Energy
middle half374 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 370 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 340–388 kcal
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 550 calories for 1 medium/regular (147 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 medium/regular · 147 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium/regular · 147 g
550calories
Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, cinnamon sugar coated
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 550 calories for 1 medium/regular at 147 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 374 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 9.1 g protein, 3.1 g fiber, and 365 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pretzels, soft, unsalted, representing 75.1% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium/regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 52–655 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708273: “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, cinnamon sugar coated.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708273, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 bite size/nugget” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 bite size/nuggetUSDA-listed household measure | 14 g | 52 kcal | 0.9 g | 0.3 g | 35 mg |
| 1 medium/regularUSDA-listed household measure | 147 g | 550 kcal | 9.1 g | 3.1 g | 365 mg |
| 1 largeUSDA-listed household measure | 175 g | 655 kcal | 10.9 g | 3.7 g | 434 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 37 exact records in the Pretzels/snack mix USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708273’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half374 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter248 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 37 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708273’s 147 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron5 mg
≈ 25% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber3.1 g
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat4.2 g
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium365 mg
≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, cinnamon sugar coated,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708280 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 14 g and 175 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 52 kcal to 655 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Pretzels, soft, from frozen, cinnamon sugar coated.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 4 input rows; Pretzels, soft, unsalted supplies 75.1% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “soft; ready-to-eat; cinnamon sugar coated” fits. Inspect FDC 2708280 when “soft; from frozen; cinnamon sugar coated” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “soft”, “ready-to-eat”, and “cinnamon sugar coated”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, cinnamon sugar coated | 147 g550 kcal | 374 kcal | 6.2 g | 6.1 g | 2.1 g | 248 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, from frozen, cinnamon sugar coated | 71 g266 kcal | 374 kcal | 6.2 g | 6.1 g | 2.1 g | 248 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, coated or flavored | 125 g456 kcal | 365 kcal | 7.9 g | 7.8 g | 1.6 g | 896 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, gluten free, cinnamon sugar coated | 95 g322 kcal | 339 kcal | 3.1 g | 8.1 g | 3.8 g | 631 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, unsalted, buttered | 120 g420 kcal | 350 kcal | 8.1 g | 4.1 g | 1.7 g | 250 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, topped with meat | 147 g513 kcal | 349 kcal | 11.5 g | 9.9 g | 1.3 g | 438 mg |
| Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, salted, buttered | 120 g414 kcal | 345 kcal | 8 g | 4 g | 1.7 g | 775 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708273: its source amount is 147 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708273, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
52 kcal
14 g
277 kcal
74 g
550 kcal
147 g
655 kcal
175 g
550 kcal
147 g
94 kcal
25 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708273, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
108.8 g≈ 40% Daily ValueIron
4.5 mg≈ 25% Daily ValueSaturated fat
4.2 g≈ 21% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708273’s 147 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708273 at 147 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 147 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 550 kcal 374 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 9.1 g 6.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 108.8 g 74 g | 40% 27% |
| Total fat | 9 g 6.1 g | 12% 8% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.1 g 2.1 g | 11% 8% |
| Sugars | 29 g 19.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 364.6 mg 248 mg | 16% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 4.2 g 2.9 g | 21% 14% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.8 g 1.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.3 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 14.7 mg 10 mg | 5% 3% |
| Potassium | 107.3 mg 73 mg | 2% 2% |
| Calcium | 47 mg 32 mg | 4% 2% |
| Iron | 4.5 mg 3.1 mg | 25% 17% |
| Magnesium | 25 mg 17 mg | 6% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 47 µg 32 µg | 5% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 16.8 g 11.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708273, approximate percentages divide the displayed 147 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708273 to 4 source inputs totaling 133.2 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, cinnamon sugar coated” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pretzels, soft, unsalted, Sugar, cinnamon, Butter oil, anhydrous. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
133.2 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pretzels, soft, unsaltedUSDA ingredient 25024 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 75.1% |
| 2 | Sugar, cinnamonUSDA ingredient 91104100 | 28 GM | 28 g | 21% |
| 3 | Butter oil, anhydrousUSDA ingredient 1003 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 3.8% |
| 4 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.2 GM | 0.2 g | 0.2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708273, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pretzels/snack mix” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 374 kcal | 374 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 6.2 g | 6.2 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 74 g | 74 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 6.1 g | 6.1 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 2.1 g | 2.1 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 248 mg | 248 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.
Shared listed inputs: Pretzels, soft, unsalted; Sugar, cinnamon; Butter oil, anhydrous; Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 147 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium/regular (147 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 71 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium/regular (71 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708273 with FDC 2708280 at equal mass; use their 147 g and 71 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708273 versus FDC 2708280 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pretzels/snack mix source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, cinnamon sugar coated” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708273 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, cinnamon sugar coated,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708273 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 374 kcal per 100 g becomes 550 kcal at 147 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium/regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708273
FNDDS food code: 54408420
The scaling for FDC 2708273 can be exact while the match to “Pretzels, soft, ready-to-eat, cinnamon sugar coated” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 147 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.