Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty calories: 407 per 1 hamburger (145 g)

This exact USDA record reports 407 calories for 1 hamburger (145 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 hamburger · 145 g

Calories
407 kcal
Protein
26.4 g
Carbohydrate
27.1 g
Total fat
20.9 g
Fiber
3.2 g
Sodium
483 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 hamburger · 145 g

407calories

Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty

Protein
26.4 g
Carbs
27.1 g
Fat
20.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706933

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 407 calories for 1 hamburger at 145 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 281 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 26.4 g protein, 3.2 g fiber, and 483 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled, representing 58.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 hamburger at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706933: “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706933, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 108.8 g 306 kcal 19.8 g 2.4 g 362 mg
1 hamburgerUSDA-listed household measure 145 g 407 kcal 26.4 g 3.2 g 483 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 181.3 g 509 kcal 33 g 4 g 604 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Burgers

The comparison set contains 47 exact records in the Burgers USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706933’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

281 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
288 kcal
Middle 50%
269–297 kcal

Based on 47 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

18.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
17.9 g
Middle 50%
16.2–19.2 g

Based on 47 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

2.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1 g
Middle 50%
0.6–1.4 g

Based on 47 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

333 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
409 mg
Middle 50%
353–444 mg

Based on 47 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706933’s 145 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron4 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Magnesium49 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat7.9 g

≈ 39% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium483 mg

≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706928 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 145 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 108.8–181.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 306 kcal and 509 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706928

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.2 g less dietary fiber than “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled supplies 58.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “on wheat bun; 1 medium patty” fits. Inspect FDC 2706928 when “on wheat bun; 1 small patty” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty

Exact source wording
“Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706933 · FNDDS 27510632
Named qualifiers
on wheat bun · 1 medium patty

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty

Exact source wording
“Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706928 · FNDDS 27510576
Named qualifiers
on wheat bun · 1 small patty

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “on wheat bun” and “1 medium patty”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordHamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty 145 g407 kcal 281 kcal 18.2 g 14.4 g 2.2 g 333 mg
Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty 115 g322 kcal 280 kcal 17.8 g 13.9 g 2.4 g 337 mg
Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 large patty 175 g495 kcal 283 kcal 19 g 15.7 g 1.8 g 333 mg
Hamburger, on white bun, 1 medium patty 145 g418 kcal 288 kcal 17.5 g 14.4 g 0.7 g 355 mg
Cheeseburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty 165 g480 kcal 291 kcal 18.5 g 16.2 g 1.9 g 418 mg
Hamburger, on white bun, 1 small patty 115 g330 kcal 287 kcal 17.1 g 13.8 g 0.8 g 361 mg
Hamburger, from fast food, 1 medium patty 145 g418 kcal 288 kcal 17.5 g 14.4 g 0.7 g 355 mg

How to compare FDC 2706933: its source amount is 145 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706933, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 hamburger

407 kcal

145 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706933, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

7.9 g≈ 39% Daily Value

Total fat

20.9 g≈ 27% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706933’s 145 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706933 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 26.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706933 at 145 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 3.2 g dietary fiber, about 11% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 483 mg sodium, about 21% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 145 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 407 kcal Not established
Protein 26.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 27.1 g 10%
Total fat 20.9 g 27%
Dietary fiber 3.2 g 11%
Sugars 3.1 g Not established
Sodium 482.9 mg 21%
Saturated fat 7.9 g 39%
Monounsaturated Fat 8.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 71.1 mg 24%
Potassium 371.2 mg 8%
Calcium 105.9 mg 8%
Iron 3.9 mg 22%
Magnesium 49.3 mg 12%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.1 µg 1%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 67.9 g Not established

For FDC 2706933, approximate percentages divide the displayed 145 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706933 to 3 source inputs totaling 145.4 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled, Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

145.4 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995135 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 41.3%
2 Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiledUSDA ingredient 13317 · encyclopedia page available 85 GM 85 g 58.5%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.4 GM 0.4 g 0.3%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706933, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Burgers” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories281 kcal280 kcal+1 kcal
Protein18.2 g17.8 g+0.4 g
Carbohydrate18.7 g20.1 g−1.4 g
Total fat14.4 g13.9 g+0.5 g
Dietary fiber2.2 g2.4 g−0.2 g
Sodium333 mg337 mg−4 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches; Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled; Salt, table.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 145 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 hamburger (145 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 hamburger (115 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706933 with FDC 2706928 at equal mass; use their 145 g and 115 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706933 versus FDC 2706928 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full burgers source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706933 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 281 kcal per 100 g becomes 407 kcal at 145 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 hamburger has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706933

FNDDS food code: 27510632

The scaling for FDC 2706933 can be exact while the match to “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 145 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.