Energy
middle half264 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 267 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 248–300 kcal
Based on 46 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 475 calories for 1 regular (180 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 180 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 180 g
475calories
Egg sandwich on English muffin, with sausage
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 475 calories for 1 regular at 180 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 264 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 23.2 g protein, 2.2 g fiber, and 902 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is muffins, english, plain, enriched, with ca prop (includes sourdough), representing 33.7% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 5 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 475–713 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707316: “Egg sandwich on English muffin, with sausage.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707316, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 135 g | 356 kcal | 17.4 g | 1.6 g | 676 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 180 g | 475 kcal | 23.2 g | 2.2 g | 902 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 270 g | 713 kcal | 34.8 g | 3.2 g | 1,353 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 46 exact records in the Egg/breakfast sandwiches USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707316’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half264 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter12.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half501 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 46 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707316’s 180 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium320 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron4 mg
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat11.2 g
≈ 56% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium902 mg
≈ 39% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Egg sandwich on English muffin, with sausage,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707341 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 180 g and 270 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 475 kcal to 713 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 6.8 g less carbohydrate than “Sausage English muffin sandwich.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 5 input rows; Muffins, English, plain, enriched, with ca prop (includes sourdough) supplies 33.7% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “with sausage” fits. Inspect FDC 2707341 when the exact wording “Sausage English muffin sandwich” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with sausage”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordEgg sandwich on English muffin, with sausage | 180 g475 kcal | 264 kcal | 12.9 g | 16.5 g | 1.2 g | 501 mg |
| Egg sandwich on English muffin | 135 g311 kcal | 230 kcal | 11.7 g | 11.2 g | 1.5 g | 444 mg |
| Sausage English muffin sandwich | 125 g375 kcal | 300 kcal | 13.5 g | 17.2 g | 1.7 g | 615 mg |
| Egg sandwich on English muffin, with bacon | 150 g383 kcal | 255 kcal | 14.1 g | 13.7 g | 1.4 g | 574 mg |
| Egg sandwich on English muffin, with ham | 145 g322 kcal | 222 kcal | 12.2 g | 10.7 g | 1.4 g | 495 mg |
| Egg sandwich on bagel, with sausage | 230 g630 kcal | 274 kcal | 12.8 g | 13.1 g | 0.8 g | 483 mg |
| Egg sandwich on biscuit, with sausage | 165 g512 kcal | 310 kcal | 11 g | 21.4 g | 1 g | 665 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707316: its source amount is 180 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707316, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
475 kcal
180 g
713 kcal
270 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707316, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
270 mg≈ 90% Daily ValueSaturated fat
11.2 g≈ 56% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707316’s 180 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707316 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 23.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707316 at 180 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 180 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 475 kcal 264 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 23.2 g 12.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 28.8 g 16 g | 10% 6% |
| Total fat | 29.7 g 16.5 g | 38% 21% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.2 g 1.2 g | 8% 4% |
| Sugars | 3.2 g 1.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 901.8 mg 501 mg | 39% 22% |
| Saturated fat | 11.2 g 6.2 g | 56% 31% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 10.7 g 6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 5 g 2.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 270 mg 150 mg | 90% 50% |
| Potassium | 297 mg 165 mg | 6% 4% |
| Calcium | 320.4 mg 178 mg | 25% 14% |
| Iron | 3.9 mg 2.1 mg | 21% 12% |
| Magnesium | 32.4 mg 18 mg | 8% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 1.1 mg 0.6 mg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 2.7 µg 1.5 µg | 14% 8% |
| Vitamin A | 176.4 µg 98 µg | 20% 11% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 94.3 g 52.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707316, approximate percentages divide the displayed 180 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707316 to 5 source inputs totaling 178 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Egg sandwich on English muffin, with sausage” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Muffins, English, plain, enriched, with ca prop (includes sourdough), Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fat, Pork sausage, link/patty, cooked, pan-fried. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
178 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Muffins, English, plain, enriched, with ca prop (includes sourdough)USDA ingredient 18258 · encyclopedia page available | 60 GM | 60 g | 33.7% |
| 2 | Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fatUSDA ingredient 31105005 · encyclopedia page available | 55 GM | 55 g | 30.9% |
| 3 | Pork sausage, link/patty, cooked, pan-friedUSDA ingredient 7064 · encyclopedia page available | 35 GM | 35 g | 19.7% |
| 4 | Pork, fresh, separable fat, cookedUSDA ingredient 10007 · encyclopedia page available | 7 GM | 7 g | 3.9% |
| 5 | Cheese as ingredient in sandwichesUSDA ingredient 99991400 · encyclopedia page available | 21 GM | 21 g | 11.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707316, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Egg/breakfast sandwiches” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 264 kcal | 300 kcal | −36 kcal |
| Protein | 12.9 g | 13.5 g | −0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16 g | 22.8 g | −6.8 g |
| Total fat | 16.5 g | 17.2 g | −0.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 1.7 g | −0.5 g |
| Sodium | 501 mg | 615 mg | −114 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 36 less calories, 6.8 g less carbohydrate, and 0.5 g less dietary fiber than “Sausage English muffin sandwich.”
Only this record lists Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fat. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Muffins, English, plain, enriched, with ca prop (includes sourdough); Pork sausage, link/patty, cooked, pan-fried; Pork, fresh, separable fat, cooked; Cheese as ingredient in sandwiches.
Listed only in this record: Egg, whole, fried, NS as to fat.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (180 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 125 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (125 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707316 with FDC 2707341 at equal mass; use their 180 g and 125 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707316 versus FDC 2707341 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full egg/breakfast sandwiches source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Egg sandwich on English muffin, with sausage” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707316 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.
For “Egg sandwich on English muffin, with sausage,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707316 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 264 kcal per 100 g becomes 475 kcal at 180 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707316
FNDDS food code: 34001310
The scaling for FDC 2707316 can be exact while the match to “Egg sandwich on English muffin, with sausage” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 180 g weight, 5-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.