Energy
middle half271 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 273 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 245–315 kcal
Based on 43 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 176 calories for 1 slice, any size (65 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 slice, any size · 65 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 slice, any size · 65 g
176calories
French toast, whole grain
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 176 calories for 1 slice, any size at 65 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 271 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 7.3 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 193 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches, representing 42.6% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice, any size at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708336: “French toast, whole grain.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708336, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 48.8 g | 132 kcal | 5.5 g | 1.3 g | 145 mg |
| 1 slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 65 g | 176 kcal | 7.3 g | 1.8 g | 193 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 81.3 g | 220 kcal | 9.2 g | 2.2 g | 241 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 43 exact records in the Pancakes, waffles, French toast USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708336’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half271 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter11.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter297 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 43 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708336’s 65 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A68.9 µg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.1 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium193 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “French toast, whole grain,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708335 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 48.8–81.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 132 kcal and 220 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.5 g more dietary fiber than “French toast, plain.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 5 input rows; Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches supplies 42.6% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “whole grain” fits. Inspect FDC 2708335 when “plain” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “whole grain”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFrench toast, whole grain | 65 g176 kcal | 271 kcal | 11.3 g | 11.6 g | 2.7 g | 297 mg |
| Pancakes, whole grain | 100 g273 kcal | 273 kcal | 7.9 g | 12.3 g | 3.2 g | 722 mg |
| French toast, plain | 65 g177 kcal | 273 kcal | 10.4 g | 11.4 g | 1.2 g | 302 mg |
| French toast, gluten free | 65 g172 kcal | 264 kcal | 7.8 g | 12.2 g | 2.2 g | 300 mg |
| French toast, frozen | 60 g110 kcal | 183 kcal | 7.2 g | 3.8 g | 1.1 g | 243 mg |
| Waffle, whole grain | 75 g273 kcal | 364 kcal | 9.2 g | 19.2 g | 3.8 g | 847 mg |
| Waffle, whole grain, frozen | 80 g231 kcal | 289 kcal | 6.8 g | 8.4 g | 4.1 g | 529 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708336: its source amount is 65 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708336, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
176 kcal
65 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708336, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
115.1 mg≈ 38% Daily ValueSaturated fat
2.1 g≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708336’s 65 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708336 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 7.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 65 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 176 kcal 271 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 7.3 g 11.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 19.8 g 30.4 g | 7% 11% |
| Total fat | 7.5 g 11.6 g | 10% 15% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 2.7 g | 6% 10% |
| Sugars | 6.5 g 10 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 193.1 mg 297 mg | 8% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 2.1 g 3.2 g | 10% 16% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.4 g 3.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2 g 3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 115.1 mg 177 mg | 38% 59% |
| Potassium | 111.2 mg 171 mg | 2% 4% |
| Calcium | 76.7 mg 118 mg | 6% 9% |
| Iron | 1.5 mg 2.3 mg | 8% 13% |
| Magnesium | 22.8 mg 35 mg | 5% 8% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.8 µg 1.2 µg | 4% 6% |
| Vitamin A | 68.9 µg 106 µg | 8% 12% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 29.3 g 45 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708336, approximate percentages divide the displayed 65 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708336 to 5 source inputs totaling 141 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “French toast, whole grain” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches, Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole, Milk, NFS. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
141 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995130 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 42.6% |
| 2 | Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg wholeUSDA ingredient 1123 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 35.5% |
| 3 | Milk, NFSUSDA ingredient 11100000 · encyclopedia page available | 16 GM | 16 g | 11.3% |
| 4 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 8 GM | 8 g | 5.7% |
| 5 | Oil or table fat, NFSUSDA ingredient 81200100 · encyclopedia page available | 7 GM | 7 g | 5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708336, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pancakes, waffles, French toast” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 271 kcal | 273 kcal | −2 kcal |
| Protein | 11.3 g | 10.4 g | +0.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 30.4 g | 32.3 g | −1.9 g |
| Total fat | 11.6 g | 11.4 g | +0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.7 g | 1.2 g | +1.5 g |
| Sodium | 297 mg | 302 mg | −5 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.5 g more dietary fiber than “French toast, plain.”
Only this record lists Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches. Only the comparison record lists Bread, white, commercially prepared. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Eggs, Grade A, Large, egg whole; Milk, NFS; Sugars, granulated; Oil or table fat, NFS.
Listed only in this record: Wheat bread as ingredient in sandwiches.
Listed only in the comparison: Bread, white, commercially prepared.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice, any size (65 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 65 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice, any size (65 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708336 with FDC 2708335 at equal mass; use their 65 g and 65 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708336 versus FDC 2708335 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pancakes, waffles, french toast source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708336 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “French toast, whole grain” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708336 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.
For “French toast, whole grain,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708336 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 271 kcal per 100 g becomes 176 kcal at 65 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice, any size has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708336
FNDDS food code: 55301015
The scaling for FDC 2708336 can be exact while the match to “French toast, whole grain” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 65 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.