Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty calories: 322 per 1 hamburger (115 g)

This exact USDA record reports 322 calories for 1 hamburger (115 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 hamburger · 115 g

Calories
322 kcal
Protein
20.5 g
Carbohydrate
23.1 g
Total fat
16 g
Fiber
2.8 g
Sodium
388 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 hamburger · 115 g

322calories

Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty

Protein
20.5 g
Carbs
23.1 g
Fat
16 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706928

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 322 calories for 1 hamburger at 115 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 280 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 20.5 g protein, 2.8 g fiber, and 388 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled, representing 55.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 hamburger at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706928: “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706928, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 86.3 g 242 kcal 15.4 g 2.1 g 291 mg
1 hamburgerUSDA-listed household measure 115 g 322 kcal 20.5 g 2.8 g 388 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 143.8 g 403 kcal 25.6 g 3.5 g 484 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Burgers

The comparison set contains 47 exact records in the Burgers USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706928’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

280 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
288 kcal
Middle 50%
269–297 kcal

Based on 47 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

17.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
17.9 g
Middle 50%
16.2–19.2 g

Based on 47 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

2.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1 g
Middle 50%
0.6–1.4 g

Based on 47 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

337 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
409 mg
Middle 50%
353–444 mg

Based on 47 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706928’s 115 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron3 mg

≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber2.8 g

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat6 g

≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium388 mg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706933 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 115 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 86.3–143.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 242 kcal and 403 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706933

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.2 g more dietary fiber than “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled

    The source formulation has 3 input rows; Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled supplies 55.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “on wheat bun; 1 small patty” fits. Inspect FDC 2706933 when “on wheat bun; 1 medium patty” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty

Exact source wording
“Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706928 · FNDDS 27510576
Named qualifiers
on wheat bun · 1 small patty

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty

Exact source wording
“Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706933 · FNDDS 27510632
Named qualifiers
on wheat bun · 1 medium patty

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “on wheat bun” and “1 small patty”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordHamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty 115 g322 kcal 280 kcal 17.8 g 13.9 g 2.4 g 337 mg
Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 medium patty 145 g407 kcal 281 kcal 18.2 g 14.4 g 2.2 g 333 mg
Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 large patty 175 g495 kcal 283 kcal 19 g 15.7 g 1.8 g 333 mg
Hamburger, on white bun, 1 small patty 115 g330 kcal 287 kcal 17.1 g 13.8 g 0.8 g 361 mg
Cheeseburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty 135 g394 kcal 292 kcal 18.2 g 16.1 g 2 g 439 mg
Double hamburger, on wheat bun, 2 small patties 180 g513 kcal 285 kcal 19.6 g 16.7 g 1.5 g 328 mg
Hamburger, from fast food, 1 small patty 90 g257 kcal 285 kcal 15.5 g 11.7 g 1 g 396 mg

How to compare FDC 2706928: its source amount is 115 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706928, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 hamburger

322 kcal

115 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706928, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

6 g≈ 30% Daily Value

Total fat

16 g≈ 21% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706928’s 115 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706928 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 20.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706928 at 115 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 388 mg sodium, about 17% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 115 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 322 kcal Not established
Protein 20.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 23.1 g 8%
Total fat 16 g 20%
Dietary fiber 2.8 g 10%
Sugars 2.7 g Not established
Sodium 387.6 mg 17%
Saturated fat 6 g 30%
Monounsaturated Fat 6.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 54.1 mg 18%
Potassium 291 mg 6%
Calcium 89.7 mg 7%
Iron 3.2 mg 18%
Magnesium 41.4 mg 10%
Vitamin C 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.1 µg 1%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 53.1 g Not established

For FDC 2706928, approximate percentages divide the displayed 115 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706928 to 3 source inputs totaling 117.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

3 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled, Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

117.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99995135 · encyclopedia page available 52 GM 52 g 44.3%
2 Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiledUSDA ingredient 13317 · encyclopedia page available 65 GM 65 g 55.4%
3 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 0.3 GM 0.3 g 0.3%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706928, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Burgers” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories280 kcal281 kcal−1 kcal
Protein17.8 g18.2 g−0.4 g
Carbohydrate20.1 g18.7 g+1.4 g
Total fat13.9 g14.4 g−0.5 g
Dietary fiber2.4 g2.2 g+0.2 g
Sodium337 mg333 mg+4 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Wheat bun as ingredient in sandwiches; Beef, ground, patties, frozen, cooked, broiled; Salt, table.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 115 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 hamburger (115 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 145 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 hamburger (145 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706928 with FDC 2706933 at equal mass; use their 115 g and 145 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706928 versus FDC 2706933 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full burgers source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706928 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 280 kcal per 100 g becomes 322 kcal at 115 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 hamburger has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706928

FNDDS food code: 27510576

The scaling for FDC 2706928 can be exact while the match to “Hamburger, on wheat bun, 1 small patty” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 115 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.