Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat calories: 513 per 1 medium/regular (147 g)

This exact USDA record reports 513 calories for 1 medium/regular (147 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium/regular · 147 g

Calories
513 kcal
Protein
16.9 g
Carbohydrate
78.5 g
Total fat
14.6 g
Fiber
1.9 g
Sodium
644 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium/regular · 147 g

513calories

Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat

Protein
16.9 g
Carbs
78.5 g
Fat
14.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708275

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 513 calories for 1 medium/regular at 147 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 349 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 16.9 g protein, 1.9 g fiber, and 644 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pretzels, soft, unsalted, representing 74.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium/regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 49–611 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708275: “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708275, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 bite size/nugget” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 bite size/nuggetUSDA-listed household measure 14 g 49 kcal 1.6 g 0.2 g 61 mg
1 medium/regularUSDA-listed household measure 147 g 513 kcal 16.9 g 1.9 g 644 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 175 g 611 kcal 20.1 g 2.3 g 767 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pretzels/snack mix

The comparison set contains 37 exact records in the Pretzels/snack mix USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708275’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

349 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
370 kcal
Middle 50%
340–388 kcal

Based on 37 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

11.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
8.2 g
Middle 50%
6.2–9.9 g

Based on 37 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

1.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.8 g
Middle 50%
1.6–3.5 g

Based on 37 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

438 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
685 mg
Middle 50%
310–1,040 mg

Based on 37 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708275’s 147 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron5 mg

≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium141 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium644 mg

≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat5.6 g

≈ 28% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708282 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 bite size/nugget to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 14 g and 175 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 49 kcal to 611 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708282

    At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, topped with meat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Pretzels, soft, unsalted

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pretzels, soft, unsalted supplies 74.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “soft; ready-to-eat; topped with meat” fits. Inspect FDC 2708282 when “soft; from frozen; topped with meat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat

Exact source wording
“Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708275 · FNDDS 54408430
Named qualifiers
soft · ready-to-eat · topped with meat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pretzels, soft, from frozen, topped with meat

Exact source wording
“Pretzels, soft, from frozen, topped with meat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708282 · FNDDS 54408465
Named qualifiers
soft · from frozen · topped with meat

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “soft”, “ready-to-eat”, and “topped with meat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat 147 g513 kcal 349 kcal 11.5 g 9.9 g 1.3 g 438 mg
Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with cheese 147 g498 kcal 339 kcal 10.2 g 5.4 g 1.5 g 310 mg
Pretzels, soft, from frozen, topped with meat 71 g248 kcal 349 kcal 11.5 g 9.9 g 1.3 g 438 mg
Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, unsalted, buttered 120 g420 kcal 350 kcal 8.1 g 4.1 g 1.7 g 250 mg
Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, salted, buttered 120 g414 kcal 345 kcal 8 g 4 g 1.7 g 775 mg
Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, unsalted, no butter 120 g414 kcal 345 kcal 8.2 g 3.1 g 1.7 g 252 mg
Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, salted, no butter 120 g408 kcal 340 kcal 8.1 g 3.1 g 1.7 g 783 mg

How to compare FDC 2708275: its source amount is 147 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708275, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 bite size/nugget

49 kcal

14 g

1 small

258 kcal

74 g

1 medium/regular

513 kcal

147 g

1 large

611 kcal

175 g

1 pretzel, NS as to size

513 kcal

147 g

1 pretzel stick

87 kcal

25 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708275, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

78.5 g≈ 29% Daily Value

Sodium

643.9 mg≈ 28% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708275’s 147 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708275 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 16.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708275 at 147 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 644 mg sodium, about 28% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 147 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 513 kcal Not established
Protein 16.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 78.5 g 29%
Total fat 14.6 g 19%
Dietary fiber 1.9 g 7%
Sugars 0.7 g Not established
Sodium 643.9 mg 28%
Saturated fat 5.6 g 28%
Monounsaturated Fat 5.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 29.4 mg 10%
Potassium 177.9 mg 4%
Calcium 141.1 mg 11%
Iron 4.6 mg 25%
Magnesium 30.9 mg 7%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.3 µg 1%
Vitamin A 35.3 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 32.8 g Not established

For FDC 2708275, approximate percentages divide the displayed 147 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708275 to 4 source inputs totaling 135 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pretzels, soft, unsalted, Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim, Pepperoni, beef and pork, sliced. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

135 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pretzels, soft, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 25024 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 74.1%
2 Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skimUSDA ingredient 1029 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 11.1%
3 Pepperoni, beef and pork, slicedUSDA ingredient 7057 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 7.4%
4 Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-friedUSDA ingredient 7089 · encyclopedia page available 10 GM 10 g 7.4%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708275, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pretzels/snack mix” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories349 kcal349 kcalSame listed value
Protein11.5 g11.5 gSame listed value
Carbohydrate53.4 g53.4 gSame listed value
Total fat9.9 g9.9 gSame listed value
Dietary fiber1.3 g1.3 gSame listed value
Sodium438 mg438 mgSame listed value

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations match

The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.

Shared listed inputs: Pretzels, soft, unsalted; Cheese, mozzarella, low moisture, part-skim; Pepperoni, beef and pork, sliced; Sausage, Italian, pork, mild, cooked, pan-fried.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 147 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium/regular (147 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 71 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium/regular (71 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708275 with FDC 2708282 at equal mass; use their 147 g and 71 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708275 versus FDC 2708282 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pretzels/snack mix source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708275 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 349 kcal per 100 g becomes 513 kcal at 147 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium/regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708275

FNDDS food code: 54408430

The scaling for FDC 2708275 can be exact while the match to “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 147 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.