Energy
lower quarter93 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 125 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 116–131 kcal
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 265 calories for 1 medium (285 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium · 285 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium · 285 g
265calories
Potato, baked, peel not eaten
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 265 calories for 1 medium at 285 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 93 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.6 g protein, 4.3 g fiber, and 516 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, representing 99.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 121–372 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709384: “Potato, baked, peel not eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709384, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cup” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 130 g | 121 kcal | 2.5 g | 2 g | 235 mg |
| 1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure | 285 g | 265 kcal | 5.6 g | 4.3 g | 516 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 400 g | 372 kcal | 7.8 g | 6 g | 724 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the White potatoes, baked or boiled USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2709384’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter93 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half181 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 34 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709384’s 285 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C36 mg
≈ 40% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium1,109 mg
≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium516 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Potato, baked, peel not eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709524 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 130 g and 400 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 121 kcal to 372 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.7 g less dietary fiber than “Potato, baked, peel eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt supplies 99.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “baked; peel not eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2709524 when “baked; peel eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “baked” and “peel not eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPotato, baked, peel not eaten | 285 g265 kcal | 93 kcal | 2 g | 0.1 g | 1.5 g | 181 mg |
| Potato, baked, peel eaten | 285 g265 kcal | 93 kcal | 2.5 g | 0.1 g | 2.2 g | 186 mg |
| Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with butter | 315 g394 kcal | 125 kcal | 1.9 g | 4.2 g | 1.4 g | 198 mg |
| Potato, baked, peel eaten, with butter | 315 g394 kcal | 125 kcal | 2.4 g | 4.2 g | 2.1 g | 203 mg |
| Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with vegetables | 315 g447 kcal | 142 kcal | 3.7 g | 6.3 g | 1.4 g | 224 mg |
| Potato, baked, peel eaten, with vegetables | 315 g447 kcal | 142 kcal | 4.1 g | 6.4 g | 2 g | 228 mg |
| Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili | 315 g450 kcal | 143 kcal | 4.5 g | 6.2 g | 1.6 g | 255 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709384: its source amount is 285 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709384, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
214 kcal
230 g
265 kcal
285 g
372 kcal
400 g
121 kcal
130 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709384, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin C
36.2 mg≈ 40% Daily ValuePotassium
1,108.7 mg≈ 24% Daily ValueSodium
515.9 mg≈ 22% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709384’s 285 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2709384 at 285 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 285 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 265 kcal 93 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.6 g 2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 61 g 21.4 g | 22% 8% |
| Total fat | 0.3 g 0.1 g | 0% 0% |
| Dietary fiber | 4.3 g 1.5 g | 15% 5% |
| Sugars | 4.8 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 515.9 mg 181 mg | 22% 8% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 1,108.7 mg 389 mg | 24% 8% |
| Calcium | 14.3 mg 5 mg | 1% 0% |
| Iron | 1 mg 0.4 mg | 6% 2% |
| Magnesium | 71.3 mg 25 mg | 17% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 36.2 mg 12.7 mg | 40% 14% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 214 g 75.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709384, approximate percentages divide the displayed 285 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709384 to 2 source inputs totaling 286.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, baked, peel not eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
286.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Potatoes, baked, flesh, without saltUSDA ingredient 11363 · encyclopedia page available | 285 GM | 285 g | 99.5% |
| 2 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1.3 GM | 1.3 g | 0.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709384, the close-record rule searches the USDA “White potatoes, baked or boiled” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 93 kcal | 93 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 2 g | 2.5 g | −0.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 21.4 g | 21 g | +0.4 g |
| Total fat | 0.1 g | 0.1 g | −0 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.5 g | 2.2 g | −0.7 g |
| Sodium | 181 mg | 186 mg | −5 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 0.7 g less dietary fiber than “Potato, baked, peel eaten.”
Only this record lists Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt. Only the comparison record lists Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt.
Listed only in the comparison: Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 285 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (285 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 285 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (285 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709384 with FDC 2709524 at equal mass; use their 285 g and 285 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709384 versus FDC 2709524 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full white potatoes, baked or boiled source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Potato, baked, peel not eaten” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2709384 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.
For “Potato, baked, peel not eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709384 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 93 kcal per 100 g becomes 265 kcal at 285 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709384
FNDDS food code: 71101000
The scaling for FDC 2709384 can be exact while the match to “Potato, baked, peel not eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 285 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.