Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

French toast, fast food/restaurant calories: 264 per 1 slice, any size (85 g)

This exact USDA record reports 264 calories for 1 slice, any size (85 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: French toast, fast food / restaurant

Quick facts

1 slice, any size · 85 g

Calories
264 kcal
Protein
8.4 g
Carbohydrate
30.3 g
Total fat
12.2 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
303 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 slice, any size · 85 g

264calories

French toast, fast food / restaurant

Protein
8.4 g
Carbs
30.3 g
Fat
12.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708333

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 264 calories for 1 slice, any size at 85 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 310 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 8.4 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 303 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, white, commercially prepared, representing 49.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 7 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice, any size at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708333: “French toast, fast food / restaurant.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708333, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 63.8 g 198 kcal 6.3 g 0.8 g 228 mg
1 slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 85 g 264 kcal 8.4 g 1.1 g 303 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 106.3 g 329 kcal 10.5 g 1.4 g 379 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pancakes, waffles, French toast

The comparison set contains 43 exact records in the Pancakes, waffles, French toast USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708333’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

310 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
273 kcal
Middle 50%
245–315 kcal

Based on 43 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

9.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
7.4 g
Middle 50%
6.1–8.4 g

Based on 43 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

1.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
1.8–2.9 g

Based on 43 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

357 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
467 mg
Middle 50%
409–543 mg

Based on 43 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708333’s 85 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A112.2 µg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron2 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat4 g

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium303 mg

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “French toast, fast food / restaurant,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708335 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 85 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 63.8–106.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 198 kcal and 329 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708335

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.9 g more total fat than “French toast, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Bread, white, commercially prepared

    The source formulation has 7 input rows; Bread, white, commercially prepared supplies 49.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “fast food / restaurant” fits. Inspect FDC 2708335 when “plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

French toast, fast food / restaurant

Exact source wording
“French toast, fast food / restaurant”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708333 · FNDDS 55300050
Named qualifiers
fast food / restaurant
Source inputs unique in this pair
Table fat, NFS · Sugars, powdered

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

French toast, plain

Exact source wording
“French toast, plain”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708335 · FNDDS 55301000
Named qualifiers
plain

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fast food / restaurant”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordFrench toast, fast food / restaurant 85 g264 kcal 310 kcal 9.8 g 14.3 g 1.3 g 357 mg
Pancakes, plain, fast food / restaurant 100 g307 kcal 307 kcal 7.2 g 15.5 g 2.1 g 544 mg
Waffle, fruit, fast food / restaurant 75 g266 kcal 354 kcal 6.6 g 21.1 g 2.7 g 492 mg
Pancakes, chocolate, fast food / restaurant 100 g360 kcal 360 kcal 7.5 g 18.7 g 2.4 g 470 mg
Pancakes, fruit, fast food / restaurant 100 g253 kcal 253 kcal 5.7 g 12.3 g 2.3 g 426 mg
Pancakes, whole grain, fast food / restaurant 100 g299 kcal 299 kcal 7.6 g 15.8 g 3.1 g 751 mg
Waffle, plain, fast food / restaurant 75 g321 kcal 428 kcal 8.2 g 26.4 g 2.4 g 620 mg

How to compare FDC 2708333: its source amount is 85 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708333, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 slice, any size

264 kcal

85 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708333, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Cholesterol

123.3 mg≈ 41% Daily Value

Saturated fat

4 g≈ 20% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708333’s 85 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708333 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 8.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708333 at 85 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 303 mg sodium, about 13% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 85 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 264 kcal Not established
Protein 8.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 30.3 g 11%
Total fat 12.2 g 16%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 8.6 g Not established
Sodium 303.5 mg 13%
Saturated fat 4 g 20%
Monounsaturated Fat 3.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3 g Not established
Cholesterol 123.3 mg 41%
Potassium 108.8 mg 2%
Calcium 129.2 mg 10%
Iron 2.1 mg 12%
Magnesium 17.9 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.9 µg 5%
Vitamin A 112.2 µg 12%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 32.7 g Not established

For FDC 2708333, approximate percentages divide the displayed 85 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708333 to 7 source inputs totaling 183 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “French toast, fast food / restaurant” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

7 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Bread, white, commercially prepared, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole, Milk, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

183 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Bread, white, commercially preparedUSDA ingredient 18069 · encyclopedia page available 90 GM 90 g 49.2%
2 Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available 50 GM 50 g 27.3%
3 Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available 16 GM 16 g 8.7%
4 Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available 8 GM 8 g 4.4%
5 Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available 7 GM 7 g 3.8%
6 Table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81100000 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 5.5%
7 Sugars, powderedUSDA ingredient 19336 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 1.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708333, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pancakes, waffles, French toast” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories310 kcal273 kcal+37 kcal
Protein9.8 g10.4 g−0.6 g
Carbohydrate35.7 g32.3 g+3.4 g
Total fat14.3 g11.4 g+2.9 g
Dietary fiber1.3 g1.2 g+0.1 g
Sodium357 mg302 mg+55 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 37 more calories, 2.9 g more total fat, and 55 mg more sodium than “French toast, plain.”

Only this record lists Table fat, NFS; Sugars, powdered. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Bread, white, commercially prepared; Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Milk, NFS; Sugars, granulated; and 1 more.

Listed only in this record: Table fat, NFS; Sugars, powdered.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice, any size (85 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice, any size (65 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708333 with FDC 2708335 at equal mass; use their 85 g and 65 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708333 versus FDC 2708335 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pancakes, waffles, french toast source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708333 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat.

For “French toast, fast food / restaurant,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708333 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 310 kcal per 100 g becomes 264 kcal at 85 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice, any size has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708333

FNDDS food code: 55300050

The scaling for FDC 2708333 can be exact while the match to “French toast, fast food / restaurant” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 85 g weight, 7-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.