Energy
lower quarter118 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 134 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 126–156 kcal
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 352 calories for 1 Stouffer's meal (298 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 Stouffer's meal · 298 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 Stouffer's meal (10.5 oz) · 298 g
352calories
Beef with spaetzle or rice, vegetable, frozen meal
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 352 calories for 1 Stouffer's meal at 298 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 118 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 20.6 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 828 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked, representing 32.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 14 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 Stouffer's meal at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 284–352 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707104: “Beef with spaetzle or rice, vegetable, frozen meal.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707104, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 Stouffer's meal (10.5 oz)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 223.5 g | 264 kcal | 15.5 g | 1.3 g | 621 mg |
| 1 Budget Gourmet (8.5 oz)USDA-listed household measure | 241 g | 284 kcal | 16.7 g | 1.4 g | 670 mg |
| 1 Stouffer's meal (10.5 oz)USDA-listed household measure | 298 g | 352 kcal | 20.6 g | 1.8 g | 828 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 197 exact records in the Meat mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707104’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter118 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter278 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 197 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707104’s 298 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C52 mg
≈ 58% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium828 mg
≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.7 g
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Beef with spaetzle or rice, vegetable, frozen meal,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707097 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 241 g and 298 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 284 kcal to 352 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.5 g more carbohydrate than “Beef with vegetable, diet frozen meal.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 14 input rows; Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked supplies 32.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “vegetable; frozen meal” fits. Inspect FDC 2707097 when “diet frozen meal” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “vegetable” and “frozen meal”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBeef with spaetzle or rice, vegetable, frozen meal | 298 g352 kcal | 118 kcal | 6.9 g | 4.4 g | 0.6 g | 278 mg |
| Beef with vegetable, diet frozen meal | 284 g355 kcal | 125 kcal | 10.6 g | 7 g | 0.8 g | 292 mg |
| Beef, sliced, with gravy, potatoes, vegetable, frozen meal | 312 g390 kcal | 125 kcal | 8.1 g | 7.3 g | 0.7 g | 296 mg |
| Beef curry with rice | 200 g238 kcal | 119 kcal | 5.6 g | 4.1 g | 1 g | 314 mg |
| Beef and rice with gravy | 277 g379 kcal | 137 kcal | 6.3 g | 5.1 g | 0.2 g | 315 mg |
| Beef and rice, no sauce | 245 g358 kcal | 146 kcal | 7.3 g | 5 g | 0.2 g | 312 mg |
| Beef and rice with mushroom sauce | 310 g419 kcal | 135 kcal | 6.3 g | 5.2 g | 0.4 g | 313 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707104: its source amount is 298 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707104, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
352 kcal
298 g
284 kcal
241 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707104, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin C
51.9 mg≈ 58% Daily ValueSodium
828.4 mg≈ 36% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707104’s 298 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707104 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 20.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707104 at 298 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 298 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 352 kcal 118 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 20.6 g 6.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 36.4 g 12.2 g | 13% 4% |
| Total fat | 13 g 4.4 g | 17% 6% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 0.6 g | 6% 2% |
| Sugars | 3.7 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 828.4 mg 278 mg | 36% 12% |
| Saturated fat | 3.7 g 1.2 g | 18% 6% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.7 g 1.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.1 g 0.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 47.7 mg 16 mg | 16% 5% |
| Potassium | 444 mg 149 mg | 9% 3% |
| Calcium | 23.8 mg 8 mg | 2% 1% |
| Iron | 3.1 mg 1.1 mg | 17% 6% |
| Magnesium | 38.7 mg 13 mg | 9% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 51.9 mg 17.4 mg | 58% 19% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 20.9 µg 7 µg | 2% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 223.5 g 75 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707104, approximate percentages divide the displayed 298 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707104 to 14 source inputs totaling 246 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Beef with spaetzle or rice, vegetable, frozen meal” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked, Beef, round, full cut, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, choice, cooked, broiled, Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serve. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
246 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beef, round, full cut, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, choice, cooked, broiledUSDA ingredient 13865 | 50 GM | 50 g | 20.3% |
| 2 | Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cookedUSDA ingredient 20045 · encyclopedia page available | 80 GM | 80 g | 32.5% |
| 3 | Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serveUSDA ingredient 6008 · encyclopedia page available | 29.1 GM | 29.1 g | 11.8% |
| 4 | Peppers, sweet, green, cooked, boiled, drained, without saltUSDA ingredient 11334 · encyclopedia page available | 28.3 GM | 28.3 g | 11.5% |
| 5 | Beverages, water, tap, municipalUSDA ingredient 14429 · encyclopedia page available | 21.8 GM | 21.8 g | 8.9% |
| 6 | Peppers, jalapeno, rawUSDA ingredient 11979 · encyclopedia page available | 21.4 GM | 21.4 g | 8.7% |
| 7 | Waterchestnuts, chinese, canned, solids and liquidsUSDA ingredient 11590 · encyclopedia page available | 3 GM | 3 g | 1.2% |
| 8 | Soy sauce made from soy and wheat (shoyu)USDA ingredient 16123 · encyclopedia page available | 2.8 GM | 2.8 g | 1.1% |
| 9 | CornstarchUSDA ingredient 20027 · encyclopedia page available | 2.8 GM | 2.8 g | 1.1% |
| 10 | Vegetable oil, NFSUSDA ingredient 82101000 · encyclopedia page available | 3 GM | 3 g | 1.2% |
| 11 | Oil, canolaUSDA ingredient 4582 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.3% |
| 12 | Tomato products, canned, paste, without salt added (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)USDA ingredient 11546 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 0.4% |
| 13 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 0.4% |
| 14 | Sugars, granulatedUSDA ingredient 19335 · encyclopedia page available | 1 GM | 1 g | 0.4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707104, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Meat mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 118 kcal | 125 kcal | −7 kcal |
| Protein | 6.9 g | 10.6 g | −3.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 12.2 g | 4.7 g | +7.5 g |
| Total fat | 4.4 g | 7 g | −2.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.6 g | 0.8 g | −0.2 g |
| Sodium | 278 mg | 292 mg | −14 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.7 g less protein, 7.5 g more carbohydrate, and 2.6 g less total fat than “Beef with vegetable, diet frozen meal.”
Only this record lists Beef, round, full cut, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, choice, cooked, broiled; Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked; Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serve; Peppers, jalapeno, raw. Only the comparison record lists Beef, ground, 75% lean meat / 25% fat, crumbles, cooked, pan-browned; Carrots, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; Whey, sweet, dried; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Peppers, sweet, green, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; Beverages, water, tap, municipal; Tomato products, canned, paste, without salt added (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program); Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Beef, round, full cut, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, choice, cooked, broiled; Rice, white, long-grain, regular, enriched, cooked; Soup, beef broth or bouillon canned, ready-to-serve; Peppers, jalapeno, raw; and 6 more.
Listed only in the comparison: Beef, ground, 75% lean meat / 25% fat, crumbles, cooked, pan-browned; Carrots, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt; Whey, sweet, dried; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, enriched, bleached; and 1 more.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 298 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 Stouffer's meal (298 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 284 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 meal (284 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707104 with FDC 2707097 at equal mass; use their 298 g and 284 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707104 versus FDC 2707097 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full meat mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.
For “Beef with spaetzle or rice, vegetable, frozen meal,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707104 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 118 kcal per 100 g becomes 352 kcal at 298 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 Stouffer's meal has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707104
FNDDS food code: 28113140
The scaling for FDC 2707104 can be exact while the match to “Beef with spaetzle or rice, vegetable, frozen meal” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 298 g weight, 14-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.