3% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “French toast, school,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708335 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 bite size to 1 slice, any size

    USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 60 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 16 kcal to 97 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708335

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.6 g less total fat than “French toast, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared supplies 49.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “school” fits. Inspect FDC 2708335 when “plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

French toast, school

Exact source wording
“French toast, school”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708334 · FNDDS 55300060
Named qualifiers
school
Source inputs unique in this pair
Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared · Milk, lowfat, fluid, 1% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D · Beverages, water, tap, drinking

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

French toast, plain

Exact source wording
“French toast, plain”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708335 · FNDDS 55301000
Named qualifiers
plain
Source inputs unique in this pair
Bread, white, commercially prepared · Milk, NFS · Sugars, granulated

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “school”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordFrench toast, school 60 g97 kcal 162 kcal 9.2 g 3.8 g 2.9 g 245 mg
French toast, frozen 60 g110 kcal 183 kcal 7.2 g 3.8 g 1.1 g 243 mg
French toast, plain 65 g177 kcal 273 kcal 10.4 g 11.4 g 1.2 g 302 mg
French toast, gluten free 65 g172 kcal 264 kcal 7.8 g 12.2 g 2.2 g 300 mg
French toast, whole grain 65 g176 kcal 271 kcal 11.3 g 11.6 g 2.7 g 297 mg
French toast, fast food / restaurant 85 g264 kcal 310 kcal 9.8 g 14.3 g 1.3 g 357 mg
Waffle, school 80 g206 kcal 257 kcal 7.1 g 3.6 g 4.3 g 557 mg

How to compare FDC 2708334: its source amount is 60 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708334, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 bite size

16 kcal

10 g

1 slice, any size

97 kcal

60 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708334, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

45.6 mg≈ 15% Daily Value

Sodium

147 mg≈ 6% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708334’s 60 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708334 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 5.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 60 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 97 kcal Not established
Protein 5.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 13.6 g 5%
Total fat 2.3 g 3%
Dietary fiber 1.7 g 6%
Sugars 2.1 g Not established
Sodium 147 mg 6%
Saturated fat 0.7 g 3%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.7 g Not established
Cholesterol 45.6 mg 15%
Potassium 112.2 mg 2%
Calcium 72.6 mg 6%
Iron 0.9 mg 5%
Magnesium 25.8 mg 6%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.4 µg 2%
Vitamin A 28.2 µg 3%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 37.7 g Not established

For FDC 2708334, approximate percentages divide the displayed 60 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708334 to 4 source inputs totaling 275 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “French toast, school” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared, Milk, lowfat, fluid, 1% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

275 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Bread, whole-wheat, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18075 · encyclopedia page available 135 GM 135 g 49.1%
2 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 18.2%
3 Milk, lowfat, fluid, 1% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin DUSDA ingredient 1082 · encyclopedia page available 70 GM 70 g 25.5%
4 Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available 20 GM 20 g 7.3%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708334, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pancakes, waffles, French toast” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories162 kcal273 kcal−111 kcal
Protein9.2 g10.4 g−1.3 g
Carbohydrate22.6 g32.3 g−9.7 g
Total fat3.8 g11.4 g−7.6 g
Dietary fiber2.9 g1.2 g+1.7 g
Sodium245 mg302 mg−57 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 111 less calories, 1.3 g less protein, and 9.7 g less carbohydrate than “French toast, plain.”

Only this record lists Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared; Milk, lowfat, fluid, 1% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D; Beverages, water, tap, drinking. Only the comparison record lists Bread, white, commercially prepared; Milk, NFS; Sugars, granulated; Oil or table fat, NFS. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

6 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole.

Listed only in this record: Bread, whole-wheat, commercially prepared; Milk, lowfat, fluid, 1% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D; Beverages, water, tap, drinking.

Listed only in the comparison: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Milk, NFS; Sugars, granulated; Oil or table fat, NFS.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice, any size (60 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice, any size (65 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708334 with FDC 2708335 at equal mass; use their 60 g and 65 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708334 versus FDC 2708335 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pancakes, waffles, french toast source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708334 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “French toast, school,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708334 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 162 kcal per 100 g becomes 97 kcal at 60 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice, any size has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708334

FNDDS food code: 55300060

The scaling for FDC 2708334 can be exact while the match to “French toast, school” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 60 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.