Vegetablesmoderate variability

Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili calories: 450 per 1 medium (315 g)

This exact USDA record reports 450 calories for 1 medium (315 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium · 315 g

Calories
450 kcal
Protein
14 g
Carbohydrate
55.4 g
Total fat
19.6 g
Fiber
5 g
Sodium
803 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium · 315 g

450calories

Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili

Protein
14 g
Carbs
55.4 g
Fat
19.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709522

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 450 calories for 1 medium at 315 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 143 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 14 g protein, 5 g fiber, and 803 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, representing 73.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 229–636 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709522: “Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709522, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cup” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 160 g 229 kcal 7.1 g 2.6 g 408 mg
1 mediumUSDA-listed household measure 315 g 450 kcal 14 g 5 g 803 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 445 g 636 kcal 19.8 g 7.1 g 1,135 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside White potatoes, baked or boiled

The comparison set contains 34 exact records in the White potatoes, baked or boiled USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2709522’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

143 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
125 kcal
Middle 50%
116–131 kcal

Based on 34 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

4.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.4 g
Middle 50%
1.9–2.5 g

Based on 34 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.7 g
Middle 50%
1.4–2.1 g

Based on 34 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

255 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
185 mg
Middle 50%
165–217 mg

Based on 34 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709522’s 315 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C32 mg

≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium1,055 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat10.6 g

≈ 53% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium803 mg

≈ 35% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709529 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cup to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 160 g and 445 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 229 kcal to 636 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709529

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.5 g less dietary fiber than “Potato, baked, peel eaten, with chili.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt

    The source formulation has 5 input rows; Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt supplies 73.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “baked; peel not eaten; with chili” fits. Inspect FDC 2709529 when “baked; peel eaten; with chili” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili

Exact source wording
“Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709522 · FNDDS 71507030
Named qualifiers
baked · peel not eaten · with chili
Source inputs unique in this pair
Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Potato, baked, peel eaten, with chili

Exact source wording
“Potato, baked, peel eaten, with chili”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709529 · FNDDS 71508030
Named qualifiers
baked · peel eaten · with chili
Source inputs unique in this pair
Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “baked”, “peel not eaten”, and “with chili”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPotato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili 315 g450 kcal 143 kcal 4.5 g 6.2 g 1.6 g 255 mg
Potato, baked, peel eaten, with chili 315 g450 kcal 143 kcal 4.9 g 6.2 g 2.1 g 259 mg
Potato, baked, peel not eaten 285 g265 kcal 93 kcal 2 g 0.1 g 1.5 g 181 mg
Potato, baked, peel eaten 285 g265 kcal 93 kcal 2.5 g 0.1 g 2.2 g 186 mg
Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with vegetables 315 g447 kcal 142 kcal 3.7 g 6.3 g 1.4 g 224 mg
Potato, baked, peel eaten, with vegetables 315 g447 kcal 142 kcal 4.1 g 6.4 g 2 g 228 mg
Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with cheese 315 g482 kcal 153 kcal 3.7 g 7.7 g 1.2 g 221 mg

How to compare FDC 2709522: its source amount is 315 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709522, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small

372 kcal

260 g

1 medium

450 kcal

315 g

1 large

636 kcal

445 g

1 cup

229 kcal

160 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709522, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

10.6 g≈ 53% Daily Value

Vitamin C

32.4 mg≈ 36% Daily Value

Sodium

803.3 mg≈ 35% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709522’s 315 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2709522 at 315 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 5 g dietary fiber, about 18% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 803 mg sodium, about 35% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 315 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 450 kcal Not established
Protein 14 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 55.4 g 20%
Total fat 19.6 g 25%
Dietary fiber 5 g 18%
Sugars 4.8 g Not established
Sodium 803.3 mg 35%
Saturated fat 10.6 g 53%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 59.9 mg 20%
Potassium 1,055.3 mg 22%
Calcium 185.9 mg 14%
Iron 1.7 mg 10%
Magnesium 75.6 mg 18%
Vitamin C 32.4 mg 36%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 2%
Vitamin A 170.1 µg 19%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 220.8 g Not established

For FDC 2709522, approximate percentages divide the displayed 315 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709522 to 5 source inputs totaling 389.3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

5 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt, Chili with meat, canned, Cheese, cheddar. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

389.3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Potatoes, baked, flesh, without saltUSDA ingredient 11363 · encyclopedia page available 285 GM 285 g 73.2%
2 Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available 1.3 GM 1.3 g 0.3%
3 Butter, stick, saltedUSDA ingredient 1001 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 3.9%
4 Cheese, cheddarUSDA ingredient 1009 · encyclopedia page available 28 GM 28 g 7.2%
5 Chili with meat, cannedUSDA ingredient 27111407 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 15.4%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709522, the close-record rule searches the USDA “White potatoes, baked or boiled” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories143 kcal143 kcalSame listed value
Protein4.5 g4.9 g−0.4 g
Carbohydrate17.6 g17.3 g+0.3 g
Total fat6.2 g6.2 g−0 g
Dietary fiber1.6 g2.1 g−0.5 g
Sodium255 mg259 mg−4 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 0.5 g less dietary fiber than “Potato, baked, peel eaten, with chili.”

Only this record lists Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt. Only the comparison record lists Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Salt, table; Butter, stick, salted; Cheese, cheddar; Chili with meat, canned.

Listed only in this record: Potatoes, baked, flesh, without salt.

Listed only in the comparison: Potatoes, baked, flesh and skin, without salt.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 315 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (315 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 315 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium (315 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709522 with FDC 2709529 at equal mass; use their 315 g and 315 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709522 versus FDC 2709529 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full white potatoes, baked or boiled source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.

For “Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    raw versus cooked weight

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    added fat or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709522 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 143 kcal per 100 g becomes 450 kcal at 315 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709522

FNDDS food code: 71507030

The scaling for FDC 2709522 can be exact while the match to “Potato, baked, peel not eaten, with chili” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 315 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.