Energy
middle half268 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 236 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 208–271 kcal
Based on 21 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 228 calories for 1 ham hock (85 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 ham hock · 85 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 ham hock · 85 g
228calories
Pork, ham hocks
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 228 calories for 1 ham hock at 85 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 268 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 12.4 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 884 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roasted, representing 69.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 ham hock at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 228–375 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705900: “Pork, ham hocks.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705900, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 63.8 g | 171 kcal | 9.3 g | 0 g | 663 mg |
| 1 ham hockUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 228 kcal | 12.4 g | 0 g | 884 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 140 g | 375 kcal | 20.4 g | 0 g | 1,456 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 21 exact records in the Pork USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705900’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half268 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter14.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter1,040 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 21 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705900’s 85 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Sodium884 mg
≈ 38% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.9 g
≈ 34% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pork, ham hocks,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705901 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 85 g and 140 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 228 kcal to 375 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 592 mg more sodium than “Pork, belly.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roasted supplies 69.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “ham hocks” fits. Inspect FDC 2705901 when “belly” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “ham hocks”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPork, ham hocks | 85 g228 kcal | 268 kcal | 14.6 g | 22.8 g | 0 g | 1,040 mg |
| Pork, carnitas | 135 g366 kcal | 271 kcal | 24.6 g | 18.3 g | 0 g | 440 mg |
| Pork, ribs | 105 g267 kcal | 254 kcal | 16.2 g | 15.1 g | 0.3 g | 678 mg |
| Pork, ground | 85 g254 kcal | 299 kcal | 26.9 g | 21.2 g | 0 g | 395 mg |
| Pork, ears | 85 g201 kcal | 236 kcal | 26.2 g | 13.8 g | 0 g | 364 mg |
| Pork, bones | 45 g106 kcal | 236 kcal | 26.2 g | 13.8 g | 0 g | 364 mg |
| Pork, steak, coated | 120 g330 kcal | 275 kcal | 24.2 g | 15.8 g | 0.4 g | 352 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705900: its source amount is 85 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705900, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
228 kcal
85 g
375 kcal
140 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705900, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
884 mg≈ 38% Daily ValueSaturated fat
6.9 g≈ 35% Daily ValueTotal fat
19.4 g≈ 25% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705900’s 85 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705900 at 85 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 85 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 228 kcal 268 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 12.4 g 14.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0.9 g 1.1 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 19.4 g 22.8 g | 25% 29% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0.9 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 884 mg 1,040 mg | 38% 45% |
| Saturated fat | 6.9 g 8.1 g | 34% 41% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 8.5 g 10 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 3.2 g 3.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 51 mg 60 mg | 17% 20% |
| Potassium | 218.5 mg 257 mg | 5% 5% |
| Calcium | 11.1 mg 13 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 0.6 mg 0.7 mg | 3% 4% |
| Magnesium | 13.6 mg 16 mg | 3% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.9 µg 1 µg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin A | 13.6 µg 16 µg | 2% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 49.6 g 58.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705900, approximate percentages divide the displayed 85 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705900 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.5 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pork, ham hocks” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roasted, Pork, fresh, separable fat, cooked, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.5 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roastedUSDA ingredient 10879 · encyclopedia page available | 70 GM | 70 g | 69.7% |
| 2 | Pork, fresh, separable fat, cookedUSDA ingredient 10007 · encyclopedia page available | 30 GM | 30 g | 29.9% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.5 GM | 0.5 g | 0.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705900, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pork” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 268 kcal | 404 kcal | −136 kcal |
| Protein | 14.6 g | 26.6 g | −12 g |
| Carbohydrate | 1.1 g | 0 g | +1.1 g |
| Total fat | 22.8 g | 32.2 g | −9.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 1,040 mg | 448 mg | +592 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 136 less calories, 12 g less protein, and 9.4 g less total fat than “Pork, belly.”
Only this record lists Pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roasted. Only the comparison record lists Pork, fresh, backribs, separable lean and fat, cooked, roasted. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Pork, fresh, separable fat, cooked; Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Pork, cured, ham -- water added, whole, boneless, separable lean only, heated, roasted.
Listed only in the comparison: Pork, fresh, backribs, separable lean and fat, cooked, roasted.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 ham hock (85 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice, any size (30 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705900 with FDC 2705901 at equal mass; use their 85 g and 60 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705900 versus FDC 2705901 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pork source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Pork, ham hocks” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705900 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Pork, ham hocks,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705900 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 268 kcal per 100 g becomes 228 kcal at 85 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 ham hock has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705900
FNDDS food code: 22708010
The scaling for FDC 2705900 can be exact while the match to “Pork, ham hocks” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 85 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.