Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Hamburger, fast food, 1 medium patty calories: 418 per 1 hamburger (145 g)

This exact USDA record reports 418 calories for 1 hamburger (145 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty

Quick facts

1 hamburger · 145 g

Calories
418 kcal
Protein
25.4 g
Carbohydrate
30 g
Total fat
20.9 g
Fiber
1 g
Sodium
515 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 hamburger · 145 g

418calories

Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty

Protein
25.4 g
Carbs
30 g
Fat
20.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706929

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 418 calories for 1 hamburger at 145 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 288 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 25.4 g protein, 1 g fiber, and 515 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled, representing 58.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 hamburger at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706929: “Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706929, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 108.8 g 313 kcal 19 g 0.8 g 386 mg
1 hamburgerUSDA-listed household measure 145 g 418 kcal 25.4 g 1 g 515 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 181.3 g 522 kcal 31.7 g 1.3 g 643 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Burgers

The comparison set contains 47 exact records in the Burgers USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706929’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

288 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
288 kcal
Middle 50%
269–297 kcal

Based on 47 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

17.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
17.9 g
Middle 50%
16.2–19.2 g

Based on 47 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1 g
Middle 50%
0.6–1.4 g

Based on 47 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

355 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
409 mg
Middle 50%
353–444 mg

Based on 47 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706929’s 145 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron4 mg

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium96 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat8 g

≈ 40% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium515 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706932 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 145 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 108.8–181.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 313 kcal and 522 kcal.

  2. 02

    Source identity: FDC 2706929 versus 2706932

    The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled supplies 58.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2706929 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty

Exact source wording
“Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706929 · FNDDS 27510601
Named qualifiers
from fast food · 1 medium patty

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Hamburger, on white bun, 1 medium patty

Exact source wording
“Hamburger, on white bun, 1 medium patty”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706932 · FNDDS 27510631
Named qualifiers
on white bun · 1 medium patty

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “from fast food” and “1 medium patty”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordHamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty 145 g418 kcal 288 kcal 17.5 g 14.4 g 0.7 g 355 mg
Hamburger, from fast food, 1 large patty 175 g506 kcal 289 kcal 18.4 g 15.6 g 0.6 g 351 mg
Hamburger, from fast food, 1 small patty 90 g257 kcal 285 kcal 15.5 g 11.7 g 1 g 396 mg
Cheeseburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty 165 g488 kcal 296 kcal 17.9 g 16.2 g 0.6 g 438 mg
Hamburger slider, from fast food 50 g143 kcal 285 kcal 15.3 g 11.4 g 1 g 400 mg
Hamburger, on white bun, 1 medium patty 145 g418 kcal 288 kcal 17.5 g 14.4 g 0.7 g 355 mg
Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty 145 g407 kcal 281 kcal 18.2 g 14.4 g 2.2 g 333 mg

How to compare FDC 2706929: its source amount is 145 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706929, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 hamburger

418 kcal

145 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706929, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

8 g≈ 40% Daily Value

Total fat

20.9 g≈ 27% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706929’s 145 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706929 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 25.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706929 at 145 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 515 mg sodium, about 22% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 145 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 418 kcal Not established
Protein 25.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 30 g 11%
Total fat 20.9 g 27%
Dietary fiber 1 g 4%
Sugars 4.4 g Not established
Sodium 514.8 mg 22%
Saturated fat 8 g 40%
Monounsaturated Fat 8.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 71.1 mg 24%
Potassium 332.1 mg 7%
Calcium 95.7 mg 7%
Iron 4.1 mg 23%
Magnesium 30.5 mg 7%
Vitamin C 0.7 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0.1 µg 1%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 66.3 g Not established

For FDC 2706929, approximate percentages divide the displayed 145 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706929 to 3 source inputs totaling 145.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled, Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plain, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

145.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Rolls, hamburger or hotdog, plainUSDA ingredient 18350 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 41.3%
2 Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiledUSDA ingredient 13317 · encyclopedia page available 85 GM 85 g 58.5%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.3%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706929, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Burgers” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Source-equivalent fields

Different source identities, matching published reference fields

Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2706929 and FDC 2706932 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.

Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706929 versus FDC 2706932 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full burgers source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings.

For “Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  4. 04

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706929 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 288 kcal per 100 g becomes 418 kcal at 145 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 hamburger has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706929

FNDDS food code: 27510601

The scaling for FDC 2706929 can be exact while the match to “Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 145 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.